We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Northcote Motor Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Northcote Motor Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

32 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for Northcote Motor Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 32: English reviews
Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 October 2014

Northcote Motor Lodge is a great example of a classic New Zealand motel - for all the right reasons. We were a group of two couples and booked a one night stay here prior to taking an long haul flight from Christchurch International Airport. The lady (manager/owner I think?) that checked us in was friendly and helpful and provided us...

Thank swignz
Reviewed 8 September 2014

attracted by the price but had misgivings about quite due to location of Caltex next door an it being right on the main drag. therefore very surprised to experience a couple of very quiet and peaceful nights. Bed was fine for me though a tad hard for the other half. room was very clean and well presented and cleaning staff...

Thank zeddef
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We were visiting Christchurch for a funeral and were there just one night. The unit was clean and tidy, and we were welcomed by a woman standing-in for the owners. The big disappointment was the bed - definitely past its use by date, and it would have benefited from a mattress topper if management not able to replace the mattress....

1Thank nzcaygills
309northcote, Owner at Northcote Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments after your stay with us. We try to accommodate everyone but tastes are different and most responses were favourable of the beds so didnt realise they could be hard. However, we have purchased some mattress toppers now and have them on some beds. I hope the rest of your...

Reviewed 18 March 2014

My mother and I stayed here in april last year, and were not only impressed with the price of the studio room, but the quality and cleanliness of the room we had. The room smelt fresh, the beds were extremely comfy and the sky tv had a fantastic movie on that night which was good for us. The location is...

Thank 80sgirlChristchurch
Napier, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I cheeked out this motel before I booked and it showed some photos that made it look clean and roomy. I was not disappointed. The room was warm (someone had turned the heater on for me) it was very roomy and the facilities were clean. If I wanted, I could have cooked a meal on the small kitchen. The room...

1Thank JonathanPickup
309northcote, Owner at Northcote Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback. We appreciate all comments and try to improve on any problems. Look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

We booked 2 nights as no vacancy for more but as soon as we arrived the owner promised to sort out for us another two mights and so he did. Don't expect view in such a city location but all the rest is just perfect. Comfi beds, flat screen TV with Sky , great modern shower , clean towels daily...

1Thank Sharon S
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Nice property which was comfortable with large well appointed rooms, fresh linen, heater etc. The kitchenette was ample with enough utensils, microwave, toaster, etc. that we found to be quite useful. It was a satisfying stay with all the required amenities. The location is a bit towards the outside of the city, but Christchurch is a large place. Good value...

Thank abhishek830
Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed a night at this motel and as soon as we arrived the hosts were rude and remained that way until departure. The room was dark, not very clean and was abit over priced for what we recieved. Overall a disappointing experience.

Thank tba2014
309northcote, Owner at Northcote Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the reveiw. We obviously offended you by charging you for the extra person who was not included in your reservation or declared on arrival. As explained at the time, we do need to be aware of all guests staying at the property in case of any emergency procedures we may need to put in place. The charge...

Palmerston North, New Zealand
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Spent a night here and found it comfortable and clean. Main bedroom was open plan which worked well but was a bit cold. Bed very comfortable and shower generously pressurized and nice and hot. Motel owner pleasant and friendly. Teas and coffees plain but acceptable - cups a bit skimpy - could do with nice mugs

Thank ThinkRight
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We arrived at Northcote Motor Lodge late after a long drive up the South Island, it was cold and pouring rain, but the friendly owner quickly got us into our room without hassel. The room had a very cosy feel, but it was spacious enough to fit a Super King sized bed. It also had a separate kitchen and bathroom/toilet,...

1Thank PostmanPatton

16 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (4)
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (12)
Room/Suite (8)
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
5.9 km away
Athena Motel & Apartments
Athena Motel & Apartments
#79 of 145 in Christchurch
34 reviews
5.6 km away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#31 of 145 in Christchurch
210 reviews
1.1 km away
Papanui Court Motel
Papanui Court Motel
#93 of 145 in Christchurch
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Abbella Lodge Motel
Abbella Lodge Motel
#49 of 145 in Christchurch
48 reviews
7.5 km away
Addington Court Motel
Addington Court Motel
#47 of 145 in Christchurch
87 reviews
0.3 km away
AAA Northlands Motel
AAA Northlands Motel
#133 of 145 in Christchurch
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy our comfortable, warm and very quiet units. We have 16 rooms with something to suit all budgets. There is a mix of Standard or Deluxe 1 bedroom units and Studios. We also have a large spacious 2 bedroom unit which can cater for a max of 5-6 guests. Some Deluxe Units are upstairs and one of the Deluxe Studios has a spa bath. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Northcote Motor Lodge

Address: 309 Main North Road | Redwood, Christchurch 8015, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Price Range: €79 - €94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Northcote Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Northcote Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Northcote Motor Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms were good”
 of 5 bubbles davidandjudith37, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room 21 is handicap accessible”
 of 5 bubbles DanG61, 1 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Upstairs if you want a view.”
 of 5 bubbles JonathanPickup, 5 Mar 2014 | Read review
“Rooms bit drafty and being open plan takes a while to heat up - close all the bedroom & bathroom doors as soon as you get into room. Almost resorted to putting a towel down as a draft stop by the kitchen, but heater eventually worked.”
 of 5 bubbles ThinkRight, 29 Jul 2013 | Read review
“Parking is a nightmare”
 of 5 bubbles TomN530, 17 Mar 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay