We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

CentrePoint on Colombo Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

932 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 888: English reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

Nice Motel, nice staff, nice rooms nice location and outstanding customer service. I would repeat for sure! The relation between price and quality is very good, the place is in a very good condition and clean. The location is quite nice. Due to the earthquaques it is not very close to the restaurants now, but anyway is quite OK. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andres P
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review

Nice one! Andres P! You gave us 4 "nice"s and 1 "outstanding" in the first sentence....nice! Thanks for staying with us and thanks for the review and the second sentence relates price to quality - which we got a pass mark for too! Sentence 3 covers off the post quake reality - dam those quakes! - but you found it...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Even though we arrived late at night, Mr Jeff spent a long time giving us all the helpful info regarding our stay in Christchurch including all the great places to see & things to do in the city as well as good dining places. He even told us all the streets that were closed, detours etc. He even booked a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jay_L_75
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review

Hi there Jay_L_75 and thanks for the indepth review. Mr. Jeff replying here. You cannot have arrive that late at night......if we explained everything. Late can mean after midnight with the way the airlaine schedules work these days! We do spend a bit of time keeping up with the road closures - some by going exploring and others by chance........

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Myself & my husband stayed in this motel for 2 nights (One at the start of our trip of the South Island and one at the end) Upon arrival the staff at reception were very friendly and they gave us a great idea of where we could go for dinner, shopping etc. They went out of there way to help...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sinead K
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review

Hi there Sinead K and thanks for the review after staying with us both at the start and end of your South Island experience! Great to see you liked our style of hospitality and found that our rooms have everything you could have wanted! Great to hear!

Hutchinson, Kansas, United States
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I travel for business nearly every day and it's not often that I write a review but in this case I feel I must. From the first moment I arrived at CentrePoint I felt welcome. The operators, Jeff and Naomi Peters were so friendly and accommodating that it felt like staying with family. The room was great and anything I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review

Hello there Kevin H and thanks for taking the time to review us even though you usually don't~! I see what you mean by saying that you travel for business nearly everyday - you sure do! Great to see you found that the room had everything you needed. I guess that you are in a good position to say that...

New Plymouth, New Zealand
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Tripadvisor Reviews were 10/10!!! My family and I just spent one night at this motel.. and I have to say.. Tripadvisor reviews were spot on! In Summary, the place is very close to town, reasonable priced, clean and owners are very very very helpful… almost too much!!! Rooms are clean, comfortable, big size, with SKY and DVD player. You can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SouCross
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review

Hi there SouCross and thanks for the review! Great to see you were able to rely on the TripAdvisor reviews and you got what you were expecting! It's a great compliment to get such a comment from someone who has been using TA for such a long time! Yup, we are close to town, not a bad price, clean and...

Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I stayed at the Centrepoint on Colombo during a recent visit to Christchurch. The room was fairly basic, but did have several amenities. It is located close to downtown, thus making it convenient. The reception staff was very friendly and informative. Excellent WiFi service. My only complaint would be that the room was quite cold when I entered and took...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Samuel A
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review Samuel A - possibly about the first Kiwi motel you've stayed in? We know that while you did not choose to stay with us ~ you were booked in by a corporate client ~ your eyes lit up when you saw our TA awards in the Reception area. Usually corporate guests like yourself would be accommodated...

Reviewed 7 September 2013

The jovial owner was welcoming as was the wife-both informative and extremely helpful in assisting with directions throughout the city to the airport. Room was nice, loved the spa bath which you barely see in hotel rooms let alone motels. We only stayed one night stopover before heading home to Australia. Dinner was within walking dis training distance. They deserve...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angusthehighlandcow
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review DonisaurMK7. I have been called many things but "Jovial" is one of the more pleasurable ones! Following that "informative" and "extremely helpful" are noice too! Great that you loved the spa bath and the room in general! Next time be sure to stay longer - now you know of a great place to stay in Christchurch!

New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I found Centrepoint on Colombo on Trip Advisor and from the initial phone call to book I was impressed. Geoff was friendly and helpful and sent an e-mail to confirm the booking. When we arrived we were early but that wasn't a problem - we were shown to our rooms which were clean, spacious and very well appointed. Throughout our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Benita33
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review

Hello Benita33 and thanks for the review. Great to see you found Jeff to to be helpful and friendly from the first phone call. Early check ins are sometimes possible and they sometimes do happen but not all the time. Great to see you enjoyed our style of hospitality over the 3 days your stayed with us and found the...

Reviewed 11 August 2013

Finding good accommodation in Christchurch was a hard task, but we got there with Centrepoint. Room for 5 was great, 2 spacious bedrooms and a comfy lounge - all very nicely done, tasteful and comfortable. Location is fine, the centre of Christchurch is a little confusing because of all the earthquake damage meaning many open spaces in the CBD. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SteveP1874
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review

Hello SteveP1874 and thanks for the review! It's always cool to get a review from a senior contributor. Yes! You travelled with family but you were a grown up family, as opposed to a young family. This room's facilities mean that a grown up family like yourselves can have a comfortable stay as you have attested. Great to see you...

Singapore
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by CentrePoint on Colombo. It was initially my plan to stay at a B&B throughout my various stops in the South Island, including Christchurch. However, there were none that was suitable (be it being imposed a min. number of nights, availability, etc), which led me to find CentrePoint. I’m extremely pleased to have made the decision...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lipppy
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this review

Hello Lipppy and thanks for the review after making the change from a B&B option to a MOTEL for you Christchurch stay! Great to see that you loved all aspects of your stay with us and you were comfortable writing a review like this! We hope you'll be comfortable choosing other motel options in NZ when you visit again! You...

81 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (71)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.3 km away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#5 of 146 in Christchurch
533 reviews
0.8 km away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#13 of 146 in Christchurch
1,568 reviews
0.9 km away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 146 in Christchurch
1,177 reviews
7.1 km away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
0.8 km away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel is Qualmark 4-Star Plus accommodation with modern facilities, a wide range of services, relaxed quiet atmosphere and free car parking, all in the heart of Christchurch. You will be only 5 mins. (450m) walk to Southern Cross Hospital and the Casino and 15 minutes walk to the "Re:Start" Container Mall - the new centre of Christchurch, and 20 minutes walk to the Botannical Gardens. ... more   less 

Additional Information about CentrePoint on Colombo Motel

Address: 859 Colombo Street, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Price Range: €106 - €209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — CentrePoint on Colombo Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your CentrePoint on Colombo Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrepoint On Colombo Hotel Christchurch
Centrepoint On Colombo Christchurch
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#9 Best Value Hotel in Christchurch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from CentrePoint on Colombo Motel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Kihei, Hawaii, United States
over a year ago
Seoul, South Korea
Massachusetts
over a year ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from CentrePoint on Colombo Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all rooms appear to be ok”
 of 5 bubbles SA5045, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All looked good to us.”
 of 5 bubbles billsellicks, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Close to city center and restaurants”
 of 5 bubbles michelef983, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I preferred the ground floor room with stronger Wi-Fi”
 of 5 bubbles AndrasP, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“It's a low rise building and backs onto the new Salvation Army. We were able to open our windows and have clean fresh air at night.”
 of 5 bubbles 111Mike, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5