We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers: Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
I love that this place is very aware of trying to to be eco friendly with lots of signs on how to be eco-wise whilst traveling. The room was tidy, comfy and warm. Free parking off the road was appreciated and the other facilities available...More
Thank James W
Response from DorsetHouseChch, Manager at Dorset House BackpackersResponded 3 weeks ago
Hi James W,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We always try our utmost best to be kind to the environment and reduce energy & waste and save water whenever possible (dual flush system on toilets). It’s nice to hear...More
Our flights to Christchurch were cancelled due to a storm and we could not get there until after our return date. The people who run this place take absolute advantage of your bad luck and they took 100% of all 3 nights accommodation fees. Very...More
Response from DorsetHouseChch, Manager at Dorset House BackpackersResponded 10 August 2017
Thank you for sharing your experience and we are sorry to hear you were shocked. We fully understand it is very upsetting when a flight and therefore a trip is cancelled.
When you called to cancel your booking, we explained our cancellation policy...More
I must say that after a day of travelling, there is nothing like a lack of hot water to put you in a foul mood. However, I think this may be a reflection on Christchurch, not Dorset House. Otherwise: service delightful, cute property and great...More
Review collected in partnership with statravel.com
This business uses tools provided by TripAdvisor (or one of its official Review Collection Partners) to encourage and collect guest reviews, including this one.
Response from DorsetHouseChch, Front Office Manager at Dorset House BackpackersResponded 3 July 2017
Thank you for your feedback following your stay and your kind words regarding our staff and property :-)
Would you mind sending us an email with some more detail about your experience having no hot water? 6 out of 8 of our showers...More
This hostel is very comfortable and no bunk beds! Lovely spacious kitchen with all the utensils that you need as well as free wifi and a large lounge which you can drink in. There is also a tv. It's very relaxing and has a homely...More
Response from DorsetHouseChch, Front Office Manager at Dorset House BackpackersResponded 10 June 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review and giving us 5 stars!
We are so happy to hear you felt comfortable and at home during your stay with us. Thank you for also complementing our kitchen and lounge facilities, both rooms are...More
It doesn't feel like a backpackers - more like a house. What I really like is the hostel has a nice building and architecture.
The bathrooms are like at home - a single private shower and toilet and basin rather than a big communal bathroom....More
Response from DorsetHouseChch, Manager at Dorset House BackpackersResponded 23 May 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a detailed review. We are glad to hear you have enjoyed your stay and felt at home at Dorset House. We are indeed pretty lucky with our location next to beautiful...More
TripAdvisor gives a Certificate of Excellence to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers.
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
US$23 - US$61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Star rating provided by Expedia.
Number of rooms
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Dorset House Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Response from DorsetHouseChch | Property representative |
Absolutely! please take note of the 4-digit security code sent in your confirmation email to enter the building after hours where we will have a late-arrival envelope arranged for you with your room key and... More
Absolutely! please take note of the 4-digit security code sent in your confirmation email to enter the building after hours where we will have a late-arrival envelope arranged for you with your room key and instructions to connect to our free unlimited WiFi.
Have you sorted your transport options to get from the airport to Dorset House? we recommend booking a shuttle as they are much cheaper than a taxi and run 24/7- unfortunately the number 29 airport bus does not run after 11:00pm.
If you would like us to arrange you a shuttle please send us an email with your flight number- we would be more than happy to book that for you to ensure your arrival runs smoothly :-)
Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can provide any further assistance- we look forward to welcoming you to Dorset House!
Dorset House Backpackers
We reached Christchurch at 1 am and we were still able to check-in without any problems whatsoever. Write an email to them with your flight details and they leave your room keys in an envelope. We took a Super Shuttle right... More
We reached Christchurch at 1 am and we were still able to check-in without any problems whatsoever. Write an email to them with your flight details and they leave your room keys in an envelope. We took a Super Shuttle right outside the airport. I guess the hostel arranges a pickup as well. Have a good trip to NZ!
Are you sure you want to delete this answer?
"Do not book here at all if you think you may have a travel disruption out of your control"