We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Base Wellington Backpackers

Save
Share
Traveller (46)
Room & Suite (46)
Dining (3)
Overview
21-23 Cambridge Terrace, Wellington 6011 New Zealand See on map
AMENITIES
Wifi
Parking
Non-Smoking Hotel
Bar/Lounge
Laundry Service
Self-Serve Laundry
Breakfast included
2 Star accommodation
{"containerAttributes":null,"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Reviews (418)
There are newer reviews for Base Wellington Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
378 results
Traveller rating
80
80
92
57
69
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
80
80
92
57
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviews basement bar cleaned regularly bed room courtney place light sleeper common areas courtenay place south island top floor te papa museum bars and restaurants location is great would stay again great room city centre nightlife supermarket
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
81 - 85 of 378 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2017 via mobile

i was happy enough with this hostel. the female dorms were really clean and tidy. a reading light at each bed would be good to have as this seems more standard now in some hostels. location is super, right round the corner from courtney place....More

Thank Lyndsey M
Response from Ness_Robinson, General Manager at Base Wellington BackpackersResponded 16 July 2017

Thanks so much for staying and taking the time to provide us with your feedback! We are in the process of getting our front door made more secure so hopefully if you return you will see this improvement!

Reviewed 5 June 2017 via mobile

Standard base hostel environment. There need to be more bathrooms considering the amount of people staying on each floor. There is a free dinner and a free drink which is nice. THIS IS A DRY HOSTEL, we were caught drinking and our alcohol was taken...More

Thank nattyemily4
Response from Ness_Robinson, General Manager at Base Wellington BackpackersResponded 16 July 2017

Thanks for your feedback and we hope you return soon! As we have a Bar on site unfortunately we are alcohol free within the hostel but next time feel free to hand your alcohol into Reception and we can return to you upon your depart!

Reviewed 5 June 2017

Unfortunately had too stay here again as a parent helper and since last year nothing's changed. The place is not clean, is noisy and is really aimed for the alcohol market of backpackers than school groups. Add to this drunks in the hallways at 7...More

Thank OmahaAl
Response from Ness_Robinson, General Manager at Base Wellington BackpackersResponded 16 July 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We are as you mentioned a Backpackers Hostel however we have taken / do take many school bookings and can always arrange extra security etc. If you would like to contact myself directly I would like to discuss your concerns...More

Reviewed 28 May 2017

This was the second time in a backpackers and I must say I was impressed. 4 bed female dorm. Very clean and tidy. Excellent location. It had everything I needed apart from ear plugs. The noise from the street 7 stories below... sounded as if...More

Thank Teresa B
Response from Ness_Robinson, General Manager at Base Wellington BackpackersResponded 16 July 2017

Thanks so much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback! We do have free ear plugs available at Reception! I'll ensure we promote this more! We hope to see you again and am glad you enjoyed your stay.

Reviewed 26 May 2017

Base Backpacker is a really good hostel. It's big enough to meet a lots of people, and the atmosphere is not like in a huge/unpersonnal hostel. Everyone is friendly, it's easy to speak with people and make friends even if you just arrived alone here...More

Thank Vigi R
Response from Ness_Robinson, General Manager at Base Wellington BackpackersResponded 16 July 2017

Thanks so much for your feedback and we're glad you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you again soon!

View more reviews
About
Description
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
 
Hotel class
HOTEL STYLE
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
285
PRICE RANGE
US$18 - US$86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
base wellington backpackers hotel wellington
Location
New ZealandNorth IslandGreater WellingtonWellington
Photos
Traveller (46)
Room & Suite (46)
Dining (3)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 48 nearby hotels
The Cambridge Hotel
711 reviews
.08 km away
Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel
455 reviews
.23 km away
Bay Plaza Hotel
449 reviews
.23 km away
Apollo Lodge Motel
473 reviews
.26 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 1,063 nearby restaurants
Hummingbird Eatery & Bar
410 reviews
.08 km away
Capitol Restaurant
332 reviews
.07 km away
Sweet Mother's Kitchen
679 reviews
.05 km away
Tahi
111 reviews
.05 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 390 nearby attractions
The Hannah Playhouse
15 reviews
.09 km away
Kura Art Gallery
9 reviews
.16 km away
BATS Theatre
26 reviews
.15 km away
The Embassy Theatre- Wellington
141 reviews
.07 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Ebef Q
23 August 2016|
Answer
Response from Reception_BW | Property representative |
Hiya, We have unlimited data internet at Base Wellington. low speed for tablet etc $4 per day / $12 per week High speed for laptop/live streaming etc $6 per day/$18 per week there are a few free internet hot spots around... More
0
Votes
208christine
29 May 2016|
Answer
Response from Lucca Q | Reviewed this property |
You should call the hostel or check in its site stayatbase . com
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Bring ear plugs!"
JonathanT1812
29 Dec 2017
Read review
"Less noise on higher floors. Check in after 3pm or 4pm for less people at reception. Groups checking in..."
beauregard_jade
24 Nov 2017
Read review
"Higher rooms are usually less noisy."
Travler104
5 Sep 2017
Read review
"The santuary rooms can get full fast, book early."
shenaghatmassey
26 Aug 2017
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing