We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Cambridge Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Cambridge Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

651 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Cambridge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 608: English reviews
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed for 2nights at this hotel. The staff are friendly helpful and happy. The breakfast is so good. Bacon eggs and hash browns I had. Was really nice. Shower is great pressure. Rooms are good. Only thing is noisy. I was on first floor and can hear music from bar. And outside noise really clearly. I was facing Cambridge Terrace....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank funchick37
MightyCambridge, Manager at The Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Hi funchick37, Thank you for taking the time to leave review the Cambridge Hotel, and for your lovely comments.We’re glad to read that you enjoyed the facilities, and found the staff to be friendly and helpful during your recent stay with us. It’s unfortunate that the outside noise affected your stay with us. We have a great central location, which...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 November 2016

The Cambridge has a wide range of rooms and a top location, just up the road from Te Papa, with the Embassy opposite. Shops & restaurants are within easy walking distance as well. I stayed in a very comfortable single room on the second floor, with lovely high ceilings & a big sash window. The centrally located Bistro had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lynz316
MightyCambridge, Manager at The Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Lyn, First of all we’d like to extend a warm thank you for taking the time to review Cambridge Hotel on TripAdvisor. We’re glad to read that you had a comfortable stay with us and enjoyed our great central location and the facilities of the hotel. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding the staff. We pride ourselves on...

Reviewed 1 November 2016

Right at the top of Courtney Place and close to Te Papa, the waterfront and dozens of amazing restaurants this is one of the nicest and probably cheapest hotels I have stayed in when visiting Wellington. I chose this hotel purely on price as I figure you are only sleeping there so why pay the earth? and I was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon H
MightyCambridge, Manager at The Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Simon, Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Cambridge Hotel. We’re glad to read that you enjoyed the services provided by our team. I will pass on your lovely comments. We have a great central location, which makes the Cambridge Hotel a perfect base for exploring the attractions....

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

If you are looking for a good centrally located hotel / pub in Wellington look no further. The rooms are very reasonably priced, always cleaned by a fantastic staff. The bistro offers good food available all day and there are always specials on offer. I have stayed here many times and will always come back when I need to visit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alienzoo
MightyCambridge, Manager at The Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, First of all we’d like to extend a very warm thank you for taking the time to review Cambridge Hotel on TripAdvisor. Thank you for your lovely comments about our housekeeping staff, I will be sure to pass this on to Rose and the team. They take great pride in the their work, and will be delighted to hear...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 25 October 2016

The amenities were good, I had an ensuite room, which was serviced each day.The hotel has a $3 breakfast and meals are available all day served either in the bar or in the restaurant.. The hotel is close to all amenities and around the corner from Courtney Place. Being an older hotel it has managed to keep the early era...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank t0nyb36
MightyCambridge, Manager at The Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, First of all we’d like to extend a warm thank you for taking the time to review Cambridge Hotel on TripAdvisor. We’re glad to read that you enjoyed the amenities and facilities of our historic hotel. I am very sorry to hear that you did not receive your early morning wake-up call. I will definitely be following up with...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

Good old pub with history. Rooms are fairly clean. Interesting to have a bathroom sink in the room next to the bed. Not great position for some of the rooms being above the kitchen with the fan going, can be quite loud. But the noise from the customers in the pub below was not that bad. And although the facilities...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rhea-Dew
MightyCambridge, Manager at The Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Rhea-Dew, Thank you for for taking the time to leave a review of Cambridge Hotel on Trip Advisor. We are proud of our historic building, and have kept the original room layout to reflect the heritage of the hotel. This sometimes means that bathrooms and fittings are not always in places that would now imagine them to be! I...

Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed one night before taking the ferry to the south island. The hotel is decorated with old furniture which gives it a unique style and makes u feel u traveled 100 years back in time. Rooms are clean stuff is friendly, bars and restaurants are in close walking distance.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patrickfromchina
MightyCambridge, Manager at The Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Patrick, First of all we’d like to extend a warm thank you for taking the time to review Cambridge Hotel on TripAdvisor. We’re glad to read that you enjoyed the unique and historical building. We pride ourselves on reflecting the heritage and history of the hotel. It's lovely to hear that you found the rooms clean during your stay...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 October 2016

My room was not like the photos. Plaster was flaking off the wall, leaving holes in the wall. I cleaned it off the floor myself, as the flakes hadn't been vacuumed up. I didn't use the jug, as it was dirty inside. Very noisy. The website mentions weekend noise from the bar, but this was mid-week, so I wasn't expecting...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chris212013
MightyCambridge, Manager at The Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Chris, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. I am very disappointed to read about the maintenance issues you experienced during your stay, and wish we had the opportunity to rectify these matters while you were at the hotel. I would be grateful if you could provide us with your...

Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

If you're looking for a pub feed and a beer, then this will do the job. Meals are very reasonably priced for the size, however it's not amazing and scrumptious - pub food! If I had to recommend something for the bloke, it would be the ribs stack. Hearty and is sure to fill the gap, leaving room for an...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Josh E
Whitianga, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Good room, own ensuite. Servicing of the room a bit hit and miss, not enough towels and no tea or milk replaced at times. A little noisy through the night with the communal bathroom entry right beside our door. Lovely old stained glass windows and excellent food. Easy to walk to all the places we wanted to go to.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kathrynmW6061TA
MightyCambridge, Manager at The Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Kathrnyn, First of all we’d like to extend a warm thank you for taking the time to review Cambridge Hotel on TripAdvisor. We’re glad to read that you enjoyed the historical features, tasty meals and great central location. We're sorry to hear that the servicing of the room affected your stay with us. It is unfortunate, that we did...

96 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (79)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
1.3 km away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,069 reviews
1.2 km away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#15 of 46 in Wellington
2,474 reviews
0.5 km away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Comfort Hotel Wellington
Comfort Hotel Wellington
#20 of 46 in Wellington
582 reviews
1.3 km away
InterContinental Wellington
1.0 km away
Willis Wellington Hotel
Willis Wellington Hotel
#45 of 46 in Wellington
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Beautiful heritage building.Immensely popular for our value accommodation and our central location in the heart of the city. From traditional rooms upstairs, to state of the art backpacker facilities.Come, join us in the bar for a free kiwi BBQ every Wednesday,or our fab menus with breaky starting from only $3 for eggs on toast! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Cambridge Hotel

Address: 28 Cambridge Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range: €19 - €97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Cambridge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cambridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Hotel Wellington
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Wellington
#15 Business Hotel in Wellington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Cambridge Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Cambridge Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“106 has a dodgy door handle in the bathroom :)”
tessacai, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If you require lots of sleep or are a light sleeper I recommend a room not facing the street. ”
10ScottM, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Only one hour in 24 hours for the free wifi but nearly all the bars around had passwords to give you for free wifi”
KateFife_Scotland, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a quiet room....”
433josephl, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“check what rooms they ahev wehn you make your booking. Not sure how many private rooms they now have.”
jOnathOn49_19, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5