We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

KIWI basecamp

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
KIWI basecamp
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

134 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for KIWI basecamp
See the most recent reviews
Showing 121: English reviews
Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 25 August 2016

I stayed in Kiwi Basecamp for 2 weeks and had an amazing time there. The hostel is really clean (and new), centrally located (only a 15 minute walk to the cathedral), it has a really clean kitchen that is equipped with everything you need and actually has lots of space to store your stuff. There is a nice TV Room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnnemarieBerlin
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of nights. Unfortunately our room (#7) shares a wall with the kitchen. It certainly wasn't a pleasurable sleeping experience with people using the kitchen at literally all hours. The room itself is simply a bed with a portable heater. It would have been nice if there was at least a table to put things...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Teague G
KIWIbasecamp, Owner at KIWI basecamp, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, We are sorry you didn’t have the best experience in Room 7. This is generally a very popular room, as it is close to bathrooms and the kitchen. We have added furniture to this room, and apologise if it was a little spartan during your stay. Unfortunately we have new fire doors and closers for fire safety....

Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

This hostel is o.k, it's modern and has a fresh comfortable feel. The room we stayed in was spacious and quiet. However we were disappointed that the advertised free breakfast was the end of a loaf of bread and packet spreads. Milk and cereal and a bit of fruit would have been acceptable but advertising a free breakfast and providing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Holiday1990
KIWIbasecamp, Manager at KIWI basecamp, responded to this review

Dear Guest, many thanks for the review, we appreciate it, and take on board your comments. The breakfast is advertised as fresh bread made daily. We also offer free tea, coffee and hot chocolate all day. It is true that you have to be in early to get more than the end of a loaf as the bread is very...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 July 2016

Nice staff, delicious free bread and awesome people. Everything is clean and new, the beds are really comfy and you have free coffee, tea and hot chocolate.The hagley park is just 5 minutes and the city center about 15 min. You just feel like home here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lis5689
KIWIbasecamp, Manager at KIWI basecamp, responded to this review

Hi There, We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us, and enjoyed all that we had offer, Please look us up next time your in Christchurch, Kind regards, Laura and the Kiwi Basecamp Team

Reviewed 21 June 2016 via mobile

Stayed here instead of the YMCA where the Kiwi Experience bus had recomended. I am so glad i did. For the price this place is great. Free unlimited fast wifi, fresh baked bread and jams for breakfast (gorgeous) very comfy beds with a nice thick pillow 2 kitchens with everything you need . the whole place felt fresh and new...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hollie A
KIWIbasecamp, Manager at KIWI basecamp, responded to this review

Hi, We are super happy you enjoyed your stay with us, there is nothing nicer than freshly baked bread and enjoying it out in our cute little courtyard, the free WiFi that is highs speed and unlimited is been a recent addition to Kiwi Basecamp and we couldn't be more pleased with it. We are looking into getting another dining...

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 June 2016 via mobile

This hostel is so new it's lovely to stay in. The 4 bed dorm room was spacious & beds comfortable. Free homemade bread & Jam for breakfast was very nice. It's quite a walk from the museum where our bus stopped but I think most hostels are outside the centre anyway.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelly A
KIWIbasecamp, Manager at KIWI basecamp, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for staying with us, we are very happy you enjoyed your stay. The fresh free homemade bread is a delicious start to the day. Come see us next time your in town and get your head down on our super comfy beds again. Kind regards, Laura and the Kiwi Basecamp Team...

Wanaka, New Zealand
Reviewed 11 June 2016 via mobile

This is by far the best hostel I ever stayed in.. Great family friendly staff.. Nd top quality beds nd kitchen stuff.!!:-) wi fi is unlimited nd it's great for a long stay as its really like a home from home:-) nd staff really makes it.. :-) it's a good price nd the location is good. It's not a crazy...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank aquafirm
KIWIbasecamp, Manager at KIWI basecamp, responded to this review

Hi There, We are glad you had a great time with us, we enjoyed having you. We love the fact the beds are so comfy and awesome and you can use the free Wifi when your in your room as well. It's great that chilled come see us again soon, Laura and the Kiwi Basecamp team..

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 June 2016 via mobile

Everything is clean here. Beds are comfy and warm, location is ok and the facilities are great. A huge plus is the showers and bathrooms are super good and modern. All together had a lovely experience at kiwi base camp. Also staff are lovely and will help you with anything!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rmuby
KIWIbasecamp, Manager at KIWI basecamp, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for staying with us and we are glad you enjoyed all that we had to offer. Let us know next time your in town and come say hi. Laura and the Kiwi Basecamp Team.

Reviewed 29 May 2016

This place is the cleanest, most modern and just loveliest hostel in New Zealand! The staff is very friendly and always helpful. The WIFI is really fast and works even in the rooms very welll. The two kitchens (one on every level) are always clean and tidy. There are also toilets and showers on each level which are very modern...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Julius B
KIWIbasecamp, Manager at KIWI basecamp, responded to this review

Hi, We are glad you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of all we had to offer, We are looking into maybe changing the room that you stayed in to a 4 bed share, we are loving the fact the the free WiFi works everywhere so you can enjoy it throughout, Come see us next time your in town as...

Reviewed 26 May 2016

I can't say enough positive things about this place. Everything has been redone after the earthquakes. Private showers. Clean kitchen, plenty of spaces to hang out. Staff were super friendly and helpful. Laundry on site. Free breakfast. Owner & Manager were around and very nice as well. I would say try to avoid being in the first room (room 2)...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fae F
KIWIbasecamp, Manager at KIWI basecamp, responded to this review

Hi There, We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, let us know next time your in Christchurch and we will set you up in a different room. Kind regards, Laura, Chris and the Kiwi Basecamp Team.

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.3 km away
Christchurch YMCA
Christchurch YMCA
#17 of 110 in Christchurch
366 reviews
2.1 km away
Kiwi House
Kiwi House
#27 of 110 in Christchurch
64 reviews
0.3 km away
Dorset House Backpackers
Dorset House Backpackers
#9 of 110 in Christchurch
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Haka Lodge
Haka Lodge
#7 of 110 in Christchurch
173 reviews
1.6 km away
Around the World Backpackers
Around the World Backpackers
#15 of 110 in Christchurch
101 reviews
1.2 km away
All Stars Inn on Bealey
All Stars Inn on Bealey
#10 of 110 in Christchurch
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Kiwi Basecamp, we are situated on Bealey Avenue not far from Hagley Park we are an easy 15/20 minute walk from the center of town. Kiwi Basecamp has a variety of room options from Dorms, shares, singles, doubles and Triple rooms, all bedding provided, we are a cosy hostel, we have hot showers, bathrooms, kitchens,sunny deck area and T.V lounge, we have a book exchange a variety of movies and games, The staff are friendly and knowledgeable about the local area as well as New Zealand and are always here to help. We are located next to Victoria Street where you can relax in one of the many cafes and bars, You are a 15 minute walk from Merivale shopping center there you will find a variety of shops banks and a supermarket, we are about 15/20 mins from the center of town and close to bus stops also ... more   less 

Additional Information about KIWI basecamp

Address: 69 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Price Range: €20 - €50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — KIWI basecamp 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your KIWI basecamp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiwi Basecamp Hotel Christchurch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from KIWI basecamp staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Bradford, United Kingdom
4 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from KIWI basecamp staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Clean and good beds”
 of 5 bubbles Hoogie2015, 5 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Get a room on the second floor towards the Street. The back rooms are next to the bathroom, kitchen and loud backyard patio. Stay off the first floor if you can.”
 of 5 bubbles BluewaterGypsy, 29 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Avoid the room with the broken ladders!”
 of 5 bubbles ej_18, 28 Dec 2014 | Read review
“Go somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles TomFT, 17 May 2014 | Read review
“Room 12 can be noisy”
 of 5 bubbles Jonescl34, 1 May 2014 | Read review
5 of 5