We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Summit Motor Lodge

Travellers' Choice award winner
05/06/2017 06/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$98*
US$95*
US$98*
US$98*
US$95*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Summit Motor Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

298 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 292: English reviews
Start your review of Summit Motor Lodge
 Click to rate
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have stayed here twice now while visiting family and can not fault anything about this place at all. We stayed in room 7 the first time, but our last stay we were upgraded to room 24 which was upstairs with a great view and also a spa bath which unfortunately we never got to utilise. We have found on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Herbies1
Steve N, Manager at Summit Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Herbies1, Thank you for allowing us to be your host :) We always love repeat guests, and the bonus of being able to upgrade means we can also show case the different room types we have on offer. We are at the point of making each stay better than the last, its a shame that you didn't get...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

My wheelchair rugby team stayed here for two nights so we could attend a wheelchair rugby tournament. The access rooms here (13 & 14) sport four beds each, two in the bedroom and two in the lounge, which meant we could sleep eight players in reach of an accessible bathroom for a very reasonable price. This is very unusual in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thegilly2017
Steve N, Manager at Summit Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Gilly, We almost need more access units! Would have been great for your group. However you made the most of what we had. We believe that it's important to have the everyday requirements, "HOME" things :) The WiFi was something that the motel lacked when taking over so was upgraded along with lots of other renovations/improvements around the...

wanganui
Reviewed 1 week ago

Just stayed for two night s in unit 25 and couldn't fault the room, facilities or service. The room was extremely clean, everything was in great condition and it had everything we needed for a two night stay. Loved being able to sit out the front or the back which gave us privacy when we wanted it. Staff were very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aunty126
Steve N, Manager at Summit Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Aunty126, Thank you for taking the time to review the Summit Motor Lodge. We appreciate the feedback from all our guest/s. This helps the business grow but boosts our staff morel and commitment to providing high standards. Unit 25 has to be one of my favorite rooms, the views and sun makes for a great feeling. We look forward...

Taranaki Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

From the moment we arrived till the moment we left , we could not fault anything other than tight car parking, which is being addressed in the near future. We stayed in unit 4 , a studio unit which was spotless, well equiped and due to having a front and back area to sit outside , was very private. Comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cardav2014
Steve N, Manager at Summit Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Good Morning, Thank you for your kind words about the place we describe as "home away from home". We do suggest ways of combating this by reversing in at the end of the day. If only we built the complex ourselves then we would have made better use of that space, we even have removed a car parking space to...

Broken Hill, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My daughters and I stayed for 4 nights in the 2 bedroom unit. There was plenty of room and the beds were extremely comfortable. The staff were very obliging and helpful. Would highly recommend staying here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FoodForMe2880
Steve N, Manager at Summit Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Good Afternoon :) Thank you for choosing the Summit Motor Lodge as your host. It was our pleasure to be able to offer a spacious unit, with our great services. I hope that you get to come back under different circumstances, sending thoughts to your family. Kind Regards....The Team.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here twice over 2 weeks, catching up with family. First time in room 2 which had been refurbished and was perfect for 3 of us. We returned a week or so later and got room 13, which was slightly disappointing as it was a disabled unit and we certainly aren't. (Time enough for that). Still, it was clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judi P
Steve N, Manager at Summit Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Judi, We are thankful that we had your family return to experience another great stay. We do apologize that you couldnt get the same room, Unfortunately the guests that had been staying for a few days before loved the place they wanted to stay on. It wouldnt have made sense to shift them and clean that room. Sometimes...

Whitianga, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a great surprise to find a motel that is over 25 years old in such great condition. It is very apparent that both the owners and staff care about the presentation of their product. We do find it difficult to find fault and as we too operate a visitor accommodation business we do know what to look out for....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GORDONDIANA
Steve N, Manager at Summit Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Thank you for choosing the Summit Motor Lodge as your host. We are super excited to hear your comments on what our place is about. The importance of customer care, and a well kept establishment are what we are about. We understand the car parking, we have made some changes to it, which helped a little. If only...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Unit was very clean and we found the owners and staff were very friendly and helpful, we will stay again. We arrived with two cars and the team showed us a place we could put our other vehicle so we did not have to park on the road which was very helpful

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cliff H
Steve N, Manager at Summit Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Cliff, Awesome to hear your time with us was well worth it! We make an effort to accommodate guest/s needs so being able to offer soloutions is a priority. We hope to see you both again sometime soon Kind Regards

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Clean and tidy and spacious. Very elegant and family like. We went back a 2nd time a week later because of the service. The staff are really friendly and helpful and there is free WiFi. Great! Thank you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlissa B
Steve N, Manager at Summit Motor Lodge, responded to this review

We can never live without free WiFi!!! Thanks Charlissa :) Pleased to hear that we got the pleasure of hosting you twice! The Summit Motor Lodge sure is big on creating stays to remember!! Thanks heaps

Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room was lovely and clean. Another really important thing for me is lighting - have you ever noticed now dull the majority of motel/hotels are - not this one. Nice and bright and fresh. Our room was very close to the pool and I queried the possibility of noise later in the evening but was assured it would not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dandwm2017
Steve N, Manager at Summit Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Great review here for Team Summit :) Thanks guys. Working hard sure pays off. We want to ensure we get many things right when it comes to creating a place to remember. Room location is very important to many, whether its for privacy, noise and comfort. While we do try our best to have units suited, we always make sure...

78 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (44)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (27)
05/06/2017 06/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
2.8 km away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
517 reviews
3.4 km away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#5 of 57 in Tauranga
1,074 reviews
2.8 km away
City Suites
City Suites
#7 of 57 in Tauranga
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Hotel Armitage
Hotel Armitage
#25 of 57 in Tauranga
298 reviews
1.8 km away
850 Cameron Motel
850 Cameron Motel
#1 of 57 in Tauranga
183 reviews
2.7 km away
The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in a quiet garden setting in central Tauranga, Summit Motor Lodge is just five minutes drive from the city - close enough to be convenient, far enough away to be relaxing. It's ideal accommodation for the corporate traveler, family holidays, weekend breaks or group tours. We look forward to meeting you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Summit Motor Lodge

Address: 213 Waihi Road, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Price Range: €79 - €96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Summit Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Summit Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summit Tauranga
Best Western Tauranga
Tauranga Best Western
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tauranga
#2 Spa Hotel in Tauranga
#8 Business Hotel in Tauranga
#13 Family Hotel in Tauranga
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Summit Motor Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Loved our room, unit 4, suitable for a couple”
Cardav2014, 11 May 2017 | Read review
“Well set up for meals in room if required”
, 1 May 2017 | Read review
“As grandparents with poor mobility, access to the ground floor 2 bdrm family unit was ideal.”
kevinanddiane2017, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The accessibility room was perfect for our needs”
cruisecan369, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Unit 24 had a lovely view of the port and mount”
preciouspup2u, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$95* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$98
TravelocityUS$95
Orbitz.comUS$95
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates