We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

722 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
See the most recent reviews
Showing 671: English reviews
Godalming, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2017

As always in New Zealand, the rooms were spacious and the bed very comfortable. All spotlessly clean. It would have been nice to have a lake view, but it was easy to walk over the road and along the lakeside or to wander into the town and look at the shops. The breakfast and dinner were excellent and the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kfrancis
bstander, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review

Dear Kfrancis Thanks for taking the time to review us. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and meals with us and we look forward to seeing you back again in the future. Regards Brent Stander

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

We've been in NZ for a few days now and the hotels have been fairly undistinguished. We're not looking for swish and five stars, as we don't have that sort of budget, so Distinction Te Anau has been welcome. A large room, with two double beds and a clean, bright bathroom, which only needs a hard shower door rather than...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jill5302016
bstander, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review

Dear Jill Thanks for your review and I sincerely hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Fiordland and had a safe trip home. Regards Brent Stander

Brussels
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

Great location, nice rooms and most importantly: Very friendly and helpful staff. As I had some car problems I received some great help by a gentleman working at reception as well as from Nakul. My special thanks to both of them!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FamilyFrey
bstander, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review

Dear Frey Family Thanks for your review and kind words of encouragement. I am delighted to hear our staff were friendly and welcoming and Nakul was a stand out. We sincerely hope to see you back again soon. Regards Brent Stander

Middleton, Wisconsin
Reviewed 3 February 2017

Lakeview rooms have a huge panorama of lovely trees, lake,and gorgeous mountains. A lovely lawn between you and the lake so you have space and not right on the street. Easy walking distance to City Centre. Would definitely stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lindabarcz
bstander, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review

Dear Linda Thanks for your kind words of encouragement and I am delighted to hear Manish made a lasting impression, he is a true asset to our organisation. We hope to see you back again soon. Regards Brent Stander

Reviewed 2 February 2017 via mobile

This hotel is very clean and comfortable and i will definitely go back if i am in te anau again. we got the lakeview room so we had a pretty view of the lake and the mountain. The bathroom was very clean and had all amenities. We even asked for extra cutlery and the staff were more than happy to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank monicabling
bstander, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review

Dear Monica Thanks for your glowing review and I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and our warm, welcoming, friendly team. I am humbled by your kind words of encouragement and we sincerely hope to see you back again soon. Regards Brent Stander

Osaka, Japan
Reviewed 1 February 2017

The food is not bad, but I think you should invest more in a professional who decorates the dishes. The decor was a bit old. The opinion is from my experience as a chef. I think a green maraschino is from 15 years ago, as hotel with high prices should put more attention on that. But overall the service is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank meileehana
bstander, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review

Dear Meileehana Thanks for you feedback and we will be sure to review our offerings to suit all tastes and needs. I sincerely hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in NZ. Regards Brent Stander

West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 January 2017 via mobile

We stopped off for BBQ lunch before heading off to Milford Sound hiking couple of days and returned after doing park of Hollyford Track. We were allocated a villa which was immediately turned into a Chinese laundry as all our clothes were soaked through. Unfortunately, the villa was not really suited to this use! There was a guest washer but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yorkshire1245
bstander, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review

Dear Yorkshire Thanks for your review and I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your meals with us and our fabulous location. We sincerely hope to see you back again in the future. Regards Brent Stander

West Midlands
Reviewed 30 January 2017

Hotel nine in our twelve hotel tour of NZ. Check in brilliant and what a comfortable bar with great views. Pre booked meal we were looked after by Michaela and Gina. Brilliant service and top class food too. Breakfast was lovely and after doing our trips we had a couple of hours by the lovely outdoor pool. Rooms are pretty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pete084
bstander, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review

Dear Pete Thanks for your review and I am delighted to hear Michela and Gina made a lasting impression during your stay, you enjoyed the service and meals, especially the lamb shank. We sincerely hope to see you back again in the future. Regards brent Stander

england
Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

The staff at this hotel are some of the friendliest I have ever encountered. The hotel is in a lovely position on the lake front. It is a little tired and dated but the staff do compensate for that. We ate one evening in the restaurant it wasn't a great experience, despite an absolutely charming waitress we were not told...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bobbymoore06
bstander, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review

Dear Bobby Thanks for taking the time to place a review with your feedback. I am delighted to hear you found our staff welcoming and friendly and please accept my sincere apologies regarding issues with meals in the restaurant and we will ensure we follow up and aim for more consistency. We hope to see you back again Regards Brent...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 27 January 2017

We stayed here as part of a tour group. We had breakfast and supper included and the meals were ok. The breakfast buffet was very generous. The staff are very helpful. The whole place has a rundown feel but is clean. Rooms are large.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Murray B
bstander, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review

Dear murray Thanks for your comments and time taken to place a review. I am delighted to hear our you found our staff very helpful and sincerely hope you enjoy the rest of your time in New Zealand Regards Brent Stander

227 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (209)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (46)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (56)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.3 km away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.9 km away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.1 km away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 24 in Te Anau
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 24 in Te Anau
478 reviews
0.3 km away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.1 km away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 24 in Te Anau
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on the Te Anau Lake Front, a short stroll from the Te Anau Town Centre, Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas is perfectly situated for you to make the most of this beautiful area. Surrounded by extensive, colourful gardens and overlooking spectacular Lake Te Anau and the Fiordland ranges, this Hotel and Villa accommodation sets the tone for your stay in one of the world’s most breathtaking regions. Designed for your comfort, we offer 115 luxurious rooms, including Hotel rooms with Garden and breathtaking Lake Views, and a range of spacious One and Two Bedroom Garden View Villas. On-site is the renowned MacKinnon Room Restaurant offering the very best of South Island cuisine, and the Explorer Bar and Lakefront Terrace where you can relax and enjoy the uninterrupted views of Lake Te Anau. The hotel offers the largest hotel based conference centre in the area, and its very own lakefront wedding chapel, plus extensive recreational facilities, including a spa, sauna, heated outdoor swimming pool and massage services. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas

Address: 64 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9681, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Price Range: €104 - €209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Te Anau Hotel
Distinction Hotel Te Anau
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Te Anau
#6 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#13 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get room facing the lake”
 of 5 bubbles Happy415, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“High floor with lake view. There are many other rooms that are less good.”
 of 5 bubbles P2100YKstevem, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Go for the villa if you can afford it. These are newer, more spacious suites.”
 of 5 bubbles Slavio, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Try and get a lake view room”
 of 5 bubbles Kfrancis, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Not bad but could be better”
 of 5 bubbles meileehana, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5