We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

505 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 452: English reviews
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

the hotel is located in the centre of the town, easy walking to all the tours starting points. the room was spacious, comfortable, as was the large bed and the bathroom adequate. shower needed a careful adjustment now and then. in room tea/coffee biscuits a perfect top up after a days trek. the car park is free and on site...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John G
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

The Distinction Luxmore is one of the largest hotels in Te Anau and may be a bit dated by International standards but has everything you want from a hotel. We had a superior room which had two queen beds and so plenty of room. There is an adjoining restaurant for breakfasts and dinners which is not fine dining but good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
Portland, Maine
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was priced as a 3 star but gave you a 4 star feel. It's located in the middle of the town for shops and restaurants. There are 2 restaurants in hotel that are very good to eat at. The room was clean, the service was great, and the location was perfect.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scott a
KevinDsouza84, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review about your stay with us. I am pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay with us and all staff made an impression. Trust you had a great time in beautiful Fiordland and we look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards, The Team at Distinction Luxmore

Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The superior double room on the second floor overlooking the rear car park proved very comfortable. It was a lovely spacious room with a bay window and two armchairs, two queen beds and it had a lovely clean blue carpet. I found the reception staff here very efficient, pleasant and helpful. The hotel is located only a short walk from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kayhel2011
KevinDsouza84, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review about your stay with us. I am glad you found your room comfortable and all staff efficient and friendly. We are very lucky indeed with our central location and being just 2 minutes away from the lakefront. Trust you had a great time in beautiful Fiordland and we look forward to welcoming you...

Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was clean and well run. The staff was very friendly and most helpful. We had a mix up on our reservation with booking.com and ended up with an extra room. The staff comped us 4 free breakfast buffets, which offset our extra cost.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donald G
KevinDsouza84, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review about your stay with us. I am glad you found your room comfortable and clean and experienced our warm southern hospitality. Trust you had a great time in beautiful Fiordland and we look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards, The Team at Distinction Luxmore

New York, New York, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here one night after a full day trip to Milford Sound. It is right in the center of town, which is very convenient, especially for those not driving like us. It was also very close to the Real Journeys office on Lake Te Anau, from which the boat excursion to the glow worm caves depart (well worth that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sanjay S
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here after my Milford Track trek whilst waiting to join the Routeburn Track trek the next day. The staff are friendly and helpful. Room was comfortable The hotel is close to the pickup point for Ultimate Hikes travellers

 Report
Helpful?
Thank billeclass
KevinDsouza84, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review about your stay with us. I am glad you had a comfortable stay and experienced our warm southern hospitality. Trust you had a great trek on the Milford/Routeburn Track - Safe Travels! Kinds Regards, The Team at Distinction Luxmore

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The accommodation is well placed in the middle of the village and offers clean, comfortable 3star type rooms with very dated decor. We arrived a little early and decided to check if the room was ready, not with any real expectations given this period is busy with NZ holiday demands as well as international. The room was not ready but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank deborahbC3444RB
KevinDsouza84, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review about your stay with us. I am glad you found your room comfortable and our central location conducive to your needs. I am disappointed however to read you found our treatment disrespectful and based on the philosophy of "the more you complain, the more you get". I can assure you that this is...

Edmond, Oklahoma
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very basic hotel with free wifi. Great location. Nice staff. Clean. No bells and whistles on this place, but I think that's true with all accommodations in this town. You will barely be in your room. This works fine and we have zero complaints.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ACD100
KevinDsouza84, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review about your stay with us. I am glad to read you found our central location conducive to your needs and experienced our warm southern hospitality. Trust you had a great time in beautiful Fiordland and safe travels. Kind Regards, The Team at Distinction Luxmore

Fresno, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location here was nice and convenient. The hotel was fine but the walls were thin and you could easily hear your neighbors. Because of that it was hard to sleep until really late at night. The service was friendly though.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lzzc
KevinDsouza84, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review about your stay with us. I am glad to read you found our central location conducive to your needs and experienced our warm southern hospitality. Trust you had a great time in beautiful Fiordland and safe travels. Kind Regards, The Team at Distinction Luxmore

79 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (65)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.3 km away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
1.2 km away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.3 km away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#3 of 24 in Te Anau
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#2 of 24 in Te Anau
337 reviews
0.4 km away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.8 km away
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
#19 of 24 in Te Anau
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of the town, Distinction Luxmore Hotel is a popular choice with both visitors and locals alike. Basing yourself in Te Anau enables you to easily explore Milford Sound and the Fiordland World Heritage National Park. Distinction Luxmore has 180 rooms offering Standard, Superior & Deluxe rooms and suites, some with spa bath as well as wheelchair accessible rooms. Free unlimited WiFi, parking and gym. Guest Laundry facilities. Elevators on every floor. Two on site Restaurants and Bars and Conference facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau

Address: 41 Town Centre | PO Box 167, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Price Range: €101 - €161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Luxmore Te Anau
Hotel Distinction Luxmore
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Te Anau
#8 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
7 days ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't wait for room quietly...complain!”
 of 5 bubbles deborahbC3444RB, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Request 1st floor room if climbing stairs is a problem”
  • Shower
  • Room Sitting Area
  • Plenty of Counter Space for Toiletries
  • Beds in Room 227
 of 5 bubbles VW49, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Upper floor rooms have better views”
 of 5 bubbles 984evelyns, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Our room looked over the car park! But it was very quiet. This was actually fine.”
 of 5 bubbles , 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't come here”
 of 5 bubbles nailgun44, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay