We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

700 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 618: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

The room, and location are good. Service was extremely slow at dinner, eventually got the starter, but main course did not come until 1 hour 20 mins after we had been seated. I had a problem in my room... no power to the plugs meaning my alarm did not work and I missed one of the main trips of my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynn A
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments Lynn, I do appreciate your feedback . I will certainly look into the dining experience for large groups and understand your frustration with you missing your trip, however we have had no power cuts recently. I understand our staff did try to help you book other activities & my sincere apologies to you if you...

Mildura, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

rooms were good apart from the fact we had no view of the lake, lifts and layout of the hotel are confusing for some people, breakfast was good with the usual fare, although it is a short walk from the city centre it is a very steep walk and difficult for older or less active people. the staff were polite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review

Thank you Ian for your review, we appreciate the feedback and hope you enjoyed your time in Queenstown.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had yet another beautiful visit to Queenstown and this time stayed at the Copthorne Hotel which was ideally located just 5 minutes walk from the heart of town. Lovely double room with a majestic view of the lake, surrounding mountains and rolling shoreline. Had a delightful dinner at their signature restuarant again with lovely views of the lake and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KerryThied
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review

Thank you for such a lovely Review. We sincerely appreciate it . Yes the views here are truly outstanding and the snow we had last week certainly made it look even more spectacular. Happy you had such a great stay again here in Queenstown .

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel layout, while having an incredible view for some rooms, is extremely confusing to get around. If you have the option, stay somewhere else- you'll get more for your money and can walk to see the view. Pros: view, close walk to town, Dora at the front desk. Cons: very corporate feeling, big group hotel, internet fees, unwelcoming ambience,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zoeengel
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review

Thank you Zoe for your review. Our Hotel has several blocks and we are always trying to improve our guest experience in accessing these rooms so I appreciate your feedback. Thank you for your comments, and regarding Dora I shall personally pass this on to her.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

So. I went to Queenstown last month and I traveled in a tour group called the island tours and the hotel gave me and my mum a lake view room which was quite nice. the only complaint is that there was no internet in the room and you can only use a 30min internet and if u use it all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel K
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Daniel . There are opportunities to have internet in your room and I am sorry for any miscommunication on our behalf to have relayed that information to you . I will follow this up with my staff . My apologies and I hope you enjoyed your tour of New Zealand.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A beautiful room with a great view of the lake and the hills. Staff is helpful and shares good insights on what to do and where to eat. The walk uphill from the City Centre is challenging. Breakfast is great, and sets you up nicely for the day.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ramkumarr S
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review

Thank you for your review . Yes the views are quite stunning. Really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us , I shall pass on your comments to our staff. Thank you .

Kingston, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed 3 nights. Great location, easy walk downtown. Uphill on the way back. Had a room with a stupendous view. Breakfasts were tasty with a good choice. Staff very helpful and friendly. Would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol24202420
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review

Thank You Carol for your review, I will pass your comments to our staff and glad you enjoyed the amazing views . Hope you really enjoyed your stay in Queenstown.

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Checked in the hotel as part of a tour group and was given a room on level 2 in the block B if I recall correctly. Was pleasantly surprised with the view as attached and was eager to go and walk around the lake but the hotel staff said I had to walk out the front entrance and back down...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sky_nite
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review

Thank You for a great and very detailed review, your comments are very much appreciated and I shall certainly pass them on to staff, especially regarding the track . Yes there is a direct route out from the back gardens on to a path & I apologise you were not directed this way . I will also pass on your...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 November 2016

This matches our stay in Bay of Islands, the situation was outstanding the quality of the rooms also great, the food/breakfast was also great. especially in Queenstown with a strong tourist population, well worth a stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bubbles10024370
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review

Thank you for your great feedback ! Happy to hear you enjoyed Queenstown.

Sydney
Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

Started off with a room on ground floor that had an unusual smell, but mentioned it to reception and was given a room on floor 6. They went out of the way to accommodate me. The room was on the small side but modern and clean, with a balcony. View spectacular overlooking mountain range and partial lake views. Walking distance...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrDigby100
robertoakes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback and glad we were able to accommodate your room type, we appreciate the feedback.

292 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (256)
Viewed
View from Room (61)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (76)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.4 km away
Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
0.3 km away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#23 of 57 in Queenstown
2,867 reviews
0.4 km away
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
Millennium Hotel Queenstown
#33 of 57 in Queenstown
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#20 of 57 in Queenstown
806 reviews
2.2 km away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 57 in Queenstown
1,219 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Queenstown Lakefront has a Qualmark Enviro Gold Award for Sustainability. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront

Address: Corner Frankton Rd & Adelaide St, Private Bag, Queenstown DX ZP95021, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Price Range: €124 - €235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion and Odigeo so you can book your Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Queenstown Lakefront
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Copthorne Hotel and Resort Queenstown Lakefront staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“check if you want a room with views”
 of 5 bubbles ianm658, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Spend a little extra and get the Lake view rooms - huge windows where you take in the magnificent view.”
 of 5 bubbles KerryThied, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms with a lake view are excellent.”
 of 5 bubbles , 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms would be quite”
 of 5 bubbles Bubbles10024370, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Find another hotel if you want a good room.”
 of 5 bubbles travelers_jg_dm, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay