We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers: Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
I stayed here for a couple of nights at the end of my 4 month trip round New Zealand, it was a lovely hostel to finish my time in New Zealand. The staff where all really friendly and helpful and the hostel has a nice...More
Thank Georgia B
Response from TheBackpackerGroup, Manager at Around the World BackpackersResponded yesterday
Thank you for your great review Georgia. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the end of your trip. Hope you had a great time in beautiful New Zealand and that we see you back some time. All the best!
I spend there a few days, price is reasonable and the staff is friendly. Could be a bit cleaner in some rooms and the computers had some problems. Kitchen is well equipped bit not big enought for the size of the hostel.More
Thank Friedi F
Response from TheBackpackerGroup, Manager at Around the World BackpackersResponded 4 July 2017
Hi Friedi, Thank you for staying with us and reviewing us here on TripAdvisor. Our staff always goes the extra mile with a smile :) Sorry to hear there were some issues with the computers, hope you informed the staff. Sometimes the computers get turned...More
I stayed at Around the World Backpackers for about 5 weeks and it was just perfect.
Unlike other hostels they change the sheets everytime a person leaves, offer you big fresh towels for having a shower and other stuff like hair dryers.
Fresh herbs are...More
Thank Mario M
Response from TheBackpackerGroup, Manager at Around the World BackpackersResponded 13 June 2017
Thank you for the great review Mario. So good to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us. We get great feedback on free use of towels for all our guests, not just the private rooms. Having traveled ourselves we know how nice a clean...More
The hostel is in the middle of nowhere and it's definitely not an area you want to walk alone at night. As for the hostel itself, it's fairly clean and the staff is friendly but the wifi doesn't work and the walls are paper thin,...More
1 Thank intrepid_traveller27
Response from TheBackpackerGroup, Manager at Around the World BackpackersResponded 30 May 2017
Thank you for your time to write us a review. We are the closest hostel to Christchurch city center so we're a little surprised to read about us being in the 'middle of nowhere'. Also, we are in a brick building and all walls are...More
Like most of small hostels, this place and people are really friendly. The place is clean, bathrooms have a decent size and the kitchen is well equiped but small. There are also some comfy computer room and TV room. But don't expect too put too...More
Thank Philippe L
Response from TheBackpackerGroup, Manager at Around the World BackpackersResponded 10 May 2017
Hi Philippe, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. Pleased to hear you had a nice stay with us. The kitchen can be a bit crowded at times but we are lucky to have mostly sunny days in Christchurch so...More
TripAdvisor gives a Certificate of Excellence to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers.
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
US$26 - US$62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Star rating provided by Expedia.
Number of rooms
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Around the World Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.