We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Ashley Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Ashley Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

163 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 150: English reviews
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

4 guests. 3 chairs. 2 towels. 1 bung shower. 0 dishwashing utensils. Stuffy rooms with poor ventilation. The beds are comfortable but not much else. At least the staff were friendly and polite despite my irate provocations. (Maybe they heard all of my complaints before?) We chose the Ashley when it seemed to have the only available room in Christchurch....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YoungerInMyDreams
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It was clean and warm easy to find the stair killed us lol great exercise for us had a great sleep the beds reminded of a granny bed lol great way to see the site very handy and walking distance a big bouns in it self so cheers for that

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fiona M
Busselton, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Ignore all the mean spirited tales of woes, the staff where helpful, the room nicely refurbished and the location suited us fine,walking distance to a large mall,600 metre from a bus stop to the city or airport .ticked all our boxes,

 Report
Helpful?
Thank peter t
Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 December 2016

Ok so ChCh is expensive now but this was poor value for money... and yes it annoys me when I am told to pay a CREDIT charge surcharge even though I was paying with Debit card and it was not optional. Room was OK/average. Bed was comfortable. Bathroom clean. but its quite noisy. Photos on webpage are of other parts...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ant-tripadvguest
Jacob W, Guest Relations Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ant-tripadvguest, We regret that we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us. On all of our reservation confirmations the credit card surcharge is advertised so this should not come as a surprise to any guests unless a travel agent has not passed this on correctly. Thank you for your positive feedback relating to our comfortable beds...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 23 November 2016

We reviewed the website photos and the bed and basin appeared new. What we didn't realise was that both have been craftily photographed from a certain angle so as to appear modern and chic. What we drove up to was a shocker. Outside, the place appears to be from the 80s. Our entrance to the room was via a sliding...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank clark k
Jacob W, Guest Relations Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear clark k, We regret that we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us but please note all of our beds are under 1 year old and we normally receive positive feedback regarding this. We do state on our website the age of the building but complete refurbishment of all bedrooms was completed in 2012. We do...

Otago
Reviewed 22 November 2016

Bedroom is o/k apart from we were on the 2nd level with a large deck outside along the frontage of all the units. We were woken at 7.0am by a gathering of passengers waiting to board their coach which was idling outside our room. This was repeated the next morning. Rooms had been recently refurbished but certainly not by anyone...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rown
Jacob W, Guest Relations Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rown, We regret that you did not enjoy your stay with us and take your comments on board in our strive to provide the best possible service to our guests. We will be speaking with our housekeeping team to go over your comments regarding cleanliness, this is something we usually take pride in and we are disappointed by your...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 November 2016

Warning: this place surcharges on credit cards and staff can be grumpy. Lady on reception ticked me off for booking through an online agency; as if it’s her business. We booked a de lux room which turned out to be upstairs (just one flight and no lift of course; this is a motel) but the room, while adequate, was tight...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnSB3
Jacob W, Guest Relations Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JohnSB3, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We do our best to inform guests of the credit card surcharge (1.5%) prior to arrival as this information on all booking channels and confirmations. As we normally receive positive feedback regarding our staff, we will be speaking to our front of house team to go over your...

cornwall
Reviewed 15 November 2016

We have staying in this hotel for two nights, one of which was during the 7.5 earthquake that has just happened. We did as per the instructions on the wall and then, went along with all the other guests to the muster point, all were very upset and concerned as aftershocks were happening on a regular basis, after waiting for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dumbo55
Jacob W, Guest Relations Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear dumbo55, We do feel that this is unfair us receiving a negative review for an earthquake, please note the earthquake was not strong enough to trigger an evacuation and no damage was reported in Christchurch. We do understand that this can be scary for any guests not experienced to earthquakes but unfortunately as most people would know is a...

Maldon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 November 2016

Having read other reviews before we arrived my expectations were not high for this prebooked accommodation, so I was pleasantly surprised by a good night's sleep and courteous service from both reception and breakfast staff. Reception itself is tucked away and hard to find from the road as the school is more prominent, and the rooms are far too expensive...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 464JudyLea464
Jacob W, Guest Relations Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 464JudyLea464, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback and your positive comments relating to our staff and will be sure to pass these on. We do take your comments on board in our strive to provide the best possible service to our guests. We are currently undergoing completion of our bathroom refurbishments but have had to...

Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

Room was neat and clean. But bathroom sink was dirty, rundown and temperature control of the shower was poor. The door to the room was a sliding glass door, which does not provide any privacy nor security. Also, the hotel notified us at 8.30pm that they were unable to provide breakfast boxes, which we requested upon check in at about...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen N
Jacob W, Guest Relations Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Helen N, We regret that we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us and take your comments on board in our strive to provide the best possible service to our guests. We have had no issues with security at the hotel since opening. We will be speaking with our housekeeping and maintenance team regarding your comments...

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.4 km away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#33 of 145 in Christchurch
214 reviews
0.4 km away
Parkview on Hagley
Parkview on Hagley
#56 of 145 in Christchurch
128 reviews
0.6 km away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Christchurch City Park Motel
Christchurch City Park Motel
#106 of 145 in Christchurch
32 reviews
0.5 km away
Towers on the Park
Towers on the Park
#26 of 136 in Christchurch
130 reviews
0.1 km away
Annabelle Court Motel
Annabelle Court Motel
#84 of 145 in Christchurch
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Ashley Hotel Christchurch is a newly refurbished, 45-room hotel that delivers a charming, relaxed and convenient experience. The Ashley Hotel is located in Riccarton, within walking distance of Hagley Park, shopping malls, dozens of restaurants and cafés, Christchurch Hospital, the train station and plenty of other Christchurch attractions. We offer several different Christchurch hotel room types, perfect whether you are visiting for business, holiday or as part of a group. For your convenience, The Ashley Hotel also has disabled facilities. Whatever your reason for visiting Christchurch, enjoy it in comfort and style at The Ashley Hotel Christchurch. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Ashley Hotel

Address: 106 Mandeville St, Christchurch 8004, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Price Range: €92 - €110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ashley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Ashley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Ashley Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Swansea, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Ashley Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles Rown, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Upstairs rooms aren't large but downstairs rooms are smaller.”
 of 5 bubbles JohnSB3, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask to be on the ground floor if you find stairs a problem with luggage, and avoid the block next to the coach wash.”
 of 5 bubbles 464JudyLea464, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the ground floor will be better in many respects.”
 of 5 bubbles oyitty, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Choose a ground-level room as this place has no lifts.”
 of 5 bubbles 547winnier, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay