We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Wellesley on the Lake Taupo

Show Prices
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Wellesley on the Lake Taupo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

350 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 329: English reviews
Start your review of Wellesley on the Lake Taupo
 Click to rate
Napier, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We took the opportunity to take a few days away over the Easter weekend and used booking.com to select a Hotel for 2 nights. The rate was good and the photo looked good so we chose a Queen room. The staff were friendly enough but the room was certainly not what was in the photo. It was a long narrow...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Markhbnz
Maungaturoto, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The room was small. Had to put jug on floor to plug in. Staff were friendly when you could find them. Decor is dated. Parking is hard and drive trucks. Free WiFi was ok. Rooms are noisy. Lights out in hallway made things hard. The door hard to be pulled hard to make sure to locked behind you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank abseilor
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very disappointed. The room did not match or look at all like the website photos. Very dated. Old uncomfortable bed. Definitely not value for money. Don't recommend. Would rather stay at a backpackers!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AucklandToni
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked using GRABONE discounts and stayed in one of the back rooms, which meant no road noise. The room was basic, but clean and included an en-suite bathroom with shower, hand basin, and toilet. The Queensize bed was fine,a 30" TV, hot drink facilities. The restaurant where we had breakfast was on the 2nd story, and looked across the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RussRascal
Hokitika, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I'm not a fussy when it comes to accommodation but my expectations of the room were let down by the website. The room is dated, carpet was stained and the toilet fan very noisy. My bed sheets had a stain on them which I didn't realize until I was in it so didn't bother mentioning. Working in the tourism business...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HOKISITE
Taumarunui, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was nice albeit a bit tired. Fridge, tea& Coffee, Free wifi. There was a heated outside pool that we didn't use. We had dinner in the restaurant. Nice ambiance, beautiful view of the lake but food was a letdown for the price we paid. Friendly service but possibly a bit understaffed as meal took a long time to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SofiaAndreen
Lawndale, California
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked the hotel same day but unfortunately had to check in late, driving in from Wellington. The front desk was closed when we arrived. We woke up the person covering the front desk who came out in his pajamas to check us in. Our names weren't in the system because of the late book. However, he made some calls (at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank peteysiu
Corinne C, Director of Sales at Wellesley on the Lake Taupo, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review our property. I'm sorry that you turned up unexpected but I'm pleased that the staff were able to assist you efficiently. Yes, our rooms are certainly very clean. We look forward to seeing you again.

Papamoa, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Paid $145 for a very tiny studio room, we only stayed a night and just wanted a comfy bed after travelling but it was probably the worse bed ever, so small and so hard, my partner likes firm beds but even he tried the floor. It was room 28. We didn't bother about the size but this room was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ange J
Corinne C, Director of Sales at Wellesley on the Lake Taupo, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review our property - I am sorry to hear that aspects of your stay fell below expectations. I will get the maintenance team to address the issue you raised with the toilet seat. Many hotels do not offer fridges these days, they were removed as they were simply not utilised by guests. You booked...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 14 March 2017

We had a room with a slight lake view, it wasnt large but all good for our three night stay. The continental breakie is good value, ceral, fruit, toast, croissants. and the coffee superb. An easy stroll into town or onto lake front.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andysafrica11
Corinne C, Director of Sales at Wellesley on the Lake Taupo, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us. Great to here you had a good stay - the beds are comfy aren't they! Lake view rooms at Taupo are awesome too. We look forward to hosting you again.

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

Jumamgi galore. The hotel is set in Africa but needs updating. Asked for another towel as only 2 in room for 3 people. Thus towel smelt of chips.. staff in bar were really grumpy and gave her boyfriend more attention than guests.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joolsm425
Corinne C, Director of Sales at Wellesley on the Lake Taupo, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I'm surprised that the towel in question smelt like chips - we bring in all our towels from a professional laundry company so will pass this feedback on. I am sorry that you felt that the bar service was below average and will share with our team.

111 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (74)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.0 km away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#18 of 69 in Taupo
160 reviews
0.4 km away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#4 of 69 in Taupo
258 reviews
2.0 km away
Accent on Taupo Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Twin Peaks Lakeside Inn
0.2 km away
Tui Oaks Motor Inn
Tui Oaks Motor Inn
#38 of 69 in Taupo
90 reviews
0.8 km away
Acacia Lake View Motel
Acacia Lake View Motel
#46 of 69 in Taupo
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Wellesley Hotel on Lake Taupo is perfectly positioned on the lakefront, with spectacular views across the lake to the three volcanic cones of Ruapehu, Tongariro and Ngauruhoe. Taupo is home to New Zealand's largest lake, more trout than you can shake a stick at and some of the country's most stunning scenery. Whether you are in Taupo on business or for a holiday, Wellesley Hotel on Lake Taupo offers an ideal setting. Our Lake Taupo accommodation offers great value and is proudly NZ family owned and operated, and is located within minutes of the Lake Taupo town centre and airport. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wellesley on the Lake Taupo

Address: 100 Lake Terrace | PO Box 54, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Price Range: €50 - €110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wellesley on the Lake Taupo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Wellesley on the Lake Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Taupo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Wellesley on the Lake Taupo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“None from the 3 I saw”
AngeJ700, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“First floor for a better lake view”
Andysafrica11, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“try to avoid the back rooms”
ErylAnn, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Pick a room that is upstairs, hopefully with a view of the lake”
415lawrencec, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Very close to other restaurants, main street shops and walking track around the Lake”
LisaBrickell, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5