We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Taupo Urban Retreat

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Taupo Urban Retreat
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

181 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 162: English reviews
Start your review of Taupo Urban Retreat
 Click to rate
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here to try and save a bit of money on our NZ trip. It was the first backpackers I have stayed at and it was totally fine. We had a room to ourselves for $80 a night which came with our own bathroom (a must). The mattress wasn't ideal for my bad back but that's just me. I'm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MG900226
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Three of us paid for a 4 bed room to have some privacy. We locked our door, but despite this staff entered our room whilst we were out to search for & remove alcohol. They have a bar and don't allow BYO. Fair enough for not wanting people to drink their own alcohol in communal areas, but to invade our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marlis H
Karry W, Manager at Taupo Urban Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments Marlis, I'm sorry you feel we invaded your privacy, this is not our intention. We have to comply with NZ Licensing laws and having a bar on-site we are allowed to perform evening room checks to ensure guests are complying with rules that are stated on check in. We knock before entering and merely scan...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The staff were friendly, the drinks were definitely great and the living space was tidy and cozy. The only down side was the bathroom space, and just how the toilet roll dispenser was broken; needs a little fixing up and it's good 😊

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kandinani M
Karry W, Manager at Taupo Urban Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, we are happy you enjoyed the bar area and the staff were helpful during your stay with us! We have noted the facilities comments and do hope you return for another stay here. Enjoy your travels in New Zealand. Chelsea, Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I visited here with the kiwi experience for one night on route to Auckland. Overall the place is clean although the bathroom could be checked more often as it got more untidy as the night wore on. The mattress was terrible and thin. I could feel the bed frame underneath! Also the pillow was useless so thin is was like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanne W
Karry W, Manager at Taupo Urban Retreat, responded to this review

Joanne, I sincerely apologise for the bed and pillow, we have taken this on board and since checked the quality throughout the hostel. The free unlimited Wifi is provided by Global Gossip through fibre optic cable, currently the fastest available in Taupo. Please in future notify staff of issues with the internet, we are able to contact the tech support...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here for a night with kiwi experience I was supposed to stay with 2 but left after the first night as felt hunted down and made to feel like a school child they rounded us all in and then made us feel like little children and basically threatened us about the key we are all adults and able...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nathan R
Karry W, Manager at Taupo Urban Retreat, responded to this review

Hi Nathan, firstly I apologise that you left the hostel feeling this way, this was not our intention. Our check in procedure with large bus groups is run most efficiently when we group all passengers together and check them in as a group, rather than singularly. This saves everyone time and allows our guests to get out and explore Taupo,...

Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed in a double and were surprised to find it was also ensuite. It was comfortable and quiet. The staff were lovely and very helpful. Chilli meal was delicious for just $5. Kitchen quite small, but not too busy. Great location. Would recommend to anyone!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gem M
Karry W, Manager at Taupo Urban Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you Gem for the lovely review, it is much appreciated and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The chilli meal is a favourite with all guests! We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in New Zealand, come and stay again if you're coming through Taupo. Chelsea, Manager

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

We checked in at 8.30pm and the woman at reception was very friendly. Initially there was three of us on the booking then we needed to add an extra person on and they managed to put us all in the same room which we were very pleased about. The room wasn't the biggest but we were just on an overnight...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MollsB94
Solarpowered_12, Owner at Taupo Urban Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are hoping to do some alterations to improve the bar area so that it might be expanded slightly and remove some of the cluster from the internal courtyard. We do have a rather quirky building so we have tried to make the most of what area we have. Thanks for your comments about the...

Reviewed 28 December 2016

We booked Taupo for Christmas, was worst experience ever: - Staff do not allow Alcohol Inside, so they steal your brought liquers by checking your bags and drop it without asking (You will not get it back!!!). They steal also the Cooking Wine from the fridge - Bar close at 22:00 afterwards you have no way to drink because not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mc M
Karry W, Owner at Taupo Urban Retreat, responded to this review

To validate this review with a response is truly disappointing. We are extremely proud of what we do and provide for our guests and sadly we cannot review them, the good or the bad. This group have childishly attacked us because we chose to treat them no differently to other guests and ask that they respect other guests and our...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 25 December 2016

This is the first time I write a bad review of a hostel in New Zealand. I feel sorry about it but this really a bad experience of me. It's depend of what kind of hostel are you looking for. The rooms and bathroom are clean, But we come here because we see it is a hostel with a bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 陳安
Solarpowered_12, Owner at Taupo Urban Retreat, responded to this review

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us, especially over Christmas. For the past 12 years our family and staff have worked hard on Christmas Day (and before) catering for our guests to make this day special for all those who are away from family and loved ones. To address your grievances, the first we have...

Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

In a 16bedroom with windows. Only 25dollars per night so it's OK. In middle of town. Just few minutes from shops. Dont be afraid, kiwi experience let lots of travellers in this backpacker who come juste for tongariro alpine cross so lots of noise the morning when they live to take their bus. Bathroom And toilets was OK. Kitchen VERY...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chouchoune85

19 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.3 km away
Gables Lakefront Motel
2.3 km away
The Reef Resort
The Reef Resort
#4 of 71 in Taupo
481 reviews
0.2 km away
Tiki Lodge
Tiki Lodge
#10 of 34 in Taupo
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Haka Lodge
Haka Lodge
#2 of 34 in Taupo
285 reviews
0.5 km away
Finlay Jack's Backpackers
0.6 km away
Rainbow Lodge
Rainbow Lodge
#7 of 34 in Taupo
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Taupo Urban Retreat, your home away from home! Free internet, comfy beds and hot, high-pressure showers are a given here. With arguably the best location in Taupo we are just a couple of streets away from the busiest bars and restaurants, yet far enough away to get a good night's sleep. We are also only a few minutes walk from the bus stop and supermarkets, and there is plenty of free off-street parking available. At Urban we have a really sociable and chilled atmosphere, making it super easy to meet people. Enjoy our delicious chilli every night for only $5, or for $8 get a cold beer or wine to wash it down too. You can cook up a storm in our well-equipped kitchen, free oil and spices included. Help yourself to our free tea and coffee too! Mingle in our in-house guest bar with new friends, soak up some rays in our sunny garden courtyard, or snuggle up with a good book in your quiet dorm room if you're all talked out. Keen for movie night? Hunker down in our cosy TV lounge and choose from our vast array of movie titles, we even have free popcorn! We'd love to help you make the most out of your stay in our beautiful region. Our friendly staff can help you book your activities including the Tongariro Alpine Crossing, Skydiving, Bungy jumping, Jet boats or Rafting trips to name a few. We've been operating in Taupo for over ten years so we know all of the local hidden gems and the best travel tips. Whether you're looking to spend or save we can help you fill your day! We even have bikes for hire at reception so your adventure begins at our front door. We can also help you book onwards travel, although you may find you never want to leave Taupo! With a friendly welcoming vibe, cheap drinks and helpful staff Taupo Urban Retreat is your home away from home in Taupo. We look forward to having you stay! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Taupo Urban Retreat

Address: 65 Heuheu Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Price Range: €26 - €72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Taupo Urban Retreat 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Taupo Urban Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Taupo Urban Retreat staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Winchester, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Taupo Urban Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“avoid it completely”
 of 5 bubbles 471tristanj, 29 Feb 2016 | Read review
“16 bed dorm!!”
 of 5 bubbles 8katel, 30 May 2015 | Read review
“Get a small room if you're planning on doing the crossing! Nice an quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles 265markp, 31 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Room 17 with outside access to courtyard is specially nice”
 of 5 bubbles Macodell, 2 May 2014 | Read review
“If you can afford it - have one of the ensuite rooms for that extra bit of privacy”
 of 5 bubbles clf2308, 29 Apr 2014 | Read review
5 of 5