We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Black Sheep Backpackers

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Black Sheep Backpackers
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

472 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 422: English reviews
Start your review of The Black Sheep Backpackers
 Click to rate
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I really enjoyed my stay here. I had a small cabin out back that was perfect for a solo traveler. The bed was super comfy and the cabin was nice and warm! I loved how close it was to town to walk and the staff was awesome for helping to make bookings.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sarahjanegoitz
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I cant believe that in a city that cold you have to go out to go to the bathroom, in where the door or windows are open. I couldnt sleep well because you hear all the noises from the room next to you (walls are too thin) and you hear the people walking upstairs. In the room the wifi doesnt...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Santiago C
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed in a twin room, it was clean and cosy and had central heating. It was quite noisy being in a downstairs room but no late night drinking was good so you can sleep. Good location and nice staff

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie_prof
mj20012015, Public Relations Manager at The Black Sheep Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Lizzie, thank you for taking time to give us a review. It is good to know our central heating kept you warm all throughout your stay. We are happy that our staffs did a great job in looking after your needs and keeping the hostel clean. You can never go wrong in our prime location few minutes walk and...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a really nice stay here, everyone was very nice and helpful! Bike rental, hot pool,wifi and unlimited hot showers all for free. I dont know what is wrong with everyone complaining here its one of the cheapest hostels in Queenstown dont expect a castle and its not small anyways theyre like 10 toilets, a big comfy warm living...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dimitri P
mj20012015, Public Relations Manager at The Black Sheep Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Dimitri, thank you for giving us a review. It is nice that you have enjoyed our facilities. It is great you had the time to use all the free stuffs we offer here in the hostel. We like to keep the real log burner going to keep everyone warm. Thanks for the recommendation, we are happy you had a...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Loved my stay at BS, stayed for 2wks, very comfortable and relaxed. Facilities are clean and tidy. Met loads of cool people and Michelle is a wonderful hostess. And the hot showers are amazing! Definitely would stay again ☺

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma S
mj20012015, Public Relations Manager at The Black Sheep Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Emma, thank you for giving us an awesome review. It was a pleasure having you here. Looking forward in seeing you in the hostel again. We are happy you have enjoyed your stay. Safe travels!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I liked the place. The room was clean, staff and people friendly, location close to the centre of Queenstown. Only one problem: you need to exit from the structure to go to the bathroom.. not really nice if is cold outside.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chiachibr
mj20012015, Public Relations Manager at The Black Sheep Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you for the review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our hostel. Our location must have been very convenient for your walks in town. We always make sure cleanliness is achieve and of course friendly staffs always happy to help. Safe travels!

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed at blacksheet for 2 nights and then went back for 1 more night. I will have to come back to Queenstown at some point and I'm definetely staying at black sheep again. All beds have curtains and individial electric plugs. Kitchen is well equipped and showers are very good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pietro P
mj20012015, Public Relations Manager at The Black Sheep Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Pietro, thank you for the review. It is always awesome to receive positive feedback from satisfied guests. We are glad you enjoyed every bit of our offerings. Come back soon and stay with us again. We love to have you once more here at The Black sheep.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Quiet place with nicely saloon to share Close to the city center but enough secluded to have a peace night! Wifi works well, room included Cleaning team is ultra reliable, Quiet expensive but still fare!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Romain M
mj20012015, Public Relations Manager at The Black Sheep Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Roamin, thank you for your feedbakc. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our dorms with own curtains, storage, usb port, power point and light for sure added comfort and privacy on your days spent with us. We have pretty good deals this season just in case you will be back in Queenstown, give us a...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely hostel with really good WIFI! The lady at the reception is really cool and everything is very clean. The lounge is a nice place to hang out in the evenings and the beds in the rooms are comfi and have an own curtain, what's a real advantage.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leon-Luca
mj20012015, Public Relations Manager at The Black Sheep Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Leon. thank you for giving us an awesome review. We are happy to know you have enjoyed your stay. It is good that our friendly staffs assisted you well. It is always our goal to provide comfortable and clean accommodation for all of you. Enjoy the rest of your travels.

Reviewed 17 April 2017

We felt very confortable. Staff are very helpful. Great location, very close to the city center. No car park available but very easy to find a parkink space. Towels and free wifi! Heating, kitchen equipped. Clean toilets. We recommend it!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Teresita María V
mj20012015, Public Relations Manager at The Black Sheep Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you for the review. Thank you for all the nice words you have to describe your experience with us. We appreciate your recommendation and hoping you can come back again. Safe travels!

70 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 km away
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers
0.5 km away
Haka Lodge Queenstown
Haka Lodge Queenstown
#4 of 90 in Queenstown
434 reviews
0.6 km away
Tahuna Pod Hostel
Tahuna Pod Hostel
#2 of 90 in Queenstown
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Absoloot Value Accommodation
Absoloot Value Accommodation
#6 of 90 in Queenstown
353 reviews
1.2 km away
YHA Queenstown Lakefront
YHA Queenstown Lakefront
#17 of 90 in Queenstown
311 reviews
0.6 km away
YHA Queenstown Central
YHA Queenstown Central
#22 of 90 in Queenstown
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Looking for a home away from home? The Black Sheep Queenstown Backpackers, located beside the historic Queenstown Gardens, offers guests a convenient place to stay in the heart of the stunning alpine resort. Our central location is one of the sunniest in town and offers 360° view of the stunning local mountain ranges including the famous Remarkables. Located just a short stroll from town, The Black Sheep has a lot to offer guests including: An awesome team of friendly staff, comfortable rooms and exceptional facilities – did we mention we have a spa pool? If you are looking for affordable accommodation in Queenstown and think staying in a relaxing and homely environment after busy days spent exploring the 'Adventure Capital of the World' sounds ideal, look no further, we've got you covered at The Black Sheep. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Black Sheep Backpackers

Address: 13 Frankton Rd, Queenstown 9197, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Price Range: €19 - €64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Black Sheep Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Sheep Backpackers Hotel Queenstown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Black Sheep Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Van place blaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa”
136dimitrip, 8 May 2017 | Read review
“all the rooms are ok”
chicachaco, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“poor wifi !, poor room quality, poor and dirty kitchen”
famdaut, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Even the 8-bed upstairs dorm is good. No worries here.”
gmcc051, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Easy access to the city. Walking distance with picturesque view.”
mdazmi14, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Priceline
* /night
View Deal
Booking.com
Agoda.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates