We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Allan Court Motel

Show Prices
#28 of 58 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Allan Court Motel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

147 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Allan Court Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 142: English reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Staff was extremely helpful with directions and tips for stay. Free wifi, free laundry room. Pullout bed was comfortable and room was immaculate. We had a room on ground floor next to laundry. Thought it might be noisy but laundry room has strict hours and is locked after hours. Darkening curtains are great so cars coming in with lights on...

Thank srussellcoo
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This motel is situated fairly near the university area and within easy walking distance of most of Dunedin’s attractions. We arrived in Dunedin late in the day, in a busy weekend in early March (without a booking) to find that only one room vacancy remained, and, as we wanted a room for a couple of nights, the owner very kindly...

Thank x2_travel_bug
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This motel is perfectly located for those wanting to visit Otago and/or the Dunedin town centre. We were there for both so enjoyed the location. The motel itself is fairly old and a bit tired. Parts have been refurbished but not our unit. However it was serviceable and we had a good night's sleep. The manager was very helpful and...

1Thank Stan061
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed only a night at Dunedin but this motel was enough to give us a comfortable and warm rest for our remaining road trip in NZ. The room was immaculately clean, we were extremely impressed by it, everything was spotless and brand new. Even the portable cot was looked so comfortable. Location wise was good, just a few minutes...

Thank travelunatik
Reviewed 31 March 2014

After a 9 hour ride in bad weather, this motel was a well-deserved rest stop. Warm and friendly welcome too, which lifted spirits after being soaked through on the ride. I got the last room, so ended up with a suite of two king rooms (two singles were also in one of the rooms), living area and large bathroom. Clean,...

Thank Chris B
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Only stayed one night here, quick check in, given milk, map and offered DVD about the area. Room clean and easy to find when arriving by car and walking distance into centre of town was fine. Must visit the railway station!

Thank KathrynT
Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Might sound over the top, but we love this motel! We travel to New Zealand from Canada regularly to visit family and friends, and we always make a stop at the Allan Court. It is a clean, quiet refuge, very close to shops, a 15 minute walk through the university and over to the stadium, and about the same to...

Thank beegee36121
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Reception fella was pretty friendly on check in, but later asking for a ice tray he was a little cold - they expect you to freeze your own ice - pretty hard for a one night stay, my room was nice and big, but could hear street noise. Shower had good water pressure - tv was good, everything nice and...

Thank Cameron4611
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Quite central but outdated bed covers, those thin scatchy sheets and worn out towels that we all love. Cheapest loo paper in the OECD. Lazy boy rocker from the 70's that someone probably died in. Surprisingly quiet. Charged $2 for tiny sachet of laundry powder. Depressingly tight. Charged $302 for two nights. Why not be generous in life? yolo

Thank David T
Allancourt, Owner at Allan Court Motel, responded to this review

Hi David T, thank you for sharing your views on our motel. We must acknowledge that we to have noticed a deterioration in the quality of the linen supplied to us by the laundry company. We have alerted them to our concern and hope this will soon be resolved. The unit you occupied is an access unit and we find...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 21 February 2014

If it wasn't for the uni students doing the Haka at 3am most days in the adjoining carpark, this place wouldn't be too bad. The host/manager, Jeff went out of his way to ensure any problems are resolved. He was very friendly and agreed it was an unfortunate time of the year to be at that end of town due...

Thank Terry C
Allancourt, Owner at Allan Court Motel, responded to this review

Hi 94retiedandhappy, thank you for taking the time to review our motel. We always appreciate feedback from our guests. Yes, unfortunately orientation week in Dunedin North can cause issues with noise with the students celebrating the start of the university year. It is unavoidable and beyond our control. We are pleased you have drawn to our attention that you found...

73 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (11)
View from Room (1)
Room/Suite (4)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Bathroom (1)
Dining (2)
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (62)
View from Room (15)
Dining (3)
Room/Suite (20)
Bathroom (6)
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.2 km away
Aurora on George
Aurora on George
#16 of 58 in Dunedin
56 reviews
1.0 km away
Motel on York
Motel on York
#22 of 58 in Dunedin
160 reviews
0.8 km away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 58 in Dunedin
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Alexis Motor Lodge
Alexis Motor Lodge
#6 of 58 in Dunedin
417 reviews
0.1 km away
Amross Motel
Amross Motel
#3 of 58 in Dunedin
255 reviews
0.3 km away
Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
#25 of 58 in Dunedin
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our units are non-smoking, warm and spacious with cooking facilities, microwave, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, television in the main bedroom and lounge, Sky channels, DVD, Free wifi unlimited. Guest Laundry, free off street parking, continental breakfasts are available. We are close to Forsyth Barr Stadium, Otago museum, main shopping precinct, restaurants, cafes,bars, University of Otago, Botanical Gardens. Tours to the Otago Peninsula, albatross and penguin colonies. Larnach Castle, Cadbury World, Speights Brewery, Taieri Gorge Railway trip, Monarch harbour cruises. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Allan Court Motel

Address: 590 George Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Price Range: €94 - €142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Allan Court Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Allan Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#12 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#13 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
#21 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Allan Court Motel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Allan Court Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I had accessible unit 8. It was very quiet - particularly the bedroom.”
 of 5 bubbles Taysh, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms appear to be equally good.”
 of 5 bubbles CJG2014, 6 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Clean, comfortable sleep, quiet and close to the CBD.”
 of 5 bubbles NedDee, 27 Jan 2016 | Read review
“I stayed in room 6 but I'd say that they would all be good”
 of 5 bubbles dave22362, 28 Dec 2015 | Read review
“We went on the Head First $99 tour of the Castle, Speights and scenic tour of the city. Good value.”
 of 5 bubbles Humptydooproductions, 25 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5