We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

923 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts
See the most recent reviews
Showing 917: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 July 2015

Have just spent 3 nights at Cypress Lakes with friends in a 2 bedroom villa. We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Checkin was quick and friendly. Although our villa was showing its age in some respects, it was very comfortable and very clean. The kitchen was adequate to cook a simple meal, the beds were very comfortable and the showers...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maureen L
Phil S, Manager at Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review

Dear Maureen L It’s certainly the perfect weather to cosy up by the fireplace with a glass of wine! We are currently refurbishing our villas to make the experience more enjoyable. They are available on request and we hope you take the opportunity to return and see the improvements!

Toukley, Australia
Reviewed 1 July 2015

No we didn't win LOTTO... yet! A friendly group of 'friends', with a lot in common have chalked up their 34th year of Hunter Valley Winery visits, the last 10 at Cypress Lakes! We have always been able to wrangle a greatly reduced price, with a little bit of research, going mid week and then ringing the resort direct. This...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HumpbackBrewing
Phil S, Manager at Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review

Dear HumpbackBrewing We’re always glad to hear from our returning guests! I am sure the resort has changed and grown over the past decade with new improvements being made. It is certainly on the colder side around this time of year and only the brave dare to swim. Although luckily the cold weather never hinders the scenery. I will pass...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 29 June 2015

We needed a big place for a group holiday and booked two adjacent villas - a 3 bedroom and a 2bedroom. Rooms were very clean and beds were comfortable. Great view of the golf course. There was nice furniture and spacious living area. Great for group bookings! Also, the location is really convenient - central to wineries and restaurants -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 137travelbug
Phil S, Manager at Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review

Dear 137travelbug I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at the property. I believe you booked one of the private villas for your stay. We hope you return in the future and book one of our Resort villas next time.

Reviewed 29 June 2015

My partner and I booked this resort, as a romantic and classy weekend get away (and were willing to pay a bit more to have a luxury villa). When we checked it in was all systems go and we headed up to our villa. When we got there we noticed there was no kitchen as we had requested and paid...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Emma190392
Phil S, Manager at Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review

Dear Emma190392 I do apologise about the room mix ups and that you feel the receptionist was unapologetic however she did relocate your luggage with the new room keys and did everything in her power to rectify the matter. Wear and tear is sometimes inevitable in hotels with such high usage, I hope you took advantage of our maintenance service...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 27 June 2015

The resort is pretty nice, the rooms are a good size but it all feels a bit tired. The furniture is all practical hotel furniture. It doesn't feel lux . The bathroom is a great size but oh so nineties. And the hifi-free for 5 minutes and then $5 per 30 minutes. Really is this 2015? Would have expected good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kangaone
Phil S, Manager at Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review

Dear Kangaone Our villas are currently under refurbishment to refresh the look and furniture. These villas are available on request and will certainly fit the “lux” feel. The wifi is run by an external company which unfortunately incurs costs past the 30 minutes complimentary wifi per day. We hope you return to experience the newly refurbished rooms!

Shelly Beach, Australia
Reviewed 25 June 2015

As part of a group of 6, we recently stayed for 2 nights at Cypress Lakes Resort. The booking was easily done and quick. We booked a 3 bedroom unit (mid week). The welcome was pleasant and efficient. However when we went to our unit it was blocked by scaffolding and construction vehicles. Meaning that we had to carry luggage,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank holidays2407
Phil S, Manager at Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review

Dear holidays2407 I am glad that your enjoyed your stay, the views most certainly are spectacular from the villa you stayed in. Food and Beverage pride themselves on their buffet breakfast and are always appreciative of positive feedback. Unfortunately the villa two doors up from where you stayed is under repairs from storm damage and the scaffolding is necessary. I...

Reviewed 23 June 2015 via mobile

Facilities a bit tired but comfortable, in a great location. 2 instances of good customer service in the bar and chef remembered next day, wife needs gluten free bread. Sadly coffee machine in breakfast restaurant out of action 3 mornings in a row. Dirty plates piling up. Payroll pressure all to evident. New menu in Bodegas looked nice on paper,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
Phil S, Manager at Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review

Dear Peter B I’m glad the breakfast chef had the forethought to remember your wife’s dietary requirements for the next day. Sadly we have no records of the coffee machine being out of order any mornings however if you were experiencing difficulty one of our friendly breakfast staff would have been more than happy to assist.

Tamworth, Australia
Reviewed 19 June 2015

A family fun trip to the Hunter vineyards was heightened by a stay at the Cypress Lakes Resort. A great villa overlooking the golf greens with a visit from Hot air balloons aloft over the valley below. Very comfortable two storey address nicely appointed with great kitchen and balcony barbecue area. Close to Hunter Valley Gardens and all the fine...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M00nTraveller
Phil S, Manager at Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review

Dear M00nTraveller, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are thrilled that you had an enjoyable stay with your family. A number of villas do offer beautiful golf course views and this can be requested upon booking. We do hope you will stay with us again soon.

Cairns, Australia
Reviewed 16 June 2015

As a traveller I would just like to commend Cypress on their Hospitality, travlled with a bunch of girlfriends I haven't seen in awhile a few months back and found the resort to be quiet wonderful. Rooms were spacious and cosy, we had no problem with reception or staff all seemed so pleasant. Would like to say a special thanks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pamela W
Phil S, Manager at Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review

Dear Pamela W, Thank you for your review. It is great to see that you were able to spend time with at the resort with your girlfriends. I am absolutely delighted to see your feed back on the resort staff, especially on Diana and Cody. I will ensure to notify our Food & Beverage manager of your comments. The Executive...

Reviewed 14 June 2015 via mobile

I would have given this place five stars if not for the fact that the Villas were not sufficiently self contained. The kitchen was lacking in some essentials such as a toaster. Other than that, the grounds were stunning, the restaurant at the reception was pretty good, the facilities were top notch. The staff very friendly and helpful. Very close...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SuzySanaa
Phil S, Manager at Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review

Dear SuzySanaa We do apologise that the villa did not have a toaster, as it is a part of the usual inventory of all villa types of the property. We are glad to see that you did enjoy your stay. Thank you for the feed back on the staff, I will ensure to pass on your comments. We hope to...

294 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (264)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (63)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (101)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
3.0 km away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
1.2 km away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
4.9 km away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 km away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
776 reviews
1.7 km away
The Convent Hunter Valley Resort
5.7 km away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Golf course
  • Tennis Court
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in the Hunter Valley's picturesque hinterland surroundings, Cypress Lakes Resort by Oaks Hotels & Resorts promises a tranquil and indulgent escape, ideal for a leisurely holiday with family and friends, golfing break, memorable wedding, or unique conferencing experience. Coupling luxury, self-contained villa accommodation in one, two and three bedroom configurations with thoughtful in-room appointments and elegant furnishings, each apartment features a modern kitchen, dryer, spacious living and dining areas and private balcony overlooking the resort's verdant bushland and 18-hole championship golf course. The resort also features a selection of superior onsite leisure facilities set against an exquisite backdrop - ensuring guests can enjoy more active pursuits or simply relax in serene surroundings. Enjoy a game of tennis or golf, dine at the onsite Bodega restaurant and bar, unwind in the swimming pool and spa, work out in the fully-equipped gymnasium or Bike Hire is also available for purchase. Cypress Lakes Resort is also just a stones throw from the indulgent Golden Door Day Spa, where guests can choose from an extensive menu of pampering treatments. For all types of occasions and both short and longer stays, Cypress Lakes Resort by Oaks Hotels & Resorts is the Hunter Valleys premier resort destination. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts

Address: 15 Thompsons Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia (Formerly Cypress Lakes Resort)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Price Range: €104 - €327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress Lakes Hotel Pokolbin
Cypress Lakes Pokolbin
Cypress Lake Resort
Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Pokolbin
#7 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#11 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Some of the rooms are a bit of a walk, all uphill. I would suggest that if you have a family, ask for a room close to the amenities.”
 of 5 bubbles swannie00450, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“we welcomed the ground floor unit set in the bush but with easy access to the car”
 of 5 bubbles 402lynetted, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room that offers some kind of view towards the golf course or the lake.”
 of 5 bubbles maurorisch, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Wi Fi is only free for 1st 30 minutes”
 of 5 bubbles D700, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The room we had was quiet and clean. We had a two bedroom villa and it was excellent more than enough room for two”
 of 5 bubbles GandM_11, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay