We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

West Plaza Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
West Plaza Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

389 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for West Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 366: English reviews
Nelson, Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewed 16 September 2015

A bit pricey for the standard of room and amenities provided in the room. Shower was awful and very noisy with rubbish trucks early in the morning. Location was fantastic and very handy to everything. Service was also good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fiona B
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for you positive comments about the location of the hotel and the service you received, we agree we have one of the best locations in the city. I am sorry you were woken by the street noises, unfortunately these are hard for us to control. I was also disappointed to hear about your shower and will need to follow...

Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 15 September 2015

This hotel looks very impressive when you arrive at reception, however upstairs in the rooms it is a different story. Very dated fit out, all a bit odd. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom basic but fine. The rooms are not very soundproof with my neighbours alarm waking me up. The breakfast buffet is terrible, lovely service but way...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CatherineNZ101
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments we are a mid-range value for money accommodation option in the heart in of Wellington, it was great to hear you liked our reception area. We have a full refurbishment of our guest rooms planned to be completed by January 2016. I was sorry to hear you breakfast was not up to our usual standard and...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 13 September 2015 via mobile

My wife and I stayed the weekend, two nights The hotel is in the centre of the city, has good undercover secure car parking Our deal included buffet breakfast which was fine , staff very attentive and pleasant Our room was satisfactory, a little bit tired but perfectly adequate and tidy There is a heater in the room but the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David753
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments we are a mid-range value for money accommodation option in the heart in of Wellington, it was great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We have a full refurbishment of our guest rooms planned to be completed by January 2016. I was sorry to hear your feedback about the bathroom ceiling and I will...

Auckland
Reviewed 13 September 2015

This is not a hotel to rave over, It is clean and comfortable which is a basic requirement. It is a mid priced hotel so cannot expect more. The locality is very central and close to the Harbour and shops. We had breakfast included and that was good but a little limited in choice. I did object to being told...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dayslong
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments, it’s always nice to hear when we have been a value for money accommodation with a great location. I will speak with Front Office as you are right it should be clearly displayed on the reservation confirmation and all booking websites. I apologise that this wasn’t clear for you. Thanks for your comments they help us...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 3 September 2015

I have stayed in better hotels, but it was clean and comfortable - pretty much all you could ask for really. Only a short walk to attractions such as Te Papa museum, Cuba Mall and Courtney Place. I honestly couldn't fault it. The food at breakfast was delicious (though we had a bit of a mix up with that -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jayjaymite
Bay of Plenty
Reviewed 1 September 2015

I had a basic room. It was very clean but also very dated. The fridge was the oldest I've ever seen. I was at the back of the hotel on a Saturday night and had no problems with outside noise but could hear the person in the room next to me snoring. Bring earplugs and you'll be fine!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shhhhh8
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments about the standard of cleanliness at the hotel. This year we have a refurbishment of our accommodation rooms planned and is due to start in December 2015. We look forward to seeing you at the hotel again soon. Kind Regards, Julie Wilcock - GM

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 7 August 2015

From time to time we stay overnight in Wellington City, rather than driving home, so we can enjoy a few drinks. Usually we stay at the Ibis, which we find convenient and good value. But we had a special deal for the West Plaza and thought we'd be getting something a bit more upmarket than the Ibis. It wasn't. Location...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TimSWellington
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks or your feedback. We are a mid - range value for money accommodation option in the centre of the city. We are refurbishing all of our guest rooms at the end of 2015. The package you chose did not include Wi-Fi, though we do offer a range a packages with inclusions ranging from Wi-Fi, breakfast and even car parking....

Reviewed 1 August 2015 via mobile

I head to Wellington on business a lot. I have tried a few hotels in the average price range out. My pick currently is the West Plaza. I like the size of the rooms and the pleasant decor. The heating is great and the shower good. Downstairs there is a cosy bar and the restaurant actually serves good food. I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank andiejdouglas
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your feedback it’s great to hear such a positive review, we are a mid-range value for money accommodation option in the centre on Wellington CBD and your comment will help others to choose our hotel when in Wellington. This year we have a refurbishment of our accommodation rooms planned and id due to start in December...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 27 July 2015

Central location, clean quality linen, friendly helpful staff, perfectly cooked breakfast - and all for a great price. I had requested twin beds and a room away from the road but they went one better and gave us a queen and single beds. We had the perfect night's sleep. West Plaza is now my 'go-to' hotel in Wellington!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bonbaffy
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your positive comments, we appreciate you taking the time to leave them. We hope to see you again soon. Regards, Julie Wilcock - GM

Harstad, Norway
Reviewed 22 July 2015 via mobile

Stayed a couple of nights on a trip to watch a football match and go out on town. A mate and I got a double room in a last minute deal. The hotel may be a little tired in appearance but it offers good value in a central location. Just what we needed and we had a great time, within...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank seadragon99

48 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.6 km away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
1,945 reviews
0.4 km away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#13 of 46 in Wellington
2,288 reviews
0.2 km away
Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel
0.3 km away
Amora Hotel Wellington
Amora Hotel Wellington
#9 of 46 in Wellington
1,100 reviews
0.6 km away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In the heart of Wellington city opposite the Town Hall and Convention Centre; West Plaza Hotel offers a welcoming friendly atmosphere with 102 spacious and comfortable rooms. A short drive from the airport and ferry terminals and just a short walk to the national Museum Te Papa, the waterfront and the best shops, restaurants and entertainment the capital has to offer. Providing everything required to make your stay a comfortable and relaxed experience. Facilities include on-site car parking, 24 hour room service, flat rate wireless broadband access, tea/coffee making facilities, Sky TV and much more. Choose from 102 rooms - a combination of twins and doubles, including 6 suites.With large windows looking out to the hustle and bustle of the city. City Dining & Bar offers fresh New Zealand cuisine and a selection of boutique New Zealand wines.Choose from four versatile conference rooms; full catering, audio- visual equipment and presentation facilities are available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about West Plaza Hotel

Address: 110 Wakefield St, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range: €79 - €194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — West Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your West Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Plaza Wellington
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from West Plaza Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from West Plaza Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for room at the back of the building, quieter...and check trip advisor! Hotel reduced price for me due to trip advisor email!”
 of 5 bubbles Roitacop, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't worry about the views..you are so close to the happenings in the city around you...and quiet too!!!”
 of 5 bubbles guggetravel, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 502 has lovely sun first thing in the morning.”
 of 5 bubbles PatriciaJoy, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay here”
 of 5 bubbles JanetteH484, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“No real difference where you book the room I stayed in was quite and good blackout curtains, a must for my wife.”
 of 5 bubbles davidrT1825DP, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay