We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

603 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 565: English reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here for two nights. Rooms are spacious. Bed comfortable. Has all that you need for a short stay. There is no lift in the building so we had to carry our heavy suitcases upstairs. Guest laundry available. Breakfast in the restaurant was ok. Close proximity to Dunedin city center.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mili L
DunedinLeisureLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks ever so much for your feedback. We are terribly disappointed the offer to carry your suitcases upstairs was not made on check-in. Please accept our apology.

Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had a room that opened onto the beautiful and private gardens. The room and location ( about a 20 min walk into town) were brilliant. It was quiet, clean,modern, secure. We loved it.And Dunedin ROCKS!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jonathan g
DunedinLeisureLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for such a delightful review. We sincerely appreciate your comments and hope to be of service to you again in the near future. Cheers.

Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

We come back to this hotel every time when we are in Dunedin. Rooms are comfortable and clean, well serviced. We have our meals in house, as the food and menu are excellent - all meals, and overall value for money.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank andree937
DunedinLeisureLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to review our hotel. As a returning guest, your feedback is especially important to us as it allows us to measure our guest services and experience from the same point of view. Cheers. We appreciate your comments and hope to be of service to you again in the near future.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Basic mercure hotel in Dunedin. If you're here passing through it's a good location, but a little out of the center. Rooms are quite standard and in good condition/clean. A good option if for 1 night stays. Status recognition from Le Club Accor (Platinum) was very poor.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daanzw
DunedinLeisureLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge, responded to this review

We are disappointed you felt you did not receive appropriate recognition of your Accor membership. Every entitlement under your membership was made available to you, the cardholder, during your stay so we are unclear why you felt recognition was poor. Perhaps you had different expectations. We thank you sincerely for bringing your experience to our attention for review. Cheers.

Bedfordshire
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Really enjoyed staying here on the last leg of the S Island adventure. It was great to be in a hotel for a couple of nights although going to motels has been brilliant. This was comfortable, clean and a good centre for accessing the town. We had one day and did the museum and railway trip, both great, but to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KandPBedfordshire
DunedinLeisureLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your very kind comments. They will serve as encouragement to our team as we continue to make improvements to the guest experience. Cheers.

Manila, Philippines
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We didn't except too much from this hotel and we had no surprise. Breakfast is really expensive and not good at all, Staff is not friendly, internet doesn't work or with a really really slow connection! Doesn't worth it !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EmilieBkk
DunedinLeisureLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge, responded to this review

We are very disappointed for you that you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel and wish to apologise that you found our staff and facilities lacking.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Arrived a little early on a cold windy rainy day. Reception kindly juggled the bookings to book us in, lent us an umbrella and suggested rainy day activities. Place dated but tidy with good size room and nice outlook to their garden. Located close to botanical gardens but to far to walk to city for restaurants etc so had to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stephen n
DunedinLeisureLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to place feedback. We're sorry you were disappointed with your decision to stay. For readers - we are a leisurely 20 to 25 minutes walk from the Octagon (city centre) on flat terrain. Regarding dining, we have our own in-house restaurant or there are some nice suburban restaurants about 5-6 minutes walk from the hotel...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We've enjoyed very tasteful and neatly decorated dishes on January 1st 2017 (dinner): - the fish (blue cod) was just great, marinated perfectly - like in best restaurants in France, - the steaks were big and tasted nicely, - just the green curry fall behind a bit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BURGWIN
DunedinLeisureLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We are delighted you enjoyed a sampling of our restaurant menu offerings and that it was a real culinary experience for you. Cheers.

Wellesbourne Hastings, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had two nights here arriving after 6pm and in the rain. Check in was good and we were given a ground floor room overlooking the central garden area, but it was a little dark and like the rest of the hotel could do with some refurbishment. We were aware the hotel is a good 30 minutes walk away from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter_and_Sheila
DunedinLeisureLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for reviewing our hotel. We are naturally disappointed we were unable to meet all your needs during your stay. It is true we are a leisurely 20 to 25 minute stroll from the Octagon (city centre) on flat terrain. If the walk is unsuitable, there is public transport one block from the hotel that runs every 15 minutes during...

Les Hauts de Ceret, France
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a good night's sleep in a quiet, clean room and a good breakfast. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is located on the outskirts of Dunedin and parking is free. We would definitely stay there again.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martha S
DunedinLeisureLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted we were able to provide you with an enjoyable stay and meet most of your needs. See you again soon.

91 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (52)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
2.7 km away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
1.6 km away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 58 in Dunedin
260 reviews
1.0 km away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 58 in Dunedin
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 km away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#8 of 58 in Dunedin
562 reviews
4.5 km away
BEST WESTERN 555 On Bayview
1.0 km away
Kiwis Nest
Kiwis Nest
#9 of 58 in Dunedin
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Dunedin's Garden Hotel. 76-Rooms in relaxed garden setting. Adjacent to Dunedin Botanic Gardens; short stroll to Otago University, Stadium, Hospital, the city's dynamic shopping centre, and visitor attractions. Easy access from State Highway 1, plenty of complimentary off-street parking. McGavin's Restaurant and Bar, offering contemporary cuisine using fresh local produce. Conference rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge

Address: 30 Duke Street | P.O. Box 8024, Dunedin 9041, New Zealand (Formerly Dunedin Leisure Lodge)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Price Range: €89 - €154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, ACCOR, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Leisure Lodge Dunedin Hotel Dunedin
Mercure Leisure Hotel Dunedin
Accor Leisure Hotel Dunedin
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#21 Business Hotel in Dunedin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms with garden access the best”
 of 5 bubbles jonathangC667VW, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“near the gardens lovely view”
 of 5 bubbles penguin666, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Garden side are quite”
 of 5 bubbles Rkemsley, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Some upstairs rooms have no lift access so specify if you need 'at grade' access.”
 of 5 bubbles BillWvetcyclist, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing the botanical garden have a nicer view.”
  • Botanical garden easy walk from the Mercure Leisure Lodge.
 of 5 bubbles 984evelyns, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay