We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Base Wellington Backpackers

Save
Traveller (46)
Room & Suite (26)
Dining (4)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent19%
  • Very good25%
  • Average23%
  • Poor15%
  • Terrible18%
Travellers talk about
AMENITIES
Wifi
Non-Smoking Hotel
Bar/Lounge
Self-Serve Laundry
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
2 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (408)
There are newer reviews for Base Wellington Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
368 results
Traveller rating
75
80
89
56
68
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
75
80
89
56
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscleaned regularlyhuge kitchenmount victoriabed roomcourtney placecommon areascourtenay placesouth islandtop floorbars and restaurantste papa museumlocation is greatgreat roomwould stay againcity centrenightlifeensuite
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
71 - 75 of 368 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2017 via mobile

i was happy enough with this hostel. the female dorms were really clean and tidy. a reading light at each bed would be good to have as this seems more standard now in some hostels. location is super, right round the corner from courtney place....More

Thank Lyndsey M
Response from Ness_Robinson, General Manager at Base Wellington BackpackersResponded 16 July 2017

Thanks so much for staying and taking the time to provide us with your feedback! We are in the process of getting our front door made more secure so hopefully if you return you will see this improvement!

Reviewed 5 June 2017 via mobile

Standard base hostel environment. There need to be more bathrooms considering the amount of people staying on each floor. There is a free dinner and a free drink which is nice. THIS IS A DRY HOSTEL, we were caught drinking and our alcohol was taken...More

Thank nattyemily4
Response from Ness_Robinson, General Manager at Base Wellington BackpackersResponded 16 July 2017

Thanks for your feedback and we hope you return soon! As we have a Bar on site unfortunately we are alcohol free within the hostel but next time feel free to hand your alcohol into Reception and we can return to you upon your depart!

Reviewed 5 June 2017

Unfortunately had too stay here again as a parent helper and since last year nothing's changed. The place is not clean, is noisy and is really aimed for the alcohol market of backpackers than school groups. Add to this drunks in the hallways at 7...More

Thank OmahaAl
Response from Ness_Robinson, General Manager at Base Wellington BackpackersResponded 16 July 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We are as you mentioned a Backpackers Hostel however we have taken / do take many school bookings and can always arrange extra security etc. If you would like to contact myself directly I would like to discuss your concerns...More

Reviewed 28 May 2017

This was the second time in a backpackers and I must say I was impressed. 4 bed female dorm. Very clean and tidy. Excellent location. It had everything I needed apart from ear plugs. The noise from the street 7 stories below... sounded as if...More

Thank Teresa B
Response from Ness_Robinson, General Manager at Base Wellington BackpackersResponded 16 July 2017

Thanks so much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback! We do have free ear plugs available at Reception! I'll ensure we promote this more! We hope to see you again and am glad you enjoyed your stay.

Reviewed 26 May 2017

Base Backpacker is a really good hostel. It's big enough to meet a lots of people, and the atmosphere is not like in a huge/unpersonnal hostel. Everyone is friendly, it's easy to speak with people and make friends even if you just arrived alone here...More

Thank Vigi R
Response from Ness_Robinson, General Manager at Base Wellington BackpackersResponded 16 July 2017

Thanks so much for your feedback and we're glad you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you again soon!

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Wellington
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Self-Serve Laundry
Things to do
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$33 - US$86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$33 - US$86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (46)
Room & Suite (26)
Dining (4)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Ebef Q
23 August 2016|
Answer
Response from Reception_BW | Property representative |
Hiya, We have unlimited data internet at Base Wellington. low speed for tablet etc $4 per day / $12 per week High speed for laptop/live streaming etc $6 per day/$18 per week there are a few free internet hot spots around... More
0
Votes
208christine
29 May 2016|
Answer
Response from Lucca Q | Reviewed this property |
You should call the hostel or check in its site stayatbase . com
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Bring ear plugs!"
Read review
"Less noise on higher floors. Check in after 3pm or 4pm for less people at reception. Groups checking in at..."
Read review
"Higher rooms are usually less noisy."
Read review
"The santuary rooms can get full fast, book early."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing