We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau

Booking.comUS$82*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

408 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
See the most recent reviews
Showing 362: English reviews
Baldivis, Australia
Reviewed 17 October 2014

The room was neat, tidy and comfortable but the stay was soured somewhat because we felt misled by the advertising on the website we booked with. We paid extra for a superior room that promised 'commanding lake or mountain views'. What we ended up with was a room with a view of the back carpark. No mountains or lake to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sarah B
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. I am very sorry that you were disappointed with your room allocation during your stay at the hotel. I have acknowledged your comments and at present relooking at the room description on the websites. Kind Regards Anita Brown General Manager

Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewed 5 October 2014

We stayed for a couple of days and were a bit disappointed in not getting lake facing rooms even though we had requested several weeks in advance. But we did get rooms without having to wait on arrival at around 10 am. Anyway, the restaurant has an excellent view of the lake. The staff are all very helpful and the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AvirupDutt
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay at the hotel. I am pleased that you found the staff helpful and enjoyed the location. We have limited rooms with a outlook of the lake so sorry that we couldn't accommodate you in one of those rooms but were able to accommodate your early...

Bristol
Reviewed 4 October 2014

The kingsgate is not somewhere to go if you are seeking high-end luxury however, if you are looking for a good room rate with friendly knowledgable staff then this is your place. Our room was clean and perfect for our one This hotel exceeded my expectations. I travelled with my husband and my five year old son and we checked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JulieVincent
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay at the hotel. I am pleased that you found your stay comfortable and clean. I will have pleasure passing on your comments regarding the staff. Kind Regards Anita Brown General Manager

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 29 September 2014

In pure "ya gets what ya pays for" terms, the Kingsgate fits the bill admirably. The clean, well-sized rooms are getting a little tired but are still comfortable and in good shape. There is a bathtub, which is unexpected at this point. At this price point, you would struggle to find better value.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Worldweary17
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Reviwer, Thank you for taking the time to post a review reagrding your stay at the hotel. I am pleased that you found your room clean and comfortable. Kind Regards Anita Brown General Manager

Reviewed 26 September 2014 via mobile

We had two nights here and chose it due to the price (and positive reviews) We were checked in by a friendly and competent lady who gave us a map and pointed out some things to do in Te Anau. The room was old but comfortable overall. It had two small double beds which were comfortable enough. There was no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mick T
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay at the hotel. Pleased that you found your check in to be friendly and had a comfortable stay. Kind regards Anita Brown General Manager

Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Very nice welcome and rooms. The restaurant was good though it was surprising that there was no venison on the menu. Lots of channels on the TV. However what made it a poor stay was the hassle over wifi. Compared to other stays the need to register and get a restricted short term access just took the gloss off it.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bruce M
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. During the winter season the dinner menu has a smaller selection of items available. I am pleased that you had a comfortable stay . Kind regards Anita Brown General Manager

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We drove to the BBH hostel (closed for the winter?!) while looking for the YHA. As we walked around we found the Kingsford which wed seen on booking.com and decided to check it out. We were met by the friendly Donna (who was great our entire stay) who was happy to chat prices and find out about the various relax...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank egrek
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. I am pleased that you found Donna friendly and helpful and will have pleasure in passing on your comments to her. Kind Regards Anita Brown General Manager

Canada
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed here for two nights as part of a tour package. The hotel is across the street from Lake Te Anau and it's about 20 minutes walk to the Town Centre. It is pretty safe to walk at night to the restaurants in town and the streets are well lit up in the evening. Our room is comfortable and clean....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dreamer176
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. I am pleased that you found the rooms clean and comfortable and enjoyed your breakfast and the view from the restaurant. I will pass onto the staff your comments that you found them to be friendly and helpful. Kind Regards...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I stayed here with a friend just for one night. we had a standard unit with one double and one single bed. The room was spacious and clean, overlooking the car park, nice and comfortable beds, and old TV, but we did not go all the way to Te Anau to watch TV so it did not matter to us....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank martinayel1970
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay at the hotel. I am pleased that you found the room spacious and clean and the beds comfortable. I am not sure about your comment regarding old TV's as we installed new flat screen TV's in the hotel in December 2013. Kind Regards Anita Brown...

Florida
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We only stayed here for a night and arrived later in the evening but the rooms were clean, comfortable and quiet. The bed had a heated blanket but only one side worked. The staff was friendly and our room had a tv. It was a nice stop over before we headed back to Queenstown. Free parking but I cant remember...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay L
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel, it was very much appreciated. I am pleased that you found the room clean , comfortable and quiet and also the staff friendly. Kind Regards Anita Brown General Manager

117 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (87)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.5 km away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.8 km away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.5 km away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 23 in Te Anau
484 reviews
0.4 km away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
362 reviews
0.4 km away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Contemporary Hotel Complex located on the shore of Te Anau Lake, within walking distance of shops. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau

Address: 20 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Price Range: €61 - €108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsgate Te Anau
Te Anau Kingsgate Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms at the back are quieter than the front”
317martinw, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Upstairs rooms offer a bit more privacy”
, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“keep away from any rooms that are close to the reception area.”
suebnz, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Am guessing rooms are allocated on arrival. Get one near reception for a chance of accessing wifi!”
DJBSydney, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Warm yourself by the fireplace while waiting for your tour bus to pick you up.”
JDJarbadan, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$82* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$82
Official SiteUS$82
Orbitz.comUS$82
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates