We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bella Vista Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bella Vista Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

478 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 449: English reviews
Start your review of Bella Vista Motel
 Click to rate
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We were heading out for a day tour of Milford Sound and wanted a hotel which was close to town and easy pick up point for tour bus. This was a nice, clean hotel. It had a nice, small kitchen, was easy to walk the ten minutes to town to go for dinner at restaurants. No real view, but that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank easypeasy2013
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here 2 nights to enjoy our trip to Doubtful Sound. The manager was very friendly and helped us with our Real Journeys booking without a problem. The rooms were very clean and we had a comfy king bed and a kitchenette which also featured a small stove top so great if you wanted to prep meals "at home". Only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathy V
Port Macquarie, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

On arrival the manager was very helpful, explaining all aspects of the local area and he marked shopping and restaurants on a map. The manager advised us about tours of Milford Sound and we booked a cruise through him. We could walk to shops and the lake. There was ample parking in the car park. Our room was a compact...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Craig J
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

We were here for 3 nights and used our time to explore Milford Sound and hike the area. It's located almost in town, clean and quiet, with comfortable rooms. It has a great little BBQ area you can cook on and a full size grocery store close by. The owners were quick to help us out with anything we needed....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ron H
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The room is tiny, the bed was only a standard double and you would be hard pressed to cook a meal in the small kitchen space. Having said that, there was more or less everything you need for a one or two night stopover. Everything was clean and tidy, the shower was large ish and plenty of hot water at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael O
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Motel was not anything fancy but, then again, it was very budget friendly and available at a very short time notice. The most importantly, it was clean and had comfortable mattress. Another plus: it is very close to the lake and the downtown area. We walked to and back from our dinner. Property manager was very friendly, motel has plenty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karla T
Ray_Z764, Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your lovely review - we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again! :-)

Coolum Beach, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for one night prior to Milford Sound tour. It was very clean and a comfortable stay. Ray was kind enough to allow us to leave our car parked there even though we had checked, very thoughtful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tenby50
Ray_Z764, Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review

Hi Steven, thanks for your comments. We’re disappointed you did not enjoy your stay with Bella Vista Te Anau. We are confident that our overwhelming positive reviews support our aim to provide comfort, convenience and a good night’s sleep to our guests. We have not had any significant negative comments about the Free WiFi previously but we will now look...

Sacramento
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Bella Vista is a basic place but perfect for the stay to do the Doubtful Sound tour. The room was plenty big and well appointed. The shower head was a bit annoying but that's a minor issue. It was very easy to check in and out and served perfectly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NorcalGSP
Milwaukee
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

We were greeted warmly as we approached by the franchise owner Ray. Ray welcomed us warmly handing us keys to a rooms. We were pleasantly surprised by the Comfort and amenities in each of the rooms . After putting our stuff away we started to walk to town for dinner. Ray grabbed us in the parking lot and said wait...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ed S
Ray_Z764, Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your lovely review - we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again! :-)

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

"Free Internet"? What a joke! It only works early in the morning before people get up. In the evening....forget about it. And the heating system in our room, simply did not work. We tried to call the office to get assistance, but they were closed after 9:00PM. The room itself was just ok, but no where near worth the $145...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steven T
Ray_Z764, Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review

Hi Steven, thanks for your comments. We’re disappointed you did not enjoy your stay with Bella Vista Te Anau. We are confident that our overwhelming positive reviews support our aim to provide comfort, convenience and a good night’s sleep to our guests. We have not had any significant negative comments about the Free WiFi previously but we will now look...

92 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (29)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.9 km away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.2 km away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 24 in Te Anau
351 reviews
0.2 km away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.1 km away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.2 km away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 24 in Te Anau
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated at a quiet location, adjacent to a park and the closest motel to the town centre, just minutes stroll from the lakefront. Bella Vista Te Anau Motel accommodation offers 18 superior quality units with kitchenettes and shower ensuites (3 with shower over spa bath).Te Anau is a beautiful picturesque township nestled on the shores of Lake Te Anau, which is the largest lake in the South Island, and the second largest lake in New Zealand. It is a great place to base yourself when exploring Fiordland National Park, Milford Sound and Doubtful Sound. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel

Address: 9 Mokoroa Street, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Price Range: €75 - €159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Bella Vista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Hotel
Bella Vista Te Anau
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Te Anau
#3 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
#5 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#11 Family Hotel in Te Anau
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bella Vista Motel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Bella Vista Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had a room on the end, which had an extra bedroom but we didn't need it.”
 of 5 bubbles NorcalGSP, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms appeared OK! We had an upstairs room!”
 of 5 bubbles Parkdale-Beach, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
“upstairs was nice”
 of 5 bubbles np111, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Upstairs rooms are quieter. A couple of the ground floor rooms are very handy for the guest laundry.”
 of 5 bubbles gf760, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Downstairs, if available; no elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles bradh554, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5