We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Te Anau Holiday Houses

Show Prices
GreenLeadersGold level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Te Anau
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Te Anau Holiday Houses
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

32 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 32: English reviews
Scotland
Reviewed 22 May 2016

We booked a holiday home which was just right for our young family. Clean, well equipped, spacious and a stones throw from town by foot. Our hosts made sure we had everything we needed and were a great example of southern hospitality. Definitely use again when visiting te anau.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EttaP
Ireland
Reviewed 20 March 2016 via mobile

We stayed at beach hut, Gorgeous place to stay, perfect for 2 people, beautifully decorated, amazing detail inside and outside of cabin. Toilets, kitchen all brand new, had an amazing time just wish we could have stayed longer!!! Plenty of kitchen equipment and bed very comfy great place, lovely spot to relax as very quiet and picturesque

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cavemanwal
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Reviewed 13 March 2016

Fantastic stay in the beautiful Te Anau. House was perfect for our needs and v clean. Our booking was made so easy with Stef who gave us loads of tips for our trip down south. They definitely know the area and made our stay so much easier. Thanks for all the help and great stay. Will book again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank louceaston
stefteanau, Manager at Te Anau Holiday Houses, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your response Louise - so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Lakeside House. We look forward to welcoming you back to Te Anau one day soon. Kind Regards Stef

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 9 March 2016 via mobile

We booked two nights at the Te Anau Lakeside Holiday House but we left after the first night for the following reasons: 1. The house was quite a bit older than in the photos online and poorly maintained, so I felt a little deceived. This is made worse by the reminder that the cost of the house is just a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Sarah_Chong88
stefteanau, Manager at Te Anau Holiday Houses, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear of your experience with this house - the taps are about to be replaced - yes it is an older house but this shows in all the photos. $170 for 2 people for the lakefront is quite a fair price - most other places are $200 and up. It is a holiday house not...

Queensland
Reviewed 23 February 2016 via mobile

This house is dreadful - the beds were not made up, and there were no pillow cases. Very tired house with dangerous uneven floors; the toilet was missing top of cistern. Absolutely NOT worth the money, and we were charged more than quoted. Compared to other NZ accommodation, this was unspeakably bad.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnnieJeanQueensland
stefteanau, Manager at Te Anau Holiday Houses, responded to this review

The guests did not request linen so that is why the beds were not made up on arrival - if guests request linen then all beds are made up for the number of people staying along with pillowcases and towels Yes the toilet cistern was missing - this was getting fixed - a note was left for the guests to...

Auckland
Reviewed 16 January 2016

Don't waste your money. We definitely won't be back. There's a big difference between a characterful old bach and a poorly maintained old house and this sits squarely in the latter. Yes it's a nice spot right next to the lake but this nowhere near makes up for the house. The place was dirty throughout, including all the cutlery and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank NZDE
teanauholidayhouses, Manager at Te Anau Holiday Houses, responded to this review

Thanks for your comment - was a bit surprised to read this review - I sincerely apologise to you. This is not how you would normally find a house. We manage 8 houses in the Te Anau area and yes we are managers of these properties and pride ourselves in giving our guests a real 'home away from home' experience...

Tolga, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 10 June 2015

The Sunshine House was a good base for our visit to Milford Sound, the Glow Worm caves etc. A quiet location just a short walk from the centre of Te Anau. Booking with Steff at Te Anau Holiday Houses was easy. Just wish we had paid by bank deposit to avoid the 4% credit card charge fee. Comfortable family home...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David P
teanauholidayhouses, Manager at Te Anau Holiday Houses, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review us - it is much appreciated. Glad you enjoyed your stay and yes bank deposit or cash is a good way to avoid the credit card fee. The credit card fee is clearly stated when you book online. We look forward to welcoming you back to Fiordland in the not to distant future....

Bristol
Reviewed 10 June 2015

Gorgeous location, across the road from the lake. Plenty of space (4 in our party) and pretty well equipped. House was spacious but at the time of our visit a little tired. I understand that it will have been sorted by next season. Would we stay there again? Mostly certainly yes!! Good quiet location and a pleasant short, flat walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John L
teanauholidayhouses, Manager at Te Anau Holiday Houses, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your great review. It really is a fantastic house in a great location. You will be pleased to know we have started updating the house and it is starting to look amazing! We look forward to welcoming you back to Fiordland soon! Kind regards Stef

Crieff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 June 2015

Great place ,full of character, easy to do the main attractions, easy to wander into town ,and very easy to set up. Could not be more helpful thoroughly enjoyed our second visit look forward to a third.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dalep340
teanauholidayhouses, Manager at Te Anau Holiday Houses, responded to this review

Fantastic to hear - it is a great spot. Look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful part of the world again soon! Kind Regards Stef

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 20 May 2015

House was kept neat and tidy. But bed rooms and bath room are very old and gives some uncomfortable smell (very mild though). I was with my family and also my friend's family from Tasmania and stayed here overnight on the way to Milford Sound. Location is good and quite. But its a convenient place for one night's stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PrasadPagadala
teanauholidayhouses, Manager at Te Anau Holiday Houses, responded to this review

Hi Prasad, thanks so much for taking the time to reveiw us - pleased you enjoyed your time at Sunshine House . You will be pleased to know that we have got it smelling nice again - have replaced some furniture and carpet has had a professional clean! Please don't hesitate to contact us if you need accommodation in Te...

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
1.9 km away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
1.1 km away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.8 km away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#4 of 24 in Te Anau
444 reviews
1.1 km away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
1.3 km away
Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We offer a variety of clean and comfortable holiday houses in Te Anau. We have luxurious holiday houses for those wanting to have all the comforts like a motel but larger and for those wanting to experience a real 'kiwi bach' we have a wide variety! All houses offer stunning mountain views and some with lake views. Houses have an array of extras like bicycles, petanque sets, spa pool, pool tables and barbeques. Portacots and highchairs are available on request at no extra charge. Perfect for couples / groups / families - small and large. All houses are clean with fresh linen and provide the ideal base to relax and enjoy the many activities Fiordland has to offer in a 'home away from home' environment. 2 Or 3 night stay minimum / discounts available for longer stays / special deals for school holidays - please enquire. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Te Anau Holiday Houses

Address: 128 Sinclair Road, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9679, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Price Range: €87 - €201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Te Anau Holiday Houses staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sunshine House would be great for families.”
 of 5 bubbles jeanette174, 18 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Its not a hotel its a whole house sooo......”
 of 5 bubbles RuggedBear77, 12 Jul 2014 | Read review
“Just remember to stop at the grocery store & pickup some food to cook...no restaurants nearby!”
 of 5 bubbles brianhB6566ZZ, 2 Jul 2014 | Read review
3 of 3