We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Base Wellington Backpackers

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Base Wellington Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

304 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Base Wellington Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 268: English reviews
Shepperton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2015

The beds here weren't actually too uncomfortable for a hostel and we spent a quiet night here. However a couple of us had very disgusting stains on our duvets and a few stray hairs - we found this pretty unacceptable and tried to sleep without using any sheets at all. Thinking back we probably should've complained to reception but we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DawnEast
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia Ora, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Great Feedback although very surprised you did not mention this to Reception, if you choose to sleep in a shared Dorm Room sometimes people do sit on other beds or make a mess and if...

Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 August 2015

Private double en suite room with a balcony over looking the city. Standard basic hostel facilities in the room. Only really used the hostel for sleeping in - but as we were quite high up there was little to no noise from other guests. We used the shared kitchen to cook in which was very well equipped, clean and comfortable....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia Ora Chris, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thanks for your great Feedback, enjoy the rest of travels. Timo Hummel

Reviewed 17 August 2015 via mobile

As far as buildings go it's a bit run down, but that is the one and only criticism I have. They are upgrading and they are winning. The bathrooms are excellent. But the stand alone reason I rate this backpackers "very good" is the staff. More friendly and helpful I have never met. Special thanks to Tobias, Nathan, Sam, Daniel,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank N7492XHgregs
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia Ora Greg, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thank you very much for your great and honest Feedback, we do fight against the issues of an old building but we do believe we are getting on top of things. I will pass...

Manchester, UK
Reviewed 27 July 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend away to visit friends in Wellington. Booked a private twin room which was a good size with comfy beds The kitchen is one of the best hostel kitchens I have seen - well equipped and spacious Good location to visit all of Wellingtons attractions and nightlife with friendly staff on hand to help with any...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sineaduk
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia Ora, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thank you very much for your great feedback, Timo Hummel

Reviewed 20 July 2015

This place does a job but nothing more. The rooms are fairly clean but very basic, the staff are reasonably helpful but nothing special and the location is pretty good just round the corner from one of the main streets of restaurants and bars. However, Wifi is pretty expensive and having paid for the premium wifi it really wasn't great....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Atlas9192
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia Ora, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thanks for your great feedback, although we believe our internet offering is for an uncapped internet connection ( NO Data allowance and speed of 512k for low speed & 4MB for high speed)is good value...

Swansea
Reviewed 16 July 2015

Good for a base of operations if you are travelling and looking to explore Wellington. Hostel is centrally located and waking distance from many of Wellington top destinations. I'd recommend to back-packers as a place to stay. Café was pretty good and has its own bar/nightclub too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank swiftearth
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia Ora, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thanks for your great feedback, enjoy the rest of your travels. Timo Hummel

Auckland
Reviewed 11 July 2015

As a business traveller, I chose to stay in a private room with a ensuite and seaview. The room cost $103/night booked via hotels.com. The lobby appeared dark and poorly lit - the staff were relatively friendly. Wifi was charged at $7 highspeed or $4 lowspeed for 24 hours (although when you logged in you had a choose or hi...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ton3s
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia Ora, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thank you very much for your feedback however I was very surprised about most comments, especially our Lounge and Reception area being dark as our Reception is the heart of our property with very high...

Reviewed 6 July 2015 via mobile

I stayed at the Base in Wellington while traveling with the Kiwi Experience bus. I stayed a few extra nights. The staff was super engaging and fun and very professional at the same time. They're from all over the world, which makes them on of us - travelers. My room was very good. The Basement, the bar they have is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank leom774
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia Ora, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thank you very much for your kind feedback, great to hear you had such an awesome stay......enjoy the rest of your trip and look after yourself. Timo Hummel

Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 June 2015 via mobile

Stayed here with kiwi experience for barely 24 hours before heading to the South Island. We were placed in a 6 bed dorm on the female only area. The room and floor as a whole was very secure, clean and comfortable. There were plenty of toilets and showers that are clean and modern. I only used the kitchen for breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SRJAsh
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia Ora, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thank you for the great feedback, enjoy the rest of your travels. Timo Hummel

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 June 2015 via mobile

Was fine for a night. Beds okay, showers were quite good and nothing majorly wrong but its a bit run down and gross. Bar was good free meal was great - a real sized meal unlike other free hostel meals.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristinalisle
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia Ora, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Enjoy the rest of your travels. Timo Hummel

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 km away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
637 reviews
0.4 km away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
696 reviews
0.5 km away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
InterContinental Wellington
0.3 km away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#9 of 46 in Wellington
1,515 reviews
0.2 km away
YHA Wellington
YHA Wellington
#2 of 47 in Wellington
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Base Wellington Backpackers

Address: 21-23 Cambridge Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range: €20 - €109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Base Wellington Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 285
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Base Wellington Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Wellington Backpackers Hotel Wellington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Base Wellington Backpackers staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
7 months ago
New Plymouth, New Zealand

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Base Wellington Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The higher the room, the better the sleep”
 of 5 bubbles 974jaccip, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for harbor view.”
 of 5 bubbles avram22, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“It's noisy on every floor, especially near the kitchen, and the top floor.”
 of 5 bubbles G4933PPmeganw, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I would say though, go the private rooms. The view of the city was spectacular from the eighth floor!”
 of 5 bubbles Barbary_Skipper, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Good staff”
 of 5 bubbles , 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5