We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rydges Wellington

Expedia.comUS$125*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Rydges Wellington
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,814 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rydges Wellington
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,774: English reviews
Sydney, NSW, Australia
Reviewed 22 May 2016

Very well located near City Centre. One of the best buffet breakfast for freshness and choice. All switches are simple and uncomplicated. Very good value for money when booked directly with the hotel as a Priority Member, or join immediately if not a member.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jimbo05_11
Catherine H, Public Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review

Hi Jimbo05_11, Thank you for your review! We really do appreciate lovely guest feedback, especially from a Priority Guest Member such as yourself! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Wellington. Cheers, Catherine

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 22 May 2016

Our MB Club had a weekend Conference in Wellington. Several Regional Club members from accross the country attended. Quality of rooms and the whole set up for this occasion was good. The presentation of the meals was well done by helpful and friendly staff/ management.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Crocodilefan
Catherine H, Public Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review

Hi Crocodilefan, Thank you for your review! We're glad we could provide the accommodation while in Wellington for your conference, and we're pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you again on your next visit to the Capital. Thanks again, Catherine H

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 21 May 2016

I've been staying here for 3 nights, for work and catching up with my local fronds. Great accommodation, very clean and nice interior. The room includes a mini kitchen which was unexpected and very handy. Toiletries etc all really good quality, as was the hairdryer. Best of all, espresso coffee at the breakfast restaurant,so good I had a second every...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank princessofcomo
Catherine H, Public Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review

Hi princessofcomo, Thanks for the review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay, and the happy surprise of the kitchenette! Definitely handy for whipping up snacks. We're also pleased you enjoyed the coffee - about 90% of our staff are slightly coffee addicted, so we couldn't live without a good brew! :) Thanks again for your thoughts, and we hope to...

Wollongong, Australia
Reviewed 18 May 2016

Stayed here for business and was very well looked after. Staff were very helpful and friendly. The rooms are a good size, quiet and very comfortable. I stayed at a very busy time and yet the venue did not seem overrun and noisy. The Restaurant is very good and there is also a very good bar and lounge area if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cathy P
Catherine H, Public Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review

Hi Cathy, Thanks you for taking a moment to leave us your feedback, we appreciate your thoughts. We're glad that despite staying during a busy period, we were able to provide you a quiet and comfortable stay. If you have a spare moment, please consider leaving a review over on our restaurant Portlander Bar & Grill's separate TripAdvisor page -...

Auckland
Reviewed 18 May 2016

Wellington is not inundated with great hotels but I think Rydges is a good choice. Very helpful, friendly staff allowing late early check in and late check out. Great pool, spa complex. Comfortable, quiet rooms. And a bloody good steak in the restaurant. What more do you want?

 Report
Helpful?
Thank squidgyAuckland
Catherine H, Public Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review

Hi there squidgyAuckland, Thanks very much for the lovely review - we're very happy to hear you think we're a stand out amongst Wellington hotels! We're glad you were able to sample our steaks too, our restaurant Portlander prides itself on it's amazing cuts of meat! We hope to see you again soon. Cheers, Catherine

Reviewed 17 May 2016 via mobile

I stayed here 2 nights. The hotel room was clean, a comfortable bed, good wifi, iron and ironing board, had all the stuff you need as well as a small stove. The breakfast had a very good range especially juices and yogurts. Great bircher muesli and nice freshly baked breads. The bespoke omelette took nearly 15 mins which was too...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AKAustSingHK
Catherine H, Public Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review

Hi AKAustSingHK Thank you for your review! We're so pleased you found your room comfortable and enjoyed our breakfast buffet. We apologise that your omelette took too long to arrive, and I will pass on your feedback to the kitchen for their consideration. We hope to see you again on your next visit! Kind regards, Catherine

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 15 May 2016

Fantastic service from the minute we arrived and the bed was super comfy. We had dinner in the restaurant, which was sensational also. Definitely recommend Rydges Wellington based on service, room quality, food and location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carlywieland
Catherine H, Public Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review

Hi Carly, Thank you very much for the 5/5 star review! We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the bed super comfy! We're also glad you were able to sample our award winning restaurant Portlander while you were here. If you have a moment, please leave a review over on Portlander's separate TripAdvisor page - we'd really...

Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewed 15 May 2016

Outstanding service and a really great place to stay. Excellent staff, really friendly and helpful. The inhouse restaurant Portlander serves amazing food and is so easy to access. Great place to stay highly recommend it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carinadg
Catherine H, Public Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review

Hi Carina, Thank you very much for the 5/5 star review! We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, and also that you were able to sample our award winning restaurant Portlander while you were here. If you have a moment, please leave a review over on Portlander's separate TripAdvisor page - we'd really appreciate it! Thanks again, Catherine H

Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 14 May 2016

I had an unplanned stop in Wellington due to the weather. Desperate for a bed late at night and Rydges had a few rooms. The only room available was on the 15th floor and had a harbour view (but...... pitch black so a bit wasted on me). The room had everything - iron, cooking element (basic), a good range of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AndyTheChef2014
Catherine H, Public Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review

Hi Andy, Ah yes - that typical Wellington weather! We're sorry it interrupted your plans, but happy that you chose to stay here at Rydges. Thank you for taking the time to share your review too, we're glad that you found your room comfortable and that you enjoyed the drink coupon. We hope to see you again should you have...

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 12 May 2016

We loved our stay at Rydges Wellington. The room was big and comfortable and as always, the bed was super comfortable. Great views over the harbour provided a nice place to sit for the afternoon. The room was also equipped with a decent sized sink, microwave and cooktop. The highlight of the stay was definitely the buffet breakfast. It's been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
Catherine H, Public Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review

Hi Catherine, (great name, by the way!) Thank you very much for your lovely review of Rydges, and the 5/5 score! We really do love hearing from happy guests. It's great to hear you enjoyed our breakfast buffet - we often find ourselves wishing we could have it everyday as well. Toast doesn't quite cut it in comparison! We hope...

318 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (288)
Viewed
View from Room (48)
Viewed
Room/Suite (77)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (74)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.4 km away
InterContinental Wellington
0.4 km away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,373 reviews
1.2 km away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.3 km away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,092 reviews
1.3 km away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#8 of 46 in Wellington
1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rydges Wellington is located on downtown Featherston Street with a unique combination of harbour views and city outlooks. Ideally situated in New Zealand's capital city, Rydges Wellington is within close distance to the Westpac Stadium, Queens Wharf, Wellington Railway Station, both the Interislander and Bluebridge Ferry terminals and Lambton Quay for shopping.This 4+ Star hotel offers 280 accommodation rooms for business and leisure guests with the benefits of modern facilities including wireless internet throughout, iPads for guests and fantastic leisure facilities. All rooms feature flat screen televisions, free unlimited Wi-Fi, iPod docking stations and kitchenettes. There are 19 apartment style suites, perfect for your long stay requirements with washer and drier facilities available. Rydges Wellington is your landmark hotel in the Capital. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rydges Wellington

Address: 75 Featherston Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range: €110 - €198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Rydges Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Wellington Hotel Wellington
Holiday Inn Wellington
Wellington Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Wellington
#7 Family Hotel in Wellington
#7 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#12 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rydges Wellington staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question
Oxford, United Kingdom
Brevard, North Carolina
over a year ago
London, United Kingdom

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Rydges Wellington staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The corner rooms abutting Featherston Street were attractive.”
PerryB137, 7 May 2017 | Read review
“High floors have a view over the harbour”
gillianb575, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms with sea views are sensational”
EmgeeNZ, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“go for seaside view”
483norberts, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“good view from harbour view even if part was obscured. very quiet for being in middle of city.”
89lynettep, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$125* /night
View Deal
AMOMAUS$248
Hotels.comUS$125
Hotwire.comUS$125
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates