We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

584 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 561: English reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Ok been here before. Good to return to. Excellent facilities and friendly staff and good service. Easy to find and get to. However find a negative is the extra cost to get into the heated pools. Add this to the accommodation cost and makes for a rather pricey overnight stop over

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 86bryank
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Hi 86bryank, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our facilities and service. We offer a large discount to our guests for entry to our pools. We hope you were able to take advantage of this. We hope to see you back again soon. Kind regards, Peter

A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

Great place to go, kids loved it. Would definitely go back. We used bookme.com $21.60 for 2 adults and 1 child and was great value we were even allowed a same day return visit. Had to pay $7 pp for slides but this is optional and could be bought after entry.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you had a great time in our mineral pools. We hope to see you back again soon. Kind regards, Peter

New Zealand
Reviewed 24 September 2016

We stayed 5 years ago in a camper and thought the facilities were excellent and thay still are..in fact doing renovatrions! It seemed we got 50% discouint on the use of the hot pools which were a great way to relax. Clean loos and showers with really good kitchen facilities. We were even in the same campervan spot as last...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KiwiLint
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Hi KiwiLint, Thank you for your lovely feedback. It's great that you enjoyed your time here and we hope you come back again soon so you can enjoy the new and improved facilities :) All the best, Peter

Rotorua, New Zealand
Reviewed 20 September 2016

We come here every year to soak and blob out. They often have budget deals on cabins and discounted private and public pool access. Always clean and comfortable beds. Not far to Taupo with cafes eateries and things to do.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank annieck2016
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Hi annieck2016, Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are always looking for ways to make our guests more comfortable through continuous improvement. We hope to have you back again soon. Kind regards, Peter

Wele-Nzas Province, Equatorial Guinea
Reviewed 17 September 2016

It's was great to be able to get into our room early. Disappointing to be a guest then have to pay to go into the pools. Bouncy mat was great for the kids. Room was fine but was well used. I.e tiles chipped in bathroom. Wouldn't stay again or refer anyone

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bev E
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Hi Bev, Thank you for feedback. We offer a large discount to our guests for pool entry, we hope that you took advantage of this. We have an ongoing maintenance program so issues such as chipped tiles will be sorted out quickly so our valued guests can have the best possible experience with us. We hope that you would come...

Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed in a cabin which had a Lovely comfy bed, room was very nice. Only down fall was there was no parking next too our cabin had to park in the parking lot, and also would've been nice if we had one free entry to the pools, other wise it was good

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Baylee L
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Hi Baylee, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your room. There is parking available next to every one of our units. We can only speculate that someone had taken your spot. In future, our reception team is able to remedy such issues effectively so please let us know. We are glad...

Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

We decided to stay in Taupo last minute and had heard of DeBretts so booked for one night and ended up staying for two. With two children under five we booked the one bedroom motel unit which was well appointed with everything you would have in your home including a dishwasher which was great. Only negative was the television that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Hi Paul, Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We apologize for the connection issue with sky TV. We will look into the cause of this. We hope to see you back again soon. Kind regards, Peter

Whangarei
Reviewed 13 September 2016

We called in to DeBretts Taupo in our camper van as the weather turned surprisingly cold and we booked a powered site. We discovered the heated pools which were amazing. The staff were really friendly and helpful and the facilities were great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DelphiWhangarei
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Hi DelphiWhangarei, Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are glad you discovered our wonderful mineral pools. Hopefully you were in time for the coloured LED lights at night :) Kind regards, Peter

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 7 September 2016

Stayed for 2 nights in superior studio and whilst reasonably clean and tidy we were disappointed with a number of things. Firstly, we weren't given any milk for the tea and coffee provided in the room. When we realised, the reception was closed (no 24hr reception) so had to drive into town and purchase milk. Secondly, there was no soap...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sillyena65
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Hi Sillyena65, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We are sorry that you were not happy with your stay. Unfortunately, we don’t have 24-hour reception but we do provide milk for after hours guest in advance. We will look into what happened in your case. We will be checking all the studios just in case but...

Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

The pools are nice. The car parking could be closer to the pools. There are a lot of steps to get from the pool to the office and the ramps there are far too steep. The pools are nice and kept at a nice temperature.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TonyCase
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Hi Tony, Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the pools and that the temperature was right for you. We do try to accommodate for our disabled patrons in every way possible. Due to our position in the thermal valley, we are limited in what we are able to build in the way of car parks. It...

150 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (114)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
0:30
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.0 km away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 71 in Taupo
1,773 reviews
1.0 km away
The Reef Resort
The Reef Resort
#2 of 71 in Taupo
447 reviews
1.5 km away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
1.4 km away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#4 of 71 in Taupo
136 reviews
3.0 km away
Lake Taupo TOP 10 Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Choose to stay ahead of the game with our awesome Luxury Accommodation - self contained villas, lodges and spa chalets, providing an indulgent escape and complete with panoramic lake and mountain views. Or stay true with our ever-popular Qualmark rated 5 Star Holiday Park accommodation - from camping to van sites, cabins and motels, all spacious and excellent value.We have pools,water playground,slides,big bouncing air pad,Day Spa,Cafe-the ultimate all-year-round relaxation and recreation destination! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort

Address: 76 Napier Road | PO Box 513, Taupo 3379, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Price Range: €56 - €162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taupo Debretts Hotel Taupo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms with the lake views are just stunning!”
 of 5 bubbles kiwigaltraveller, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with an En suite, make it worth the money.”
 of 5 bubbles , 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you want to be super close to the pools, book a chalet or a cabin.”
 of 5 bubbles chloek469, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All cabins were excellent but you could ask for one with the best view of the lake.”
 of 5 bubbles Damdogue, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All campervan sites seemed to be hedged off for privacy”
 of 5 bubbles 607annabellep, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay