We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Base Wellington Backpackers

Save
Share
Traveller (46)
Room & Suite (46)
Dining (3)
Overview
21-23 Cambridge Terrace, Wellington 6011 New Zealand See on map
AMENITIES
Wifi
Parking
Non-Smoking Hotel
Bar/Lounge
Laundry Service
Self-Serve Laundry
Breakfast included
2 Star accommodation
Reviews (418)
Filter reviews
378 results
Traveller rating
80
80
92
57
69
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
80
80
92
57
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviews basement bar cleaned regularly bed room courtney place light sleeper common areas courtenay place south island top floor te papa museum bars and restaurants location is great would stay again great room city centre nightlife supermarket
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 378 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago

After staying in eco friendly hostels I kind of expected it of most however their seemed to be little to no effort put into the sustainability of this hostel 🚯 Internet is free, however only downstairs in the lobby and it is very poor quality...More

Thank Elle A
Response from Reception_BW, Reception at Base Wellington BackpackersResponded 2 days ago

Hi Elle, Thank you for taking time to leave a review, we really appreciate it. I will pass this useful information back to the manager :) Hope to see you again. Base Wellington

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My friends and I stayed here in October and we shared a 6 bed dorm. The rooms and the bathrooms were clean and we couldn’t complain about that. Good location, Wellington is a lovely city. However that staff were quite rude. The first morning we...More

Thank Sameiklex
Response from Reception_BW, Receptionist at Base Wellington BackpackersResponded 1 week ago

Hi Samelklex Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. We want to thank you for all your feedback. We do apologise for the noise and disruption in the morning. We have passed the information onto the manager. Our team is always...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

For a hostel this place is top of the line. Staff are cheery and super fun. Didn’t have an issue with anything! Overall a bloody good time and left feeling special and energised for my next adventure 🤟🏻🤟🏻 Thanks base welly!

Thank ge01998
Response from Reception_BW, Reception at Base Wellington BackpackersResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi :) Thank you for leaving such a positive review. We appreciate all your kind words and glad you had an amazing stay! We hope to see you again! Base Wellington :)

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at Base Wellington recently and had such a great experience. We were greeted by friendly helpful staff, who were efficient, approachable and easy going. Our room was clean, comfortable and totally functional with absolutely stunning views over the cbd and harbour. What a...More

Thank Louise C
Response from Reception_BW, Reception Supervisor at Base Wellington BackpackersResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Louise, Thank you so much for taking the time to write us this lovely review. It is always nice to hear great feedback from our guests. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I would agree that we are lucky...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed 1 night here. Have not stayed at a back packers for years and this has now reinforced why. If you are into noise and inconciderate guests then this is the place for you. Ear plugs are a must, even provided free from the...More

Thank Wink747
Response from Reception_BW, Reception at Base Wellington BackpackersResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi, Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We pride ourselves on giving each guest the best experience possible and appreciate the feedback to further improve our facilities and services. Kind Regards, Base Wellington

View more reviews
About
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Bar/Lounge
Laundry Service
Non-Smoking Hotel
Self-Serve Laundry
Pool
Beachfront
Room Service
Restaurant
Spa
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free Parking
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
285
Price range
US$18 - US$85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Base Wellington Backpackers Hotel Wellington
Location
New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
285
Price range
US$18 - US$85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Base Wellington Backpackers Hotel Wellington
Location
New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Photos
Traveller (46)
Room & Suite (46)
Dining (3)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 48 nearby hotels
The Cambridge Hotel
711 reviews
.08 km away
Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel
455 reviews
.23 km away
Bay Plaza Hotel
449 reviews
.23 km away
Apollo Lodge Motel
473 reviews
.26 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 1,063 nearby restaurants
Hummingbird Eatery & Bar
410 reviews
.08 km away
Capitol Restaurant
332 reviews
.07 km away
Sweet Mother's Kitchen
679 reviews
.05 km away
Tahi
111 reviews
.05 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 390 nearby attractions
The Hannah Playhouse
15 reviews
.09 km away
Kura Art Gallery
9 reviews
.16 km away
BATS Theatre
26 reviews
.15 km away
The Embassy Theatre- Wellington
141 reviews
.07 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Ebef Q
23 August 2016|
Answer
Response from Reception_BW | Property representative |
Hiya, We have unlimited data internet at Base Wellington. low speed for tablet etc $4 per day / $12 per week High speed for laptop/live streaming etc $6 per day/$18 per week there are a few free internet hot spots around... More
0
Votes
208christine
29 May 2016|
Answer
Response from Lucca Q | Reviewed this property |
You should call the hostel or check in its site stayatbase . com
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Bring ear plugs!"
JonathanT1812
29 Dec 2017
Read review
"Less noise on higher floors. Check in after 3pm or 4pm for less people at reception. Groups checking in..."
beauregard_jade
24 Nov 2017
Read review
"Higher rooms are usually less noisy."
Travler104
5 Sep 2017
Read review
"The santuary rooms can get full fast, book early."
shenaghatmassey
26 Aug 2017
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing