We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Museum Art Hotel Wellington

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Museum Art Hotel Wellington
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,445 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,387: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Yes the location is great and the art is interesting. But the hotel seems to be distracted by a change of ownership. We were 'upgraded' to a utilitarian apartment from a harbour view room with balcony. It was clear that the balcony rooms were out of use. One explanation given was refurbishment due to new owner. The other given was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mikecY6510AR
Timmins, Canada
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

You can't tell that they moved it here on wheels! It's a great boutique style? hotel. Very comfortable , well appointed rooms. Lots of interesting art work everywhere. Great central location & friendly helpful staff. Recommended!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Barry L
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Other reviews will tell of the remarkable art collection I this hotel. I can add that the facilities in the room were first class: big, firm, comfortable bed, well-fitted galley kitchen, FREE internet in the room and the biggest bath I've seen for a long time. AND one small thing greatly appreciated by someone who wears glasses: labels on shampoo...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 654GregP654
Switzerland
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed in an apartment room, which was a great choice for us as it had a fully equipped kitchenette, dishwasher, and washer/dryer! This was great for us as we were on a 3 week+ trip, so the opportunity to each food we cooked ourselves and to do laundry was fantastic! The decor was really cool and everything was clean....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 337alliep
Canberra
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

What an incredible hotel. If you like being surrounded by art, this is your place. It's so unique with the bar and reception blending into one. Everytime you enter or leave the hotel you'll see something you hadn't noticed before. We had booked a room with water views but unfortunately the renovations hadn't finished before we arrived so they upgraded...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Narra72
Museum_Art_Hotel_NZ, Public Relations Manager at Museum Art Hotel Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Narra72, Thank you, thank you for your kind words! We love hearing that guests enjoy and embrace our unique style. We are very lucky to have a vast variety of Wellington's offerings on our doorstep! See you again soon, Chris

West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

I guess this place was great in its early days, however I question the dark design as found it difficult to read signs especially in the lifts. I understand it was independent until sold to QT a year go and is currently undergoing refurbishment which is not ideal for paying customers! We checked in and reception experience perfect. Our harbour...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yorkshire1245
Museum_Art_Hotel_NZ, Public Relations Manager at Museum Art Hotel Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Yorkshire1245, Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We're disappointed to hear that your suite was not your cup of tea. We are going through some very exciting refurbishments as we become the first QT Hotel in New Zealand, however QT's style and charm does require a wee bit of patience! We hope we can welcome you...

Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

My husband and I have stayed here numerous times and the staff have been wonderful every time. The location is great we pretty much walked everywhere. The facilities are great and very clean. Thanks for another fab stay !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Di L
Museum_Art_Hotel_NZ, Public Relations Manager at Museum Art Hotel Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Di L, Thank you for your sharing your recent experience with us. It's wonderful to hear our staff could help make your stay extra special! We look forward to welcoming you back for future stays. Kind regards, Chris

California
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Perfect location close to waterfront and right across the street from the museum. Good restaurant and good staff. Five minute drive from the Picton Ferry so if you're heading over to Nelson and Abel Tasman it's very convenient.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oyeah2015
Museum_Art_Hotel_NZ, Public Relations Manager at Museum Art Hotel Wellington, responded to this review

Dear oyeah2015, Thank you for your lovely review - we hope you were able to explore all of Wellington on our doorstep! Kind regards, Chris

Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Checked in for a high end room with a balcony with a view of the Harbor. But due to "renovations", not avaiable. Was provide an apartment with a view of a garage being torn down, and no balcony. They provide an "accommodation" of $10/bottle Champagne that I wouldn't have drank in College. Then proceeded to bring someone else's luggage to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
Museum_Art_Hotel_NZ, Public Relations Manager at Museum Art Hotel Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Michael P, We're disappointed to hear your recent stay with us contained some hiccups. Unfortunately, some things such as the view of the carpark demolition is out of our control, however we do apologies for confusion over bags - we can't always be perfect! We're sorry to hear you'll be missing out on QT Museum Wellington. Kind regards, Chris

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We are locals but booked three rooms for ourselves and extended family to celebrate our son's birthday. The location is fabulous near Te Papa, the waterfront and many restaurants. Our room was an executive two bedroom suite for our family of four with two kids, and for the elder generation we had an executive studio with sea views and an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sellarz
Museum_Art_Hotel_NZ, Public Relations Manager at Museum Art Hotel Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Sellarz, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We hope you made the most of our handy location and sea views! We'll be New Zealand's QT Hotel and many of your comment will be addressed. We look forward to welcoming you back for many more staycations! Best regards, Chris

477 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (455)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (119)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (99)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (160)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
1.5 km away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,289 reviews
0.9 km away
InterContinental Wellington
0.2 km away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
1,677 reviews
0.4 km away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.3 km away
Amora Hotel Wellington
Amora Hotel Wellington
#8 of 46 in Wellington
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Museum Art Hotel is New Zealand's most admired design hotel. Located on Wellington’s waterfront, it boasts a comprehensive collection of contemporary art, putting in it in the world’s top ten of this genre. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Museum Art Hotel Wellington

Address: 90 Cable Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range: €138 - €258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Museum Art Hotel Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Museum Art Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Hotel Wellington
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Wellington
#5 Family Hotel in Wellington
#7 Business Hotel in Wellington
#7 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#8 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Museum Art Hotel Wellington staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Longmont
1 month ago
Canberra, Australia
6 months ago
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Amelia Island, FL
2 months ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Museum Art Hotel Wellington staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you're on a long trip, make sure to get an apartment room, which has a kitchenette, dishwasher, and washer/dryer!”
 of 5 bubbles 337alliep, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I think the rooms facing the water would be the best, they've just been renovated too.”
 of 5 bubbles Narra72, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Call ahead to be sure your balcony room with a Harbor view is available, or Cancel, they are not accommodating upon arrival.”
 of 5 bubbles P1781CJmichaelp, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Hope for the upgrade.”
 of 5 bubbles fromdenver, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“6th floor and higher have water views”
 of 5 bubbles Gardener6548, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay