We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Base Wellington Backpackers

399 reviews
Save
Traveller (46)
Room & Suite (26)
Dining (4)
Overview
  • Excellent19%
  • Very good25%
  • Average23%
  • Poor15%
  • Terrible18%
Travellers talk about
“basement bar”(19 reviews)
“huge kitchen”(5 reviews)
Wifi
Non-Smoking Hotel
Bar/Lounge
Self-Serve Laundry
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
2.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (399)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Base Wellington Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
359 results
Traveller rating
73
77
87
55
67
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
73
77
87
55
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbasement barcleaned regularlyhuge kitchenmount victoriacourtney placecommon areascourtenay placesouth islandtop floorbars and restaurantsdouble roomte papa museumlocation is greatwould stay againcity centrenightlifeensuite
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
81 - 85 of 359 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2017 via mobile

35 D(the most expensive hostel I ever been to)for 1 night in a super tiny ugly room with 6 beds. very Loud music at 3 am from the bar downstairs. Stuff won't let me leave my luggage for a few hours(unless I'll pay). Don't come...More

Thank ariel b
Reviewed 18 April 2017

Super clean, bar was open on a public holiday!! only problem was that there were some really boring people in my room all day and night laying on their bed on internet with windows closed and curtains drawn blocking the beautiful day and awesome view.....More

Thank JulianMischiefMag
Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

Spent a grand total of 3 nights in this hostel and was glad it was no more. Very basic, rooms were okay not too clean and quite cramped. Location is good and price but sure there are better hostels to stay in in Wellington.

Thank Lois J
Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

I booked a dorm for 6 with 5 of my friends, we were happy to finally be able to sleep in a bed after 3 weeks of road trip sleeping in a tent or in the car but that's the only good point of this...More

Thank Thomas'Te M
Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

Unfriendly staff, totally unwilling to provide any kind of help. It was busy, but I asked for a -$4!!!- internet voucher and a map + explanations where to park my car. Got a reply as if I was asking for something really hard. Dirty loos...More

Thank tvnierop
View more reviews
PreviousNext
1151617181972
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Self-Serve Laundry
Things to do
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$39 - US$101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$39 - US$101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (46)
Room & Suite (26)
Dining (4)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Ebef Q
23 August 2016|
Answer
Response from Reception_BW | Property representative |
Hiya, We have unlimited data internet at Base Wellington. low speed for tablet etc $4 per day / $12 per week High speed for laptop/live streaming etc $6 per day/$18 per week there are a few free internet hot spots around... More
0
Votes
208christine
29 May 2016|
Answer
Response from Lucca Q | Reviewed this property |
You should call the hostel or check in its site stayatbase . com
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Bring ear plugs!"
Read review
"Less noise on higher floors. Check in after 3pm or 4pm for less people at reception. Groups checking in at..."
Read review
"Higher rooms are usually less noisy."
Read review
"The santuary rooms can get full fast, book early."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing