We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Tallarook Motor Inn

Show Prices
#10 of 30 Hotels in Dubbo
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Tallarook Motor Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

237 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Tallarook Motor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 236: English reviews
Greater Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 5 January 2016

Clean and great for the couple of nights we stayed. Close to food outlets. Friendly helpful staff. Good bbq facilities anc self catering. It has a big park opposite for kids to play on the equipment or kick a footy around.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jmunro2016
Richard T, Owner at Tallarook Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi jmunro2016, Thanks for spreading the word about the Tallarook. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again. The park is a rippa. Kind regards, Richard and the Tallarook team.

Narrabeen, Australia
Reviewed 1 January 2016

close to city and restaurants, nice and clean, value for money. will stay again. full kitchen. in nice and peaceful location. pleasant manager. no trouble whatsoever. room cleaning service in every second day.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank natasha s
Richard T, Owner at Tallarook Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Natasha S, Thanks for sharing your views on the Tallarook. I might put you on as our chief reviewer. You mentioned exactly what I preach, our location to shops etc and the park and river, cleanliness (most important) and value. I am proud that we can tick all three boxes. We are still the only Dubbo Hotel to win...

Albury, Australia
Reviewed 28 December 2015

Its not the little country town of Tallarook Its very nice family sized motel rooms Well equipped kitchen Nice beds Lovely looking gardens Very friendly helpful staff Only issue would be the small bathroom otherwise a very nice spot to stay when traveling thr6or staying in Dubbo

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
Richard T, Owner at Tallarook Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Michelle B, Very funny. That saying "things are crook in Tallarook" comes from the time of the great depression and Melbournians were heading north to get work on the railway at a place called Tallarook. They arrived to no work and hence the saying. But I am really happy you have now told the world that things ARN'T crook...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 5 November 2015

Travelled there a couple years ago (Dec 2013), and were treated with pleasant service, Richard was very nice and accommodating to the constant changes in our booking :) Between the hotel pool and the park across the road, the kids (and we) were very happy!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jay1992HC
Richard T, Owner at Tallarook Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Jay1992HC, Its lovely to hear from you. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Tallarook. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards from Richard and the Tallarook team

Reviewed 2 October 2015 via mobile

Friendly greeting on arrival. Overall an ok stay however: - the decor needs a massive update. Looks like the rooms are stuck in the 1980s! (But decor is not important too everyone) - the sliding bathroom door was broken - kept falling off the rails & getting stuck. - bathroom is tiny. Not enough room to even get changed in....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BunnyRabbits1907
Richard T, Owner at Tallarook Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Leanne, Thanks for your feed back. All I can say is that we are constantly working hard to improve our property. Like most motels, they get a caning from time to time. If I told you that the sliding doors and shower screens were being replaced this week, you probably wouldn't believe me, but they are. I had hoped...

West Wyalong, Australia
Reviewed 1 October 2015 via mobile

This is my second stay at the Tallarook. This is a very comfortable motel. The rooms are huge, clean and every room has a full stocked kitchen in it. I stayed for 3 nights and was able to prepare my night time meals which saved me a lot of money. The motel is located in a quiet street with parking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M0i1975
Richard T, Owner at Tallarook Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi M0i1975, We love hearing from our return guests. It requires a bit of effort to do a review and it is really appreciated. I agree with your comments. I think we offer great value, and are one of the only motels to offer the type of family accommodation that we do. And on the service, I am very fortunate...

Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 24 September 2015

Fantastic service, we were greeted with a friendly and happy gentleman. The beds were comfy. Rooms were clean. Tallarook Motor Inn was easy to get to and there was a park across the road for the kids.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sarahricho78
Richard T, Owner at Tallarook Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hey there sarahricho78, Thanks for your kind words. I hope the move to the gold coast went well. We look forward to seeing you again. Wow, a happy gentleman! You made my day. Kind regards, Richard and the Tallarook team.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 8 August 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights in middle of winter. When we arrived the heating had been turned on & the room was very warm. Neat clean older style motel with big rooms, fully equipped kitchen and small bathroom which could do with some updating as our shower leaked. Can be a bit noisy as you can adjacent rooms taps turning...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jennymanwaring
Richard T, Owner at Tallarook Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Jenny, Thanks for sharing your views on the Tallarook. As you can probably tell from my other responses, we are constantly working away at improvements. If I could change one thing about the Tallarook, It would to be making the bathrooms a little bigger, but saying that, other guests describe them as spacious and adequate. I think they are...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 29 July 2015

We stayed with the team at Tallarook for the recent Go Kart state titles in Dubbo and the nature of the units being very self contained worked well for us. The use of this motel by many companies putting up their employees whilst on work assignments in the area shows that they meet the needs of the employees whilst being...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stephen W
Richard T, Owner at Tallarook Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Stephen W, Thanks for sharing your thoughts on the Tallarook and most importantly, Dubbo. Its a great place to visit and the Tallarook is a great place to stay not only for its comfy spacious rooms and apartments, but for its great location. We continue to improve our rooms and strive to offer the best and friendliest service in...

New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 18 July 2015

This is the second time I've stayed at the Tallarook and it won't be the last. This is the sort of motel where you open the door and breathe out, relax, it's spacious, clean and there are cooking facilitiies! Wow, it's like being home. I only stayed overnight both times, so didn't use the kitchen, but how wonderful, I could...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sue V
Richard T, Owner at Tallarook Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Sue V, Thanks for your great review. I hope you are keeping well. And we look forward to showing you our new improvements at the Tallarook when you next visit. Kind regards from Richard and the Tallarook team.

47 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubbo hotels
0.1 km away
Ibis Budget Dubbo
Ibis Budget Dubbo
#12 of 30 in Dubbo
427 reviews
1.4 km away
Green Gables Motel
Green Gables Motel
#8 of 30 in Dubbo
136 reviews
0.7 km away
Quest Dubbo
Quest Dubbo
#5 of 30 in Dubbo
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Cattleman's Country Motor Inn
1.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Bluegum Motel
1.0 km away
Matilda Motor Inn
Matilda Motor Inn
#2 of 30 in Dubbo
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Tallarook is one of Dubbo's Premier Motor Inns. We cater for families, single travellers and business people alike. All of our spacious units are self contained with quality air conditioning and inclusions. Complimentary wi fi and Foxtel are also included.We have 10 ground floor units and all but one of our 13 upstairs units have a balcony.Our location is arguably the best in Dubbo. We are the only Inn on the Macquarie River, and a short stroll to a great range of conveniences like restaurants, fast food outlets, super markets and fuel stations. Across the quiet Stonehaven Avenue is the Biddybungie Reserve which features a great kids playground and plenty of picnic spots over looking the beautiful Macquarie River.So when your next in Dubbo, call in and say hi at the Tallarook, your home away from home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tallarook Motor Inn

Address: 17 Stonehaven Ave, Dubbo, New South Wales 2830, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Dubbo
Price Range: €86 - €115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tallarook Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Tallarook Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tallarook Hotel Dubbo
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Dubbo
#3 Family Hotel in Dubbo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dubbo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Tallarook Motor Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for upstairs with park view.”
  • 2 Singles 1 Queen
 of 5 bubbles MalW995, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If sensitive to noise, rooms facing park are better”
 of 5 bubbles culturalsafaris, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“get the 2nd floor rooms”
 of 5 bubbles ana12341980, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“A front room would be further away from the main road.”
 of 5 bubbles ard28, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Maybe try upstairs so you don't have noisy people above you.”
 of 5 bubbles BansemerGetaways, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5