We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Te Anau Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Te Anau Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

328 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 275: English reviews
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is a lovely place to stay in Te Anau. It was an old convent that was moved to Te Anau. It has character and each room is different. The room rate includes breakfast and an afternoon tea/happy hour in the library. The staff is helpful and kind. There are stairs and no elevator but the staff is most helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shm7359
Bowral, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is our second visit to the lodge and I have to say we enjoyed ourselves even more this time. Karl and Lynnley were delightful hosts. The Convent has been lovingly restored and much of the originalality can be seen in every room. The Vestry room is spacious and comfortable with wonderful views over the grounds. While not all rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jinny57
karllamb52, Manager at Te Anau Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Jinny57, Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful and well written review. You do a great job of describing the character and feel of the Lodge. We love having guests return for another stay and are pleased that you enjoyed it just as much the second time. Kind regards Karl Lamb

Northants
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The history of the lodge is interesting. It is well-told in a photograph album in the lounge. We stayed in the Belfry, a pleasant room with a stunning view. The hospitality was warm. The lounge was smart, spacious and delightful to sit in. Guests were quite chatty as the atmosphere was homely. People were genuinely affected by the calm, quiet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SaveTigerNorthants
karllamb52, Manager at Te Anau Lodge, responded to this review

Hi SaveTigerNorthans, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review, we really appreciate it. We especially liked the lovely description of the calm, quiet and friendly ambiance which is something that we work at having in the Lodge. Kind regards Karl Lamb

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Perfect stay. We were being upgraded from Mother Superior room to VESTRY ROOM with great view in the morning because we are only the guest for that day. Having the whole lodge for ourselve was a great experience. Mr Karl homemade carrot cake was great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bibie2152
karllamb52, Manager at Te Anau Lodge, responded to this review

Hi bibie2152 So lovely to hear from you now that your holiday is over. It was nice to have you stay with us when the Lodge was quite quiet and we can spend extra time looking after guests and most often are able to give them a free upgrade as there rooms available to do so. Kind regards Karl Lamb

Santa Barbara, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Overall wonderful experience. Although a long walk from town, it was well worth the visit. Beautiful room with nice view of the grounds. Excellent customer service from ALL staff. Karl went above and beyond for us! He personally transported us to the town to grab a quick lunch on our way to the DOC center prior to our departure on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kjacks73
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at The Lodge for three nights. We were greeted by Karl who directed us to a lovely cafe to relax until,our room was ready as we were a little early. By the time we had had iced coffees, walked around a little and returned to The Lodge our suitcase has been taken to our room and all was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sara L
karllamb52, Manager at Te Anau Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Sara, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review, we are pleased that you had such an enjoyable time with us. I hope that you purse and keys did not get to held up in the Christmas post on there way back to you? Kind regards Karl Lamb

Adrogué
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A bit of a disappointment . The room rather small, the bed samewhat narrow, no air conditioning, far from downtown, no view. You are given a key to the front door, because frequently there is no one on attendance. Good breakfast, if not overly ample. Reading what I wrote, it makes it seem worse than it is !.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank boguslaw_krauss
karllamb52, Manager at Te Anau Lodge, responded to this review

Hi boguslaw_krauss, We are sorry that your stay with us was not as enjoyable as we would have liked it to be for you. As we have said before our rooms are smaller than a hotel because of the historic nature of the building, that said the beds are all hotel size be it a queen bed or super king...

wirral
Reviewed 15 December 2016

Te Anau lodge is an old convent which was moved and reassembled from it's original location. Carl made us feel very welcome and all though we had one of the least expensive rooms which was quite small it was adequate. There are no tea making facilities in the room but there are, along with cakes, biscuits and complimentary wine in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank servalan49
karllamb52, Manager at Te Anau Lodge, responded to this review

Hi servalan49 Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, I do hope the trip went well into Milford Sound despite the weather. The historic nature of the building does make the rooms smaller than a hotel room but it is more than made up for in the Library and the dinning room which you describe so...

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 11 December 2016

Our stay at Te Anau lodge was excellent. Karl in particular was an amazing host, and most graciously assisted us when we broke the lock of the bikes we were borrowing from the lodge and got stuck in town (oops!). Additionally, the decor of the lodge truly embraced the history of the building as a former convent, which made for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lauxk1
karllamb52, Manager at Te Anau Lodge, responded to this review

Hi lauxk1 We always like when guests leave some story of their stay with us, it was not trouble to come and help unlock the bikes when the lock broke. Many guests have enjoyed the fact that the Lodge has kept much of the decor and character of the convent when it was converted to being a B&B, it does...

Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 November 2016

I'm only sorry that we did not have another night here. What a great place, very comfortable bedroom - we had the " Chapter Room" which was next to the guest lounge. Not the biggest bedroom, but had everything we needed and a very comfy bed too. It's a lovely place, quirky as it was a convent in a past...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank moxxy-girl
karllamb52, Manager at Te Anau Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Moxxy-girl, Thank you for taking the time to let us know how you found your stay with us. Our team at the Lodge enjoy hearing our guests talking and sharing stories over a drink in the library, which really is a great place for people to relax and talk. I'm pleased that you liked the muffins that we bake...

154 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (125)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
2.2 km away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
1.4 km away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#4 of 24 in Te Anau
455 reviews
1.2 km away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#2 of 24 in Te Anau
337 reviews
1.5 km away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.4 km away
Bella Rosa Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience the genuine warmth of traditional hospitality in the relaxed and tranquil environment of our 1936 relocated former convent, in one of New Zealand's most scenic locations- stunning Fiordland.We proudly promote our 9 rooms as being a mix of historic charm, combined with modern convenience, luxury and comfort. Based on 7 acres, yet only 15 minutes walking time to Te Anau town centre you`ll enjoy our secluded location, and appreciate all activities in town with ease. Take time to enjoy the little additions we`ve provided to make your stay memorable. Enjoy a game of giant garden chess, listen to the water fountain in our pond while reading a book on our 2 person swing seat, soak up the sunshine in our private gazebo, curl up next to the fireplace in the Lounge Library, and enjoy a glass of wine on the balcony overlooking the estate.Above all else you`ll find the level of interaction with your host, and the friendly staff, one of the most memorable aspects of staying in a Lodge this size.A unique accommodation experience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Te Anau Lodge

Address: 52 Howden Street, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Price Range: €155 - €220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Te Anau Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Te Anau Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Te Anau Hotel Te Anau
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Te Anau Lodge staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Te Anau Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Vestry”
 of 5 bubbles Jinny57, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Not value for dollar”
 of 5 bubbles 831deniecec, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Each room is unique and very special! We stayed in The Vestry because we needed the extra space. Every room is absolutely gorgeous!!”
  • Mother Superior's Room
 of 5 bubbles beverlys664, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“If you cannot manage climbing stairs, ask for a room on the first floor.”
 of 5 bubbles treemom, 7 May 2016 | Read review
“Room near library ideal”
 of 5 bubbles 2fartogo, 16 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay