We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Frankton Motor Camp

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Queenstown
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Frankton Motor Camp
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

20 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 20: English reviews
Leeston
Reviewed 24 April 2016 via mobile

We stayed in a standard cabin for 5 nights as we had a wedding in Arrowtown to go to. It was a good place to stay, you get what you pay for. Showers were the best powerful and warm. Rooms were clean,hire or bring your own bedding (if hiring it's barely anything so worth it $5 for entire stay ),we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie W
Reviewed 4 April 2016

On arrival, the receptionist was quite rude and impatient. We stayed in a cabin beside a kitchen which was super handy. You need to bring your own blankets, but pillows and bottom sheets are provided. A bonus was the tv in the room, so you could hook up electronics. Also fridge and tea making facilities. The bathrooms were average but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lady_Peekaboo19
Reviewed 25 March 2016 via mobile

Stayed for two days when we arrived in Queenstown, stayed on the lakefront. Sounds lovely, though in tent isn't a good idea, Got battered and blown about a bit. Second night we had to stay in a cabin as our flight got cancelled. One cabin left, reasonable price, good bed, pretty bog standard. The lady in reception also pre booked...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fr13ndly
West Kilbride, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 March 2016

Found it difficult to get any closer to Queenstown. Happy with the site. W e were parked right down at the back overlooking the water and had a beautiful view. Empty spaces filled up very quickly but everyone was friendly. Only problem was the trail of young people heading through the campsite to a party in a flat overlooking us....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ladybrr
Singapore
Reviewed 2 March 2016 via mobile

The most expensive motor camp we've been to during our stay in NZ for the poorest service. A complete disappointment : dirt everywhere, horrible view on rusty caravans, and super crowded. The management clearly made the choice to extract as much money as they could from each m² with no consideration whatsoever to quality. My sincerest advise: drive elsewhere, it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ka M
Charlevoix, Michigan
Reviewed 6 February 2016 via mobile

When you 1st arrive at the Frakton Motor Camp you might think your in a trailer park. You kind of are I think. Get a spot down by the water for a nice view of the lake. They pack you in pretty well but luckily was quiet by 10pm. The facilities were clean and more than adequate. Easy 10 min...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Upnorthtransplant1
FranktonMotorCamp, Manager at Frankton Motor Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, Yes, our camping ground has got a spread of nightly campers, semi permanent traveler's and permanent residents. This has been the case for a number of years and especially at present due to the accommodation crisis Queenstown is experiencing. We are pleased you didn't find this a problem. Thank you for your positive comments regarding...

Halkett, Canterbury
Reviewed 27 January 2016

We were a family group of 2 couples in Queenstown to attend a wedding. We had a cabin with ensuite and kitchen. Had a picnic table outside the door well positioned for breakfast in the sun and a fantastic view of Lake Whakatipu as the camp is right on the waterfront. Some buildings look a little tired, but generally the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank renicarl
FranktonMotorCamp, Manager at Frankton Motor Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, It's lovely when guests who have enjoyed there stay take the time to comment, although we receive a huge amount of positive feedback in person. We generally find that guests who have been less than impressed with their stay for whatever reason prefer to air it on the tripadvisor instead of bringing it to our...

Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 January 2016

We rocked up to this place late on. They were still open, didn't charge a lot and recommended a great place to eat/drink (Frankton arm tavern) nearby. Had showers in the morning too. We had a campervan, all good. On a lake too!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob G
FranktonMotorCamp, Manager at Frankton Motor Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We always try to maintain a cheaper price for the budget traveler's. We are in total agreement with you, that the food at the Frankton Arm Tavern across the road is of a high standard and literally straight across the road.

Reviewed 15 January 2016 via mobile

Worst camp-ground I've ever been to. Facilities wouldn't have looked out of place in the 1800's, customer service is non-existent, only staff member we saw was a young girl but it wasn't her fault that the place is in such a shabby condition. Barbecues take around a millennium to heat up, and weren't clean when we tended to them. But...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheTakeawayTales
FranktonMotorCamp, Manager at Frankton Motor Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, We are sorry to point out that your totally unnecessary, and over the top insulting, exaggerating and sarcastic review has just served to let yourself down! Any intelligent person who reads this rant, should surely figure out the type of person you are. We could retort to all your comments, using your tactics of extreme...

Reviewed 24 December 2015 via mobile

We stayed there in a powered site with a campervan. We chose this camp because although it costs above average for New Zealand, it's the cheapest one in the Queenstown area. The camp offers a lovely view of the nearby Frankton Arm and the Wakatipu Lake. It's right on the lake walkway and about 10 minutes walking distance to a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yevgeni T
FranktonMotorCamp, Manager at Frankton Motor Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for your review We know ourselves and the traveler's who choose the Frankton Motor Camp as their budget accommodation, are extremely lucky to share the beautiful views of the mountains and lake in a laid back rustic environment. If you are looking for concrete, asphalt, tussocks and neat little buildings all in a row, then you have come...

2 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
5.7 km away
Queenstown Lakeview Holiday Park
5.3 km away
Queenstown TOP 10 Holiday Park
1.0 km away
SPA B&B Therapeutic Massage
SPA B&B Therapeutic Massage
#13 of 46 in Queenstown
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Asure Queenstown Gateway Apartments
5.6 km away
Pinewood Lodge
Pinewood Lodge
#75 of 87 in Queenstown
441 reviews
5.4 km away
Queenstown Holiday Park & Motel Creeksyde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Frankton Motor Camp

Address: 17 Yewlett Crescent | Frankton, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Number of rooms: 3
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Frankton Motor Camp staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Frankton Motor Camp staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a spot down at the lakefront. Very relaxing”
  • View from our lakeside powered site
  • Peaceful outlook
 of 5 bubbles Tootone56, 22 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Check the rooms cleanness before paying, and what is in the rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles CJ1H, 22 Feb 2014 | Read review
2 of 2