We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Gateway Inn

Visit hotel website
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Guests at The Gateway Inn, Newcastle want for nothing during their stay. Boasting a comprehensive range of services and facilities adjacent to our fully serviced leagues club, Wests Mayfield makes The Gateway Inn the ultimate accommodation venue whether in Newcastle on business, leisure of an overnight stay and park (3 storey car park) for Newcastle Airport flights.
Read more
Property amenities
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room Service
Free Parking
Restaurant
Meeting Rooms
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Airport Transportation
Public Wifi
Self-Serve Laundry
Conference Facilities
Non-Smoking Hotel
Show more
Room features
Suites
Non-Smoking Rooms
Air Conditioning
Accessible rooms
Refrigerator in room
Minibar
Family Rooms
Microwave
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Charming
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Special Deal:Free breakfast with your stay
Location
Full view
Reviews & more
213Reviews
64Photos
2Q+A
50Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 73
  • 97
  • 22
  • 11
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
Was have stayed at the Gateway once before. It's a convenient overnight stop on our drive from Brisbane to Sydney. This time we booked a more expensive room which was very spacious, well equipped and comfortable plus we had our own balcony. Balcony view was back towards Newcastle
Read more
My partner and I stayed in one of their ‘luxury’ spa suites and were very disappointed. First of all to be greeted by the exceptionally rude receptionist, only to get to our suite and find a tiny bathtub with jets which was smaller than our own bathtub at home in place of the ‘lu
Read more
Response from TheWestsGroup, Manager on Duty at The Gateway Inn
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Georgia D, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Gateway Inn. It is disappointing to read you review and I am sorry that our service and rooms have not met with expectations. We have changed the information about our spa's to now state "One Person Spa", thank you for the feedback. I am unsure where some of the information you had came from however please be aware we have checked our website. We do not advertise on our website the room that you were in as as having a 'Luxury Pillow top king bed ", however our Sealy beds are of the highest quality. The room that you stayed also does not have 2 x singles beds pushed together. All of our rooms with Spa's have one King Bed Mattress which lays on top of 2 single bed bases. Once again I apologise that your stay did not meet with expectations and I do hope you were able to speak with our Team Leader during your stay regarding you concerns. Kind regards Jill Rye
Read more
As always, the rooms are just so comfortable for a family of 4. Plenty of room, tidy, quite modern and great value for money. Being a member is certainly worth the discounts. Adjoins a great club which is undergoing renos at the moment but is not an inconvenience. Free continenta
Read more
Response from TheWestsGroup, Manager On Duty at The Gateway Inn
Responded 21 Oct 2018
Hi Mellanie M, Thank you for the lovely comments and the top score. It is great to see that you enjoyed your weekend stay with us & you had a chance to explore our Leagues Club next door. We are very excited for the opening of our brand new Bar and Restaurant in the adjacent Leagues Club which will be opening very soon. We hope you have a chance to experience this brand new dining option on your next visit to The Gateway Inn. Thank you once again and we hope to see you again soon, Will Whitehead Manager On Duty
Read more
Very comfortable as usual and after a refurbishment completed has additional rooms. I have stayed here quite a few times previously and always found the rooms comfortable, the bathrooms well presented and roomy. The beds are fairly comfortable and the restaurants at the Leagues C
Read more
Response from TheWestsGroup, Manager On Duty at The Gateway Inn
Responded 19 Oct 2018
Hi MikeMoy, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and for your repeat custom. We are very much looking forward to the opening of our brand new restaurant and bar which will be situated next door in the Leagues Club & will be due to open within the next couple of months. It is lovely to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Gateway Inn again on your next trip to Newcastle. Many thanks, Will Whitehead
Read more
The experience was very pleasurable. Staff were professional and very helpful at all times. The room was very well appointed and the location was perfect for my business needs. I would stay again and recommend to other work colleagues.
Read more
Response from TheWestsGroup, Manager On Duty at The Gateway Inn
Responded 13 Sep 2018
Dear Chris S, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Gateway Inn. It is a pleasure to read your comments and that you had a comfortable stay with us. Your kind words are greatly appreciated and I will be sure to share your comments with the entire team. Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Will Whitehead
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
A big clean bathroom.
Tea/coffee making.
The room is spacious and clean.
A big comfortable bed in a clean room.
timber door chock as provided by the hotel for the interconnecting door to the next room
Previous
1234568
Is there a pool
There is a pool in the gym located in the West club which is attached to the hotel. You can view these details on the hotel website.
0 votes
Do any of the rooms have a outdoor hot tub?
Not that I know of.
0 votes
"Great location for business (I normally travel for business) travel. Can become noisy at week-ends but this visit was very quiet."
"A room with a bay window seat, very charming to sit and have a read in the sun."
"Rooms at the back of the hotel would be quieter than rooms facing the road."
"All rooms are lovely"
"No good rooms, we were high up and with no view but scrub."
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$111 - US$184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesGreater NewcastleNewcastle
NUMBER OF ROOMS
93
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing