We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Quest on Durham

Hotels.comUS$116
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$116*
US$116*
US$116*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

122 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Quest on Durham
See the most recent reviews
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 October 2016

Service excellent - Room Excellent - Spotlessly Clean - Rooms Serviced Daily - Helpful Staff - Excellent Location - Plenty of Restaurants Around - Stayed there about 2 years ago - again another excellent stay - totally recommend - my husband one child in a big studio unit with kitchen facilities - washing/dryer machine. Totally recommend - Well done again...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AmandaJP1970
Quest T, Manager at Quest on Durham, responded to this review

Thanks for the review we appreciate you taking your time to make it. Cheers

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

What a great place to stay spoiled by cheap beds. Rooms are very large. Bedroom separated by sliding doors. When you are on business you want to stay in a place where sleep is easy to come by and the lack of quality mattresses really let's this place down. The fridge is loud and next to the bed - tip...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue485
Quest T, Manager at Quest on Durham, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review. Unfortunately beds are very subjective as are noises from appliances etc. One persons heaven is another persons hell so, sorry this bed didn't meet your needs. Cheers

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 September 2016

The staff HAD VERY poor customer service. I was also discriminated against for getting a good deal on the cost of the room, for being young, having tattoos and for having a bottle of champagne with me. Upon checking in my friend (who was just dropping me off as I had come from the airport) and I were pulled into...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sofie326
Quest T, Manager at Quest on Durham, responded to this review

Thanks for the review but unfortunately a number of issues meant you couldn't stay, so things did not go well for either of us.

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 September 2016

We booked Quest Tauranga at short notice on our trip around NZ as we passed down through the North Island. We were travelling as a family and were very pleasantly surprise with the quality of accommodation. We booked a family suite, which was massive in size. Had all the amenities you need in a self-service apartment, including a washing machine/dryer,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Owen B
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

I was a bit hesitant to stay here after reading some of the reviews however for me they were unfounded. We had Apartment 13. There was a full bathroom, kitchen & laundry facilities. Our check in man (starts with K) was awesome and very accommodating of our needs. Although there is no housekeeping on the weekends the housekeepers still came...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shangel
Reviewed 1 August 2016

We had a little studio style room with kitchen area and two rooms. Perfect for me and the family. I would have preferred to have a bath as well as a shower for the little ones. The hotel is very nicely located within walking distance to the main street and we enjoyed our time there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheTravellingSaffa
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Hotel in a central position, within walking distance to restaurants & waterfront. The mature aged lady at reception needs a lesson in how to be friendly & courteous, and put a smile on her face, she was not at all welcoming. Room average, & the spa has been ripped out,, sign covered up, but still in room directory. The male...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lyn G
Bondi, Australia
Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

Fairly modern.ish apartment block. Good location, close to the strand and its restaurants.the lace was fully booked out due to a convention, so I got a funny double bedroom apartment on the ground floor near reception. It was huge, but had a funny layout. Great washing machine and kitchenette. Funny Japanese instruction air conditioner.beds firm, but I like them like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank em_be53
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 July 2016

I recently stayed at Quest Tauranga in a 3 bedroom apartment (room 149). I note I needed accommodation at short notice, and options were limited. Very superficially the place looks as per the pictures - modern and shiny - however the reality was very different. I have 2 problems with the accommodation - Pricing policies and quality of the room....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BenG_AKL
Quest T, General Manager at Quest on Durham, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your recent stay. We appreciate all reviews and will address all issues raised. While we understand guests wishes to have as many services included in the basic tariff we have found that our Corporate guests in particular prefer not to have to pay for services that they do not need or wish to use....

New Zealand
Reviewed 15 June 2016

Very quiet property - only the first floor is operated as a hotel while upper floors are privately owned apartments. We chose a studio room which was available for only $133 per night at the time. Room was spotless, very spacious and featured a full kitchen, king bed, aircon and Sky TV. Internet available for an additional charge if you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NZFrontiers

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
517 reviews
0.8 km away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#5 of 57 in Tauranga
1,072 reviews
0.2 km away
City Suites
City Suites
#6 of 57 in Tauranga
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Armitage
Hotel Armitage
#23 of 57 in Tauranga
297 reviews
2.8 km away
Summit Motor Lodge
Summit Motor Lodge
#2 of 57 in Tauranga
298 reviews
0.8 km away
The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Quest Tauranga Serviced Apartments are located in the heart of Tauranga's exceptional shopping, dining and nightlife. Explore the fantastic boutique stores, cafes, restaurants and bars that line the surrounding streets. Quest Tauranga offers a mix of 29 studio, one, two and three bedroom self-contained serviced apartments with comfortable and modern furnishings and all the great services and amenities Quest is known for. Each apartment features a spacious living area, full kitchen, deluxe spa bath (except our two fully enabled wheel chair accessible apartments), comfortable king size beds, and wifi or broadband internet access. Whether you are in the Bay Of Plenty for business or leisure, Quest Tauranga invites you to enjoy the finest quality Tauranga accommodation in a perfect location and service of the highest standard. Whether you are looking for accommodation for One Night, One Week, One Month ; Quest Tauranga offers a unique "Home Away from Home" experience. Quest Tauranga's reception hours are 7.30Am to 7pm Monday-Friday and 8am to 4pm Weekends and public holidays. Guest may still check in after these times using our after hours check in service and call centre. Instructions for this can be found outside reception doors. Onsite secure car parking is available at an additional cost; however spaces are limited so please book in advance. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Quest on Durham

Address: 6 Durham Street, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand (Formerly Quest Tauranga)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Price Range: €96 - €165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest on Durham 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Quest on Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Tauranga
#10 Luxury Hotel in Tauranga
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Quest on Durham staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Wellington, New Zealand
3 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Quest on Durham staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Excellent location”
AmandaJP1970, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Suites are v.big and worth the extra cost”
, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Obviously higher floors would have a view of the city and sea.”
Gissiegirl, 10 Apr 2016 | Read review
“ask for a balcony room on level 1”
  • lounge in balcony room
  • Bedroom 1 in balcony room
  • Kitchen
  • Bedroom 2 in balcony room
  • Balcony room, spacious
  • Bedroom 3, internal no windows
  • compact bathroom
danjonelson, 18 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Ask for floor with views”
WHL-NZ , 14 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$116* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$116
TravelocityUS$116
TripAdvisorUS$116
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates