We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Richmond Guest House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Richmond Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

306 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 285: English reviews
Blenheim, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for one night. Room was clean and tidy. Basic facilities but all you need if not planning on spending much time there. Free breakfast was perfect. We had choice of tea, coffee, hot chocolate, juice, toast with spreads, and lots of different types of cereals. Free Car park was greatly appreciated. The service was very friendly. The only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosieej
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We spent a week at Richmond guest house. Everybody was kind and made us feel like at home. The hotel is located 20 minutes far from the city center and has all facilities. Very good breakfast, laundry service, fresh towels every day and free newspaper. A particular thanks to Rose for her kindness. Totally recommended!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Isotta B
Stuttgart, Germany
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Room was nice and clean as was the whole guest house. John the owner was very friendly, helpful and chatty. Simple continental breakfast in the morning. Price matched my expectations. If you're looking for luxury, this isn't your place. If you're looking for a simple, clean place to stay, then this is your place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paward
Castle Hill, Australia
Reviewed 9 November 2016

Slightly dated decor, and defiantly not high end accommodation but for the price is ok for an overnight stopover. The fan in the bathroom needs a good clean, the level of dust and grime on it its not been touched in months, if at all this year. The room could do with one less piece of furniture in it, no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank steve b
johno116, Owner at Richmond Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Steve , Well i replied to your other reviews so i guess i should reply to this to', I see by your other reviews that you are quote a Luxury Traveler and have stayed in some beautiful hotels around the world , Question'' so then why do you pay $72 bed and breakfast for a night and stay at...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 16 October 2016

I booked a twin bed room for two nights for my brother (who was visiting from UK0 and myself. On arrival at about 8.00pm we had the look of "What are you doing here" from the owner. He had double booked our room. He told us that he had sent me an email telling me he had made a mistake,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank OrewaBrian
johno116, Manager at Richmond Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Brian ,well firstly i must explain what i do when folk make a booking''as you did i mail them back explaining the cost of the room and tell them that if they want to make a booking to send me a deposit , folk send mail every day and folk make phone inquires every day , but an actual...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 15 October 2016

My partner and I just stayed here for one night. Lovely room, super comfy bed, decent size, and nicely heated. Total bonus to have some evening sunshine pour in and illuminate the lovely colours. Towels and soap provided. The breakfast was simple (cereals, toasts, spreads etc) but just what we wanted, and needed. The best thing was the lovely host...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 620venusv
New Plymouth City, Taranaki, New Zealand
Reviewed 10 October 2016

We love staying at Richmond Guest House .. we found our host John very helpful, friendly, and a great sense of humour !! Why go anywhere else when we have 'Home Away from Home' .. very reasonably priced .. superb breakfast .. every cereal too acomodate every persons palette ..ranging from Weight Watchers.. Gluten Free .. High Fibre .. brown/white...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raewyn L
Dunedin
Reviewed 8 October 2016

I am very confused. This is the first time that I have had a strange experience after making choices based on Trip Advisor reviews. The room was basic but fine. The breakfast basic but fine, with a great range of muesli to choose from. The location is great if you want to walk in to Te Papa etc. But we...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Carolyne47
Reviewed 1 October 2016

From the welcome by John, our host, through to the farewells we have found this accommodation to be great. I stayed with my mother in one of the twin rooms. The room was spacious, clean and warm. John was a fountain of information with good local insight into attractions and travel. The guest house was full while we were there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Juliet L
Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 23 September 2016

This place will be a place that you will remember for the rest of your life once you live here (in terms of the most terrible place you will ever stay). Firstly, i've never wrote a review for hotels or motels in my life before. But this time i think i really have to. I have been to 10 different...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank xpress3000
johno116, Owner at Richmond Guest House, responded to this review

Yes my friend as you walked through my doorway i did mention to you that the Richmond as advertised have a policy of no one under 17 staying and i also mentioned that the property was 100% non smoking as any non smoker could smell you several metres away and you were holding your 16 month old baby Both these...

63 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.5 km away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
620 reviews
1.8 km away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,021 reviews
1.7 km away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#14 of 46 in Wellington
2,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
673 reviews
0.8 km away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#8 of 46 in Wellington
1,480 reviews
1.7 km away
InterContinental Wellington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Richmond Guest House is a lovely 19th century eleven room villa less than 1 km from Courtenay Place and Wellington City Business District (CBD). The Richmond has recently been refurbished and has all its' original features including beautiful ornate plaster ceilings and cornices throughout. Restored to it's former grandeur, we have eleven freshly renovated rooms, single, double, twin and triple all of which have there own bathrooms plus hairdryers, radio alarms and newspapers delivered to rooms daily. Free, varied, continental breakfast is included with all rooms. There is a communal kitchen where guests can prepare their own meals with a connecting dining room where complimentary tea, coffee and hot chocolate is always available. Plus we have a computer set up in the dining room for free internet use and there is free WiFi throughout the building as well. We also have a TV lounge where you can relax, and free laundry use is available. If you have a car, you can easily park for free in the street in front of the guest house (we will provide you a resident card). We are a 100% non-smoking property (and we don't encourage smokers !) and not suitable for children. Check in time is from 11 a.m. until 10 p.m. The bus number 2 stops up the street, and we are on the shuttle bus route and within a 10 minute drive to the Airport, Rail, and Inter-island Ferry (Approximately $25 for two from airport and ferry). To quote your host John Cairns, "We don't claim to be the Hilton, but if you are traveling to Wellington for business or pleasure, for one night or ten, we offer clean, well located and comfortable accommodation at an affordable price." So next time you are in Wellington pay us a visit - Your Home Away From Home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Richmond Guest House

Address: 116 Brougham Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range: €62 - €95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Richmond Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Richmond Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Guest House Hotel Wellington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Richmond Guest House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Richmond Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay out of the basement”
 of 5 bubbles stevebR2291HA, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms towards the back of the building are closer to the kitchen/dining room so may be woken up early-ish although we didn't mind.”
 of 5 bubbles 620venusv, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“rooms away from room are quiter”
 of 5 bubbles , 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“I did not choose the room, but i was totally surprised by the room I got. Feels like I am at home.”
 of 5 bubbles Deicidal, 9 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Great new Studio: sleeps 4, large flat screen, fridge, kettle, fresh carpet + beautiful new bathroom. Beautiful!”
 of 5 bubbles alexandremL8768UY, 19 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5