We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Willis Wellington Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Willis Wellington Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

298 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 282: English reviews
Whakatane
Reviewed 1 week ago

Clean tidy basic hotel. The staff were great - very helpful and friendly. Location is good, we walked down Cuba Street to Te Papa which took about 20 mins. On the negative side: bed was very soft, and bathroom was a bit cramped but clean and functional

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChrisWhakatane
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel was good surrounded by the mountains and beautiful view we were right at the top on fifth floor and they gave us the biggest room was fully heated. It's in the centre of the city. Staff was good and friendly. But the wifi was slow they need to start and give free wifi or unlimited for the customers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leena K
CPG-Hotels, Reception at Willis Wellington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Leena K Thank you for highlighting our outstanding surroundings - we are very fortunate being so near to the city centre, a lovely park, a 2 minute walk away from Cuba Street and the famous War Memorial. We are pleased to inform our valued clientele that the Willis Wellington Hotel is one of the only hotels in the city...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel was perfectly situated for our needs, the staff were obliging & helpful. The rooms were tidy & suited our needs. Great to have the hand basin outside of shower & toilet as this made things more convenient.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hullson
CPG-Hotels, Reception at Willis Wellington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear hullson Thank you very much for your review. We really appreciate your time and its lovely to hear you enjoyed your experience with us. We pride ourselves on delivering a friendly and professional service. Your words encourage us to maintain our effort to deliver exceptional experience. We take this opportunity to inform our valued clientele that all our 90...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I have stopped at this hotel before i dont think i will again i was on room only but decided to have breakfast it was 19-50 dollars the food was cold i decided not to complain. I returned on tuesday to find my room had not been cleaned i informed the lady on reception she noted it the room still...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hedgetrim
CPG-Hotels, Reception at Willis Wellington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear hedgetrim, Thank you for your time and message. We are sorry if your recent stay did not meet your expectations. We will investigate with the Front Desk and Housekeeping Team regarding the room service as it is custom for the rooms to be serviced each day. Our kitchen staff are on hand to re-heat breakfast items when applicable and...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

They charged me extra for something which I never used. Took 3 phone calls and at least a few emails for them to get back to me with the refund. Wasted my time and was a waste of money. Would recommend to stay at another hotel. The carparks were horribly small and the room was quite outdated and needed lots...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank asd12342016
CPG-Hotels, General Manager at Willis Wellington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear asd12342016 Thank you for your time and review. We will discuss your comments with the team to ensure we keep improving our customer service. I apologize if we did not organize a refund as fast as we should have. As highlighted by the reception team please do not hesitate to contact us should you require large car parking space...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 November 2016

The staff were excellent but the room was not great. The paint work was tacky in places and most of the shower curtain hooks were missing. My main problem though was that the window blinds did not sit against the window. I arrived at 1am after a cross Tasman flight and was woken up at 6am by the sun pouring...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 911deb
CPG-Hotels, General Manager at Willis Wellington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 911deb Thank you for your time and message. We sincerely appreciate your comments about the service and the team. We are currently reviewing options to replace windows at the hotel and upgrade the blinds / curtains. We thank you for your constructive feedback that will be shared with the Management and Hotel Owner. Sincerely N Caffardo

lancashire
Reviewed 25 October 2016

Parking spaces were difficult to manoeuvre in and charged $15 per day for it. Heater broken, stained bath so didn't bother. Cleaning very poor. No wardrobes. Lock on door but no extra safety on the inside so didn't feel overly safe as travelling on my own. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Cant complain too much as paid for by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank angel_andrea
CPG-Hotels, FO at Willis Wellington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Andrea, I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay here with us. We are pleased that you were happy with the staff on duty and I hope they were able to replace the heater and offer you a room move if you were not satisfied initially. We are aware that some of our parking spaces...

Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

-Very poor parking spaces situated outside. 15nzd per night - Very old, poorly mantained looking building on the outside. - Very old, poorly maintained looking building on the inside... It kind of reminds me of a boat. Carpets in the rooms are stained, bathroom light take a long time to turn on, no closets. Queen beds are individual beds put...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Santhagor
CPG-Hotels, FO at Willis Wellington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Santhagor, Thank you for your time. We are surprised to read your comments and we encourage you to contact us in order to discuss further. Our team is professional and trained when it comes to security, lost properties, privacy, etc. We do offer Wifi complimentary and unlimited and our supplier offers a 24/7 service if any issue is encountered....

Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed for one night , which was more than enough.. Absolutely no ventilation in rooms or bathroom including no exhaust fan ! so having a shower steams the whole room out with no way to get rid of it . Very hot ! No cooling only heating in the room. Window was extremely hard to open up but once open...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chantelle W
CPG-Hotels, FO at Willis Wellington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chantelle, Thank you for sharing your concerns. It is not pleasant hearing that you didn’t enjoy your stay here with us. I apologize about the temperature of the room and I hope that the staff on duty were able to assist you by providing fans. Unfortunately despite our great location traffic noise can sometime be loud especially when the...

Clovelly, Australia
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

Despite its awkward location in the traffic, I did enjoy the challenge of parking in the tiny car park. It made all that trigonometry I learned in school seem worthwhile. A pleasant foyer and check-in experience had me in a basic room with all the essentials apart from a light for the wardrobe. It was across from the bed and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StuartNoddyWright
CPG-Hotels, FO at Willis Wellington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Stuart, We really appreciate detailed feedback such as this. We are aware that some of the parking spaces are relatively small and that the one-way traffic makes the hotel premises sometime difficult to enter; however as part of the renovation plan we are hoping to increase the amount of car spaces available to guests so more of our clientele...

102 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (79)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
1.0 km away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#15 of 46 in Wellington
596 reviews
0.7 km away
Trinity Hotel
Trinity Hotel
#27 of 46 in Wellington
445 reviews
2.5 km away
The Thorndon Hotel Wellington by Rydges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel
0.4 km away
Comfort Hotel Wellington
Comfort Hotel Wellington
#19 of 46 in Wellington
534 reviews
1.6 km away
Quest on Johnston
Quest on Johnston
#33 of 46 in Wellington
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Centrally located in the heart of the Cuba Quarter of Wellington, Leisure Inn Wellington is a short walk to local attractions, dining and shopping. Offering 90 well-appointed rooms with amenities and facilites suited for both business and leisure guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Willis Wellington Hotel

Address: 355 Willis St, Te Aro, Wellington 6001, New Zealand (Formerly Leisure Inn Wellington)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range: €70 - €135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Willis Wellington Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Willis Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Wellington Willis Street Hotel Wellington
Accor Wellington Willis Street
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Willis Wellington Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Willis Wellington Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“fold up tissue paper and ram it into the window frame to stop them rattling all night!”
 of 5 bubbles GregMNZ, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try request a high floor due to the traffic”
 of 5 bubbles wer123, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room overlooking the car park gave a good view of the city at night although you would hear some traffic noise”
 of 5 bubbles kerr78, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Single room was very small ask about larger room options”
 of 5 bubbles VisitTrenzalore, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The quieter rooms would be away from Willis Street, so on the eastern side.”
 of 5 bubbles ReubenMcC, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay