We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Base Wellington Backpackers

Save
Traveller (46)
Room & Suite (26)
Dining (4)
Ratings and reviews
Ratings
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers talk about
View all reviews
What's included
Wifi
Non-Smoking Hotel
Bar/Lounge
Self-Serve Laundry
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
2 Star Hotel
View all hotel information
Location and contact
21-23 Cambridge Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
3.6 km to Wellington Intl Airport
229 restaurants are within a 0.5 km radius
0.5 km from Museum of New Zealand (Te Papa Tongarewa)
View nearby attractions and restaurants
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (410)
Filter reviews
370 results
Traveller rating
76
80
90
56
68
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
76
80
90
56
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscleaned regularlyhuge kitchenmount victoriabed roomcourtney placecommon areascourtenay placesouth islandtop floorbars and restaurantste papa museumlocation is greatgreat roomwould stay againcity centrenightlifeensuite
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 370 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Upon arrival the accommodation was in a nice location and looked nice and tidy. Inside it was tidy and clean and the room we booked was on the sixth floor and was a private room with bathroom and harbor views. The room was tidy and...More

Thank chantelopp
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Having stayed in several Bases whilst in New Zealand this was by far one of the most expensive and the facilities did not live up to expectations! The sheets weren’t clean- several of us found hairs on our sheets and also the hostel was very...More

Thank LuxuryAroundTheWorld
Reviewed 10 June 2018

Very centrally located with easy access to everything I needed. Friendly and fun. Lots of opportunities for an exchange of info. Very clean, very nice. Helpful at the desk with information regarding buses, tours and pretty well anything questions that run through ones mind.

Thank Tonder
Response from Reception_BW, Receptionist at Base Wellington BackpackersResponded 4 weeks ago

Hey There! Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate the time you taken to do this! Much appreciated! Holly

Reviewed 19 April 2018

I have stayed at the base twice recently and both times I have been in a shared dorm and both times my bed was comfortable and clean I was lucky with my bunk mates not being noisy. each person is supplied a locker under the...More

Thank Selina H
Response from Reception_BW, Reception at Base Wellington BackpackersResponded 4 weeks ago

Hey Selina! Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay! Especially that you enjoyed the quiz night! That bar will be stoked to hear this. Thanks again! Holly

A TripAdvisor Member
15
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Stayed here with my family in a 4 bed private room with an ensuite. The room was clean and had comfy beds. Staff on reception were friendly and approachable. Good location to walk into the center or the waterfront.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Response from Reception_BW, Reception at Base Wellington BackpackersResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi There! Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you again, Holly

View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Self-Serve Laundry
Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$23 - US$99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$23 - US$99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (46)
Room & Suite (26)
Dining (4)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Ebef Q
23 August 2016|
Answer
Response from Reception_BW | Property representative |
Hiya, We have unlimited data internet at Base Wellington. low speed for tablet etc $4 per day / $12 per week High speed for laptop/live streaming etc $6 per day/$18 per week there are a few free internet hot spots around... More
0
Votes
208christine
29 May 2016|
Answer
Response from Lucca Q | Reviewed this property |
You should call the hostel or check in its site stayatbase . com
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Bring ear plugs!"
Read review
"Less noise on higher floors. Check in after 3pm or 4pm for less people at reception. Groups checking in at..."
Read review
"Higher rooms are usually less noisy."
Read review
"The santuary rooms can get full fast, book early."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing