We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ohtel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Ohtel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

365 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ohtel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 348: English reviews
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The staff are welcoming and go the extra mile to make your stay great. We paid extra for a bigger room with a bath and it was worth the additional expense. Great view out over the park and harbour from our little balcony. The room is fantastic and very unique with a NZ feel with all the paintings and artwork.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank TravelLoverNZx
Alan_from_Ohtel, Owner at Ohtel, responded to this review

Hi Travel Lover, Thanks so much for taking the time to tell others about my little place - I'm really pleased you were well looked after. Looking forward to having you back in Wellington again soon ! Alan More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Came here for my fiancée's birthday weekend in Wellington. It's right on the waterfront. We stayed in one of the suites, which was really nicely decorated. The bed was wonderfully comfortable and the bath and shower were excellent.

Helpful?
Thank Jake F
Alan_from_Ohtel, Owner at Ohtel, responded to this review

Hi Jake, Thanks for your review - I'm glad you enjoyed Ohtel. Please pass on my belated best wishes to your fiancée for her birthday. Regards Alan More 

Moraira, Spain
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in April when it poured with rain so we sadly didn't get to see much of Wellington at all! Check in was friendly and we were upgraded which was a lovely surprise. Our room was fairly large and decorated in a unique and individual 'scandinavian' style, and we had a view over the harbour... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank josefa68
Alan_from_Ohtel, Owner at Ohtel, responded to this review

Thanks for your detailed review Josefa. Sounds as though you 'got' our set-up here and enjoyed the proximity of the hotel. As you say, we have a unique product in Wellington, so if you are looking to avoid big chain corporate monotony, Ohtel is for you ! Alan More 

Bridgetown, Barbados
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Ohtel is really well located and the rooms are nice. Our real complaint is with the bathrooms. I'm not sure what is with this new design fad to have glass like walls separating the bathroom from the rest of the room and a cloth 'door' that you can pull to cover the door area. I asked if any other rooms... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank WITravellingDiva
Alan_from_Ohtel, Owner at Ohtel, responded to this review

Hi Diva, I'm sorry that you were surprised by the bathroom design. We have tried to make it as obvious as we can through photos and room descriptions what the set-up is here. Glad your stay was fine otherwise. Alan More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

We only had one night here but loved it. Staff were very friendly and extremely helpful, the rooms were brilliant - interior design very cool and everything we could possibly need was available - and the location excellent. Highly recommend!

Helpful?
1 Thank Al and Fin T
Alan_from_Ohtel, Owner at Ohtel, responded to this review

Hi Al and Fin, Great to have you stay with us. Thanks for the positive feedback. Alan More 

Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Super friendly, helpful staff, not snobby or pretentious and OH so handy :) Lovely two person bath, Awesome mini bar selection of treats and goodies (loved the pinot noir), retro kiwiana themed decor and a darling cafe to boot. Parking service was no problem, wifi on, and our little balcony was all we needed to catch a glimpse of the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sal S
Alan_from_Ohtel, Owner at Ohtel, responded to this review

Hi Sal, Thanks for the review... Wind ? Put it this way, we never have a smog problem here ! Glad you found the great 'half' bottles of New Zealand wine we put in the minibar for you to enjoy. See you soon ! Alan More 

Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Great place to stay the location as others have suggested was fabulous. The premises and rooms were extremely clean, the beds were comfortable and the service was outstanding. I would definitely stay there again and would definitely recommend to friends

Helpful?
1 Thank Filo136
Alan_from_Ohtel, Owner at Ohtel, responded to this review

Filo... what a fabulous endorsement - Thanks so much !! Alan More 

Renton, WA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Ohtel is really very well situated in the city. Near Oriental Parade, and an easy 5 minute walk to the great museum and all the other attractions on the waterfront. Also a very easy access to hiking up Mount Victoria. The hotel was designed by an architect and it is very nicely appointed. I had a small room that did... More 

Helpful?
Thank Punkeelarousse
Alan_from_Ohtel, Owner at Ohtel, responded to this review

Hi Punkeelarousse, Glad you enjoyed the location of my place. The smaller bathrooms are a little light on shelf space, I have put up a few extra towel hooks though where I can. I just upgraded the televisions not long before you stayed. The sets were supposed to be Wi-Fi enabled with all sorts of add-ons including the ability to... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
296 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The hotel is well located but a bit hard to spot (the entrance is very small). We had booked a Deluxe room (one of the cheaper options), but were pleasantly surprised upon entering. It was quite spacious and I liked the retro design. There were some very comfy chairs within the room as well as nice thick carpets. The minibar... More 

Helpful?
Thank ishan23
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Staying here for my recent three-day business trip, I thoroughly enjoyed Ohtel's friendly service, Scandinavian decor, harbourside location, continental breakfast, strong espresso, free wifi and visually unique charm. Some might criticise their small fitness room; then again, there's a beautiful harbour right across the street for you to run along!

Helpful?
1 Thank phofmann
Alan_from_Ohtel, Owner at Ohtel, responded to this review

Good to have you stay - and it was a toss-up whether to put in that small gym.. As you say, there is the waterfront as well as Freyberg Pool and Fitness Centre nearby. Hope to see you back soon ! Alan More 

84 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (61)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
1:54
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.3 km away
Museum Art Hotel Wellington
0.5 km away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
644 reviews
1.7 km away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
InterContinental Wellington
0.1 km away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.6 km away
Amora Hotel Wellington
Amora Hotel Wellington
#9 of 46 in Wellington
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ohtel's exclusive seaside location provides stunning views over Waitangi Park, Te Papa and the Inner harbour. Run by the owner and a select group of friendly, unpretentious staff, Ohtel provides convenience and luxury with an eco-friendly conscience. Experience contemporary New Zealand design, coupled with original "mid-century" furnishings throughout the lobby and ten spacious suites. Enjoy regionally sourced, gourmet food and beverages in room, or in our intimate lobby. Ohtel, sophisticated urban chic. Free Wi-Fi & local calls, King-sized beds, 55+ Sky channels, air-con, solar hot water... ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ohtel

Address: 66 oriental Parade | Oriental Bay, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range: €175 - €338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ohtel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Ohtel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohtel Hotel Wellington
Design Hotel Wellington
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Wellington
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#12 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#15 Family Hotel in Wellington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ohtel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Ohtel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a Hot-Tub!”
 of 5 bubbles , 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The rooms facing the street are amazing - great views of a bustling city, the sea, and Te Papa, the iconic national museum.”
 of 5 bubbles paulanz, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get one that faces the front!”
 of 5 bubbles JJLuvsHotels, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the front of the building have wonderful sunshine and view to the park, the harbour.”
 of 5 bubbles Sjal68, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are great from what I could see.”
 of 5 bubbles j9herathome, 7 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay