We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Maruia Hot Springs

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Maruia Hot Springs
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

252 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 241: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Unless you have hours to burn or are completely desperate give it a miss. The food may have been nice, who knows, after waiting over half an hour for 2 ready made bagels to be heated up we got bored and asked for a refund. Hot chocolate was far from that, but did at least arrive. Won't be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DanWard77
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

My partner and I stopped here for 2.5 hours to use the pools and have lunch. We did not stay at the hotel. We LOVED the hours we spent here. And having been previously to Hammer Springs and also to the Franz Josef hot pools, this was completely a world apart. At Maruia you are sitting under mountains and with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LAguy888
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We visited the hot springs and later had dinner. The hot springs are scruffy and run down, with many of the facilities not working. The restaurant staff were cheerful and really busy, and our dinner order got lost. Eventually after an hour and a half we were served. The food - when it came - was good - but at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lesley E
New Zealand
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I then read the reviews here and comments - Stop making excuses and get your staff doing what they should be doing ! As for the cafe being busy hardly had anyone in there when we were there - Have run cafes and catering for years. Making old style food in your own kitchen is not hard and economical -...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank flier2
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I looked at trying to book online. Nothing available. I tried to call the number on Friday 6th Jan.to see if they had a cancelation. I rang the place 18 times and all I got was an answer service.( No-one called me back) We then booked Hanmer Springs, Thank god for that. We called in for coffee on our way...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Peter T
MaruiaHotSprings, Managing Director at Maruia Hot Springs, responded to this review

Peter, the upgrade plans you saw are of the upgrade works completed, NOT proposed and the completed works include: • New mountain view sauna (heated sustainably from our own hydro power station) • New pure mountain water (chemical free) 2.5m deep cold plunge pool (most probably the deepest in the southern hemisphere) • New enlarged and redeveloped outdoor natural (chemical...

Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Hard to know here to begin. Some of the recent reviews are not reflective of the reality. ROOMS They are not as bad as the rest of the place. Clean, with kind of recent carpet and so on, I have stayed in worse. SPACE The springs are a great location next to the mountains and the stream. Its a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank anecessaryevil
MaruiaHotSprings, Managing Director at Maruia Hot Springs, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. You raise many good points and as the onsite new owners we are committed to injecting millions to transform this once tired resort into something special. As you noted it is a "big job" and simply will take time to get the staffing, food and buildings upgrades in place to meet most peoples expectations. We are...

Reigate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

After a two+ hours drive from Christchurch with two tired and fractious young children, and in urgent need of a drink, snack and toilet stop, we thought we'd found what we wanted. We installed ourselves in their very comfortable armchairs, with the baby and infant playing happily on the carpet with the toys which were thoughtfully provided, placed our order...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robin S
MaruiaHotSprings, Managing Director at Maruia Hot Springs, responded to this review

I have spoken to all staff involved including one staff member being a co-owner and we apologies for the honest chain of mistakes that resulted in your frustration. Kim my partner and co-owner personally apologised to you and was the one that delivered your order to the wrong table as she thought this was your table as you were playing...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked a bathe and dine (lunch) package as a special surprise for the family. At $60 per person I wasn't expecting a private spa but the tired reception area, the smelly change rooms and the general disarray of the property made the experience a total waste of money. Lunch was a choice of a hot dish (mediocre toasted sandwiches) and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank africanabroard
MaruiaHotSprings, Managing Director at Maruia Hot Springs, responded to this review

Apologies again for the broken chair incident, that you did not receive your robes and that our normally extensive selection of cafe food was limited due to increased customer demand resulting from the recent Earthquakes. Brand new 4-5 star changing rooms will open in a few weeks time to complement the already upgraded bathing offering that includes the features listed...

Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

Friendly hosts who have recently taken over this resort so some units are lovely and others still old and worn but comfortable all the same. Hot pools are a good temperature but the outdoor showers need to be better fitted!! Plunge pool great. The indoor Japanese style pool and showers are also undergoing modernisation but good to sit in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tazmina C
MaruiaHotSprings, Managing Director at Maruia Hot Springs, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments and your review reflects how 99% of our customers enjoy this incredible and magical property and its staff. There is no hiding of the fact we started with a tired property that requires significant renovations to become a World Class award winning hot springs resort. But as you noted we do keep it clean and provide...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stopped here for coffee and lunch on the way to and from Christchurch and while it looked nice from the outside we found inside was general cleanliness was poor. While the staff were pleasant we experienced them to be disorganised, on our first visit our food took 40 mins to arrive and the second visit, it never arrived and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Andrew P
MaruiaHotSprings, Managing Director at Maruia Hot Springs, responded to this review

Our staff and I agree that its a shame you received this experience, but at the same time we as the new owners have architectural designs already drawn for a cafe upgrade that addresses the issues you highlighted in your review. To put your comment into prospective following the resent earthquakes that significantly increased traffic numbers on our road, during...

109 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (109)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (58)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Island hotels
0.0 km away
Timara Lodge
Timara Lodge
#42 of 57 in Marlborough Region
19 reviews
82.0 km away
Lake Brunner Lodge
Lake Brunner Lodge
#516 of 1,006 in South Island
20 reviews
525.0 km away
Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
567.2 km away
Lands End Boutique Hotel
566.7 km away
Bluff Ocean Vista Accommodation
188.2 km away
Raetihi Lodge
Raetihi Lodge
#8 of 82 in Marlborough Region
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Maruia Hot Springs is located on the Lewis Pass in a National Park where you can enjoy picturesque mountain views and look out to the flowing waters of the Maruia River while bathing in our 100% Natural mineral hot pools. Our pools are completely natural (no chemicals used), enjoy bathing in hot water sourced directly from our bore, our water has a high mineral content, which is considered to have healing properties especially for skin conditions and joint and muscle pain. We have 3 outdoor hot pools, and an indoor bath house that are open 7 days a week from 8am-9pm. We also have a private bathing pavilion available by booking, or in our package deals. Come and enjoy a serene and quiet bathing experience away from crowds and cell phones. Our Cafe is open 7 days a week so if you are driving past grab a coffee and enjoy a foot bath amongst the wildlife and beautiful views from our deck. Perfect for bird lovers! The restaurant open 7 days a week and offers a fresh new Kiwiana menu and a classic breakfast menu that includes poached eggs with homemade Hollandaise sauce. Visit our website to book and come and enjoy a unique experience in the tranquillity of the mountains. As new owners we are passionate about working towards making Maruia Hot Springs into a World Class resort and a pure New Zealand experience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Maruia Hot Springs

Address: State Highway 7 Lewis pass, 7895, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island
Price Range: €102 - €133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maruia Hot Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Maruia Hot Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maruia Springs Thermal Resort Ltd Hotel South Island
Maruia Springs Thermal Hotel Ltd
Maruia Hot Springs New Zealand/South Island
Hotel Style:
#60 Spa Hotel in South Island
#301 Luxury Hotel in South Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Maruia Hot Springs staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Maruia Hot Springs staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“did not stay but the rooms look old from the outside.”
 of 5 bubbles petertA9978WC, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Mountain view rooms have wonderful views..The food is delicious, stay for a meal here !”
 of 5 bubbles Beattles, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“It might be much worse than you expect”
 of 5 bubbles , 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get a first floor room to avoid noise from above!”
 of 5 bubbles br0nniet, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Lovely quiet location”
 of 5 bubbles J46JKbrendas, 29 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay