We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

707 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
See the most recent reviews
Showing 657: English reviews
Osaka, Japan
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The food is not bad, but I think you should invest more in a professional who decorates the dishes. The decor was a bit old. The opinion is from my experience as a chef. I think a green maraschino is from 15 years ago, as hotel with high prices should put more attention on that. But overall the service is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank meileehana
bstander, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review

Dear Meileehana Thanks for you feedback and we will be sure to review our offerings to suit all tastes and needs. I sincerely hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in NZ. Regards Brent Stander

West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped off for BBQ lunch before heading off to Milford Sound hiking couple of days and returned after doing park of Hollyford Track. We were allocated a villa which was immediately turned into a Chinese laundry as all our clothes were soaked through. Unfortunately, the villa was not really suited to this use! There was a guest washer but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yorkshire1245
bstander, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review

Dear Yorkshire Thanks for your review and I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your meals with us and our fabulous location. We sincerely hope to see you back again in the future. Regards Brent Stander

West Midlands
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel nine in our twelve hotel tour of NZ. Check in brilliant and what a comfortable bar with great views. Pre booked meal we were looked after by Michaela and Gina. Brilliant service and top class food too. Breakfast was lovely and after doing our trips we had a couple of hours by the lovely outdoor pool. Rooms are pretty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pete084
bstander, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review

Dear Pete Thanks for your review and I am delighted to hear Michela and Gina made a lasting impression during your stay, you enjoyed the service and meals, especially the lamb shank. We sincerely hope to see you back again in the future. Regards brent Stander

england
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The staff at this hotel are some of the friendliest I have ever encountered. The hotel is in a lovely position on the lake front. It is a little tired and dated but the staff do compensate for that. We ate one evening in the restaurant it wasn't a great experience, despite an absolutely charming waitress we were not told...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bobbymoore06
bstander, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review

Dear Bobby Thanks for taking the time to place a review with your feedback. I am delighted to hear you found our staff welcoming and friendly and please accept my sincere apologies regarding issues with meals in the restaurant and we will ensure we follow up and aim for more consistency. We hope to see you back again Regards Brent...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here as part of a tour group. We had breakfast and supper included and the meals were ok. The breakfast buffet was very generous. The staff are very helpful. The whole place has a rundown feel but is clean. Rooms are large.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Murray B
bstander, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review

Dear murray Thanks for your comments and time taken to place a review. I am delighted to hear our you found our staff very helpful and sincerely hope you enjoy the rest of your time in New Zealand Regards Brent Stander

Tamworth, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here as a stop over before heading to Milord Sound the next day, as we wanted an early start. Lovely accommodation, with spacious rooms and ample parking. Free wifi was fast and reliable. The room was nice and warm, with lots of wooden finishings. It was a little dark at times even with the lights on but you quickly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _p_orourke01
bstander, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review

Dear P Orourke Thanks for your review and I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we sincerely hope to see you back again in the not too distant future, Regards Brent Stander

Conifer, Colorado
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Manish and Georgia not forgetting Dee made our trip memorable They were so helpful and polite Manish on the other hand went above and beyond making calls booking trips and giving us restaurants recommendations all with a smile Could tell he enjoyed his job I would come back or suggest distinction hotel to all my friends Thank you for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank buluted
bstander, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review

Dear Beaulah and Ted Thanks for your review and kind words of encouragement. I am humbled to hear our staff made a lasting impression and Manish went out of his way to help, they are all truly special staff. We sincerely hope to see you back again soon. Regards Brent Stander

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent one night at Distinction Te Anau in a Villa prior to embarking on the Milford Track. The Villa was amazing with a fireplace and huge tub and a very nice sitting area. The staff were terrific about allowing us to leave our vehicle and store our baggage while on the hike as we were staying at Distinction Te...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2012brendar
bstander, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review

Dear Brendar Thanks for your glowing review and kind words of encouragement. We are blessed with a wonderful team and I am delighted to hear they made an impression during your stay. We sincerely hope to see you back again in the not too distant future. Regards Brent Stander

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The restaurant excellent service is incredibly attentive and makes you feel special. Rachelle & Yasmin personally comes out to meet you and adds to the experience of making you feel looked after. Tables adequately spaced and a calm but friendly atmosphere. Service was beautifully choreographed by the staff...and I do mean that it is an art to move so efficiently...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dennis L
bstander, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review

Dear Dennis Thanks for your kind words of encouragement and I am delighted to hear our team made a lasting impression during your stay. We sincerely hope to see you back again in the future and thanks for taking the time to post a review. Regards Brent Stander

Oulton Broad, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here two occasions, on arriving the lady on reception was really obliging in going out of her way to be of assistance. We asked if we could store our luggage as we were going on an over night cruise at Doubtful Sound, This was no problem for them, in fact the lady suggested that we leave our passports...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RogerLowestoft
bstander, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review

Dear Roger Thanks for your review and words of encouragement for our staff. Please accept my sincere apologies the busy breakfast environment effected your dining experience on the 2nd day. I sincerely hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in Fiordland and had a safe trip home. Regards Brent Stander

226 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (208)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (45)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.3 km away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.9 km away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.1 km away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#2 of 24 in Te Anau
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 24 in Te Anau
471 reviews
0.3 km away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.1 km away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 24 in Te Anau
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on the Te Anau Lake Front, a short stroll from the Te Anau Town Centre, Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas is perfectly situated for you to make the most of this beautiful area. Surrounded by extensive, colourful gardens and overlooking spectacular Lake Te Anau and the Fiordland ranges, this Hotel and Villa accommodation sets the tone for your stay in one of the world’s most breathtaking regions. Designed for your comfort, we offer 115 luxurious rooms, including Hotel rooms with Garden and breathtaking Lake Views, and a range of spacious One and Two Bedroom Garden View Villas. On-site is the renowned MacKinnon Room Restaurant offering the very best of South Island cuisine, and the Explorer Bar and Lakefront Terrace where you can relax and enjoy the uninterrupted views of Lake Te Anau. The hotel offers the largest hotel based conference centre in the area, and its very own lakefront wedding chapel, plus extensive recreational facilities, including a spa, sauna, heated outdoor swimming pool and massage services. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas

Address: 64 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9681, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Price Range: €125 - €219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Te Anau Hotel
Distinction Hotel Te Anau
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Te Anau
#6 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#13 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try and get a lake view room”
 of 5 bubbles Kfrancis, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Not bad but could be better”
 of 5 bubbles meileehana, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Upper floors looking out towards the hills”
 of 5 bubbles Murray_1066, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The Villas are amazing!”
 of 5 bubbles 2012brendar, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Lakeside Room looking over the lake”
  • Lakeside Room
  • View from Lakeside Room over the Lake
  • Lakeside Room
 of 5 bubbles RogerLowestoft, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5