We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
22/10/2017 23/10/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Bolton Hotel Wellington

    12 Bolton Street | Lambton CBD, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
    Lowest prices for your stay
    22/10/2017 23/10/2017
     3 people are viewing this hotel
    SAVE US$23
    Traveller (290)
    Room & Suite (146)
    Dining (15)
    • Excellent58%
    • Very good30%
    • Average9%
    • Poor2%
    • Terrible1%
    Travellers talk about
    “classic suite” (26 reviews)
    “ipad mini” (16 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Breakfast Buffet
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    Room Service
    Fitness centre
    Wheelchair Access
    Business Centre
    Dry Cleaning
    Self-Serve Laundry
    5.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    22 Oct23 Oct
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    • Sleep and Go Studio
      View Deal
    • Standard Room (Sleep and Go) (Free WiFi)
      View Deal
    • Check booking site for details
      View Deal
    View all 37 deals
    Write a Review
    Reviews (1,399)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year

    1 - 5 of 1,353 reviews

    Reviewed 3 weeks ago

    It might be because of fond memories here, but this place just makes me happy. It's quaint, though with all the amenities. You'll feel right at home at Bolton, with gorgeous Manuka Honey toiletries, bath robe, comfy bed and great breakfast, if you make it....More

    1  Thank Mattia B
    Reviewed 4 weeks ago

    Checked in Monday evening at 9pm and was double booked. Went to my room and already in the room as I entered was a toilet bag and suitcase unpacked. How could this possible happen now days, only saving grace was guest was not in room...More

    Thank ciggo
    Response from HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel WellingtonResponded 4 weeks ago

    Dear Ciggo The issues you have raised are disappointing, although we try to be, we are not perfect. We made a mistake, a mistake which should not have happened. Unfortunately, at the time we did not deal with this appropriately, we will work with our...More

    Reviewed 4 weeks ago

    We stayed at the Bolton Hotel for our anniversary and it did not disappoint! Upon arrival we were greeted by friendly staff who checked us in and gave us the information needed for our stay, we were happy to hear of the 2 large TV’s...More

    Thank Hannah R
    Response from HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel WellingtonResponded 3 weeks ago

    You certainly enjoyed a very full experience of our hotel, our facilities and friendly staff. Thank you for your excellent review, I was also very pleased to note you enjoyed our restaurant and room service. Warwick Angus

    Reviewed 5 weeks ago

    This is an independent hotel with an outstanding approach to guest service. We had a problem with our room's thermostat's keeping the room too hot. This was a technical problem that required an expert technician. Mr. Malthus checked on the problem, told us the timeline...More

    Thank Billykuerten
    Response from HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel WellingtonResponded 3 weeks ago

    Dear Billy Thank you for your excellent review, it was a pleasure to read. I was delighted to see your acknowledgement of Mathias and our approach to guest service. Warwick Angus

    Reviewed 21 August 2017

    Nice property! Well run and very well situated. We stayed in a 1-room suite with a separate living room and kitchenette. Extra bonus: our suite had a laundry machine and I was able to get a couple loads done before we hit the road. Would...More

    Thank adamtheglobal
    Response from HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel WellingtonResponded 4 weeks ago

    Dear Adam Thank you for your excellent review I was pleased to note you enjoyed one of our One Bedroom Suites and the in-room facilities. Warwick Angus

    InterContinental Wellington
    1,468 reviews
    #2 of 46 hotels in Wellington
    Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
    1,502 reviews
    #4 of 46 hotels in Wellington
    QT Museum Wellington
    1,642 reviews
    #5 of 46 hotels in Wellington
    ibis Wellington
    2,175 reviews
    #17 of 46 hotels in Wellington
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Top amenities
    • Room Service
    • Restaurant
    • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Pool
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Room Service
    • Dry Cleaning
    • Meeting Rooms
    • Laundry Service
    • Concierge
    • Self-Serve Laundry
    • Business Centre with Internet Access
    • Banquet Room
    • Multilingual Staff
    • Conference Facilities
    • Breakfast Available
    • Things to do
    • Restaurant
    • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Heated pool
    • Indoor pool
    • Pool
    • Price range
    • US$136 - US$283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Hotel Style
    • #2 Family Hotel in Wellington
    • #3 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
    • #3 Business Hotel in Wellington
    • #4 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
    • Room types
    • Kitchenette ,
    • Suites ,
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 139
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bolton Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • New Zealand >
    • North Island >
    • Greater Wellington >
    • Wellington
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (290)
    Room & Suite (146)
    Dining (15)
    Pool & Beach (4)
    Hotel & Grounds (122)
    Bathroom (41)
    Family and Play Areas (1)
    ibis Wellington
    2,175 reviews
    .53 km away
    QT Museum Wellington
    1,642 reviews
    1.54 km away
    InterContinental Wellington
    1,468 reviews
    .61 km away
    Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
    1,502 reviews
    1.75 km away
    Nearby Restaurants
    The Old Bailey
    145 reviews
    .15 km away
    Artisan Dining House
    115 reviews
    .02 km away
    Bethel Woods
    67 reviews
    .20 km away
    Seize Cafe
    47 reviews
    .20 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Parliament Buildings
    1,371 reviews
    .22 km away
    Bolton Street Cemetery
    139 reviews
    .25 km away
    Old Government Buildings
    91 reviews
    .35 km away
    Wellington Cathedral of St. Paul
    72 reviews
    .40 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    24 April 2017|
    AnswerShow all 11 answers
    Response from LucyKate | Reviewed this property |
    $30 a day valet parking, but we stayed across a weekend and mostly avoided this by leaving it on the metered parking in the street outside. This was free overnight, but did mean either feeding the meter by 9am or moving the... More
    8 February 2017|
    AnswerShow all 3 answers
    Response from Artisan23 | Property representative |
    Good morning Lizlam, You have a few options to choose from 1. Airport flyer bus which takes roughly 40-45 minutes and will departs Lambton Quay stop which is about 500 metres from the hotel and costs $9 per person. 2... More
    Aimee B
    5 November 2016|
    AnswerShow all 7 answers
    Response from johndavewarren | Reviewed this property |
    I doubt that you could park your van in the hotel but I am sure they could advise you where you could park it nearby
    Room Tips
    "Stay elsewhere."
    Read review
    "Rooms on higher levels have far better views across city and landscape."
    Read review
    "Upper floor"
    Read review
    "I would book a suite for comfort and space."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing