We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Avon City Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christchurch
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Avon City Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

22 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 22: English reviews
Takaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Located in Redwood just down from the Styx Bridge and off the main road leading into Christchurch. Simple motel units that are comfortable and clean/tidy with all the basic appointments. The rooms all face the street and windows appear to be double glazed. Once the windows and doors were closed the road noise dropped considerably. A large shower with average... More 

Helpful?
Thank SwinnTaylor
David K, Owner at Avon City Motel, responded to this review

Thank you, Swinn, for taking the time to write such a positive review. Yes, all the windows facing the street are double glazed and once they are closed, it's amazing how quiet it is...minimal traffic noise. Our showers are a good size...we know what you mean by "contortionist behaviours" as we have stayed in motels with very small shower cabinets... More 

Cromwell, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2016

Needed somewhere to stay on this side of town. The gardens were impressive so took a look. I was my own and felt safe so that was important to me. Very nice people own the place. The kitchen is well equipped. I only used the kitchen for my evening drink and toast and cup of tea in the morning but... More 

Helpful?
Thank JKLM2
David K, Owner at Avon City Motel, responded to this review

Thank you JKLM2 for taking the time to write a review on your stay at our motel. We have many guests who like to self-cater so they are impressed with the cooking facilities each unit offers. It can get quite expensive "eating out" especially if you are staying for a few nights. We are pleased that you felt safe here... More 

1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed there last week for a night with our two boys. The rooms were immaculate and very clean. Nice owners who took time to answer our questions and were very helpful. The gardens were very beautiful.

Helpful?
Thank Linda K
David K, Owner at Avon City Motel, responded to this review

Thank you Linda for your lovely comments. Both our cleaners enjoy their work and strive to keep a high standard of cleanliness. The gardener maintains the grounds immaculately and won first place in a recent garden competition. We hope that you will stay again next time you are in Christchurch. Val and David More 

1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2016

I stayed with Avon City motel for 6 weeks and loved the great care I was given.Clean and modern units made for a comfortable long stay. I would recommend Avon City motel for a homely relaxed visit. I got to know the owners and became friends.

Helpful?
Thank Michael W
David K, Owner at Avon City Motel, responded to this review

Thank you, Michael, for taking the time to comment on your stay here. Yes, many friendships have been made during the sixteen years that we have owned the motel. It is a great way of meeting people from all over the world. We hope to see you and Lizzie again in the future :) Val and David More 

Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 weeks while working in Christchurch area situated in Redwood so location was good for accessing main roads. Friendly proprietors, room was comfortable, clean & well serviced, the gardens were amazing. Friendly proprietors. Free wifi was limited per day of stay. A couple of shopping malls located 5 - 10 minutes away.

Helpful?
Thank Diana B
David K, Owner at Avon City Motel, responded to this review

Thank you, Diana, for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. We enjoy accommodating guests for long stays because it gives us a chance to get to know them on a more personal basis. We hope to see you again if your work brings you back to Christchurch...or even on holiday. Val and David More 

Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2015

We stayed at this motel Christmas eve ,it was all you could ask for .Clean, a very warm welcome from the owners and a garden --- well if you love gardens like i do its a must see .Christmas morning we where greeted at the door with a card and a bucket of cookies ,how is that for amazing .We... More 

Helpful?
Thank 11spencer
David K, Owner at Avon City Motel, responded to this review

Thank you, 11spencer, for such lovely comments. Our garden is very beautiful and is a credit to our meticulous gardener. It was a pleasure to give a wee gift on Christmas morning. Hope you enjoyed them. We look forward to your next stay with us. Val and David More 

Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 12 December 2015

Absolutely Fantastic motel, lovely service, very helpful, very tidy and clean rooms, and great prices, food nextdoor makes it easy to get to, il be back and so to our compary A1 Asphalt ltd queenstown crew love this place, the best in christchurch and we have stayed at a few here, Recommend to all. AAA+++

Helpful?
Thank A1AsphaltLtd
David K, Owner at Avon City Motel, responded to this review

Thank you A1 Asphalt Ltd Canterbury for such a great review. We pride ourselves in all the attributes you mentioned. We have very meticulous cleaners who maintain the high standard of cleanliness that guests expect and we all aim to make everyone's stay here as pleasant as possible. Have a great Christmas and we look forward to seeing you again... More 

Pukekohe
1 review
Reviewed 9 December 2015 via mobile

We visited Christchurch recently . staying at avon city motel. A really neat place , which was clean and tidy with excellent service and ideally located, handy to the city and a short drive to Woodford glen speedway

Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
David K, Owner at Avon City Motel, responded to this review

Thank you, Andrew, for taking the time to write a review about your stay here. We are pleased that you enjoyed staying with us and found everything to your satisfaction. We look forward to accommodating you all again in the future. Val and David More 

Blenheim, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 19 October 2015

We booked our accommodation and advised that we would not be arriving til midnight due to coming over from Australia. Unfortunately our flight was delayed and we go to the motel after 2 am and to our delight the motel heating was on, electric blankets were going and a lovely note from Val, the manager greeted us on our arrival.... More 

Helpful?
Thank phynnsmum
David K, Owner at Avon City Motel, responded to this review

Thank you, "Phynnsmum" for your great review. There is nothing better than a nice warm bed and room to come back to, especially if you have been in Australia! We look forward to your next stay with us and guarantee that you will continue to receive the individual service that you are accustomed to. David Keir More 

1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2015

We had a wonderful stay at this motel. Val, one of the owners, was so accommodating by stay up until 1am to hand us the keys, some fresh milk and welcome us. She had put on the heating in our room some hours before and it was lovely and warm and welcoming. She also organised a taxi for us and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maria W
David K, Owner at Avon City Motel, responded to this review

Thank you, Maria, for taking the time to write such a great review. It was a pleasure to have you both stay with us. We think that it adds a "personal touch" to be met on arrival so late at night, instead of having to find your unit in the dark. We know that it is not very often practical... More 

2 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.5 km away
Abbella Lodge Motel
Abbella Lodge Motel
#49 of 144 in Christchurch
48 reviews
0.8 km away
Northcote Motor Lodge
Northcote Motor Lodge
#87 of 144 in Christchurch
32 reviews
1.1 km away
AAA Northlands Motel
AAA Northlands Motel
#132 of 144 in Christchurch
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Papanui Court Motel
Papanui Court Motel
#92 of 144 in Christchurch
46 reviews
2.1 km away
Christchurch TOP 10 Holiday Park
Christchurch TOP 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 103 in Christchurch
506 reviews
1.0 km away
Garden City Motel
Garden City Motel
#38 of 144 in Christchurch
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Avon City Motel

Address: 402 Main North Road, Christchurch 8051, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Price Range: €92 - €101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Avon City Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Very hand if you want to stay close to northwood .”
 of 5 bubbles 11spencer, 29 Dec 2015 | Read review
“All rooms are set up great.”
 of 5 bubbles A1AsphaltLtd, 12 Dec 2015 | Read review
“We had a room with a garden in front. With this and the double gazing road noise was much less noticeable.”
 of 5 bubbles gillian744, 23 May 2015 | Read review
“Make sure the motel owners know what you are looking for, I find is the best way to book travel.”
 of 5 bubbles paulkingnz, 14 Jan 2014 | Read review
“always pull the bed back and look under the lid of the rubbish tin.”
 of 5 bubbles MarianneW630, 30 Apr 2013 | Read review
5 of 5