We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Lakeland Resort Taupo

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Lakeland Resort Taupo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

207 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Lakeland Resort Taupo
See the most recent reviews
Showing 193: English reviews
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 March 2016

Stayed here for one night on our way up the island from Wellington and. It was good value for money clean and comfortable. We ate in the restaurant and the young local lady and Richard were fantastic great service. And food was good as well. First time we stayed here and would stay again for same rate. Can't complain about...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank shp1
Reviewed 18 March 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for the concert in Jan. Tried to go to their restaurant fri night to be told the kitchen had run out of food and could only see six people dining at half past seven. Gave them another chance sat night and the food is ok, basic even but it fills the spot. Rooms are tidy but basic,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 721euanm
Jan5256, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review

So sorry your experience in our Restaurant was not as good as it should have been, the Friday night we had a large function in the Conference area consequently the food issue. I'm so pleased you gave us another chance on Saturday. Please try us again in the future and we will aim to please.

New Zealand
Reviewed 28 February 2016

First time here on our way north. Rooms were comfortable and clean. Plenty of parking. Unfortunately the restaurant was booked out the night we stayed so we went down town for a meal. Obviously popular with the working community with a shearing gang next door (who were very quiet) and a couple of road gangs across the way (who were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
Jan5256, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review

We appreciate you great review, thank you for letting everyone else know what a great place it is to stay. We look forward to assisting you again in the future and please book for dinner so you can also enjoy the Restaurant next time.

Masterton, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 February 2016

We had a great view of the lake from upstairs landing, Hotel is on the outskirts of town, so no other restaurants within walking distance. Room very basic and old style. Bed was mention to be a queen,but felt like a double was comfortable. I believe in its day it had a lot of tourist buses stay over, but has...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DebWB092
Jan5256, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. It's great you enjoyed our view from the upstairs balcony (walkway). All our beds that sleep 2 guests are indeed Queens and I'm so pleased you found it comfortable. At this time of the year we are discounting some of our rooms, you must have been one of the lucky...

Palmerston North, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 February 2016

The whole complex was very neat. We stayed one night in a twin room, which was tidy and clean and had anything you would expect (complimentary tea, coffee etc.). The bathroom was really nice and modern. It was really warm in the room, though. No air conditioning. Unfortunately, we had bad luck with our neighbours. Really loud and drunk until...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MiriamNiessen
Jan5256, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, great you enjoyed our clean and tidy property. Hopefully next time you stay your neighbours will be more considerate.

Auckland
Reviewed 16 February 2016

Stayed for one night in a standard triple single room. Clean room, nice shower, very comfy beds and pillows. Staff were friendly & helpful, pool was nice & restaurant was good. Only one gripe, and that was the people in the room next door with the screaming child at 3am that kept us awake for an hour, if that hadn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank luvggs
Jan5256, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely comments about the property and staff. Sorry you were disturbed by other guests, unfortunately this was out of our control. We look forward to hosting you again for another one nighter, or more.

Napier, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 February 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for the taupo summer concert with friends. While this place was a little too far from the centre of all the action it was lovely, clean, comfortable and affordable. Reception staff were friendly allowing us to check in early. The pool and tennis court looked inviting but we didn't have time to take advantage of these. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank christine l
Jan5256, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review our Hotel. We aim to please and whenever we can allow an early check-in we do. The staff enjoy looking after our guests, I am so pleased you were able to use some of our facilities, next time come back and use some of the ones you didn't get a chance to...

Reviewed 31 January 2016 via mobile

The Interior of the queen room was a little dated, but it was tidy and large. It was a Good price and there was a nice girl at the reception. I Would go there again as for the price it was good. They also had a spa pool and sky in the rooms. So overall happy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Blair R
Jan5256, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review

So pleased you enjoyed your stay, we look forward to assisting you again in the future.

Greater Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 January 2016

Nice location, friendly staff, nice affordable breakfast buffet, quiet at night, comfortable beds, clean rooms. However, very hot in the summer - only a small low powered wall fan to cool the entire room - needs proper A.C./heat pump. And WiFi reception was spotty, and speed was very slow during peak times (6pm-10pm).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kieran776
Jan5256, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review

Great you came to stay with us and experience our Hotel. The Wifi is getting an upgrade, because it's unlimited and Free, it gets a lot of use and doesn't cope with the volume. So pleased you ate at our Buffet Breakfast and enjoyed it, do come back and try again.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 13 January 2016 via mobile

Old lady at reception was rude and condescending (although the young girl was helpful). They gave us a triple single room after we booked for two adults and a child. When we asked to change, she said we shouldn't have booked the cheapest room and charged us an extra $10. Although the website gave no indication that it was three...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nckbrdfld
Jan5256, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to review our property, its just a shame you chose the wrong sort of property for your needs. We clearly advertise in all different forms of our advertising that we are a Hotel, which means that we do not have any kitchen facilities in our rooms - therefore there are no plates etc. Sorry...

60 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (60)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.9 km away
Wellesley on the Lake Taupo
2.9 km away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#16 of 71 in Taupo
157 reviews
2.5 km away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#30 of 71 in Taupo
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Chelmswood Motel
Chelmswood Motel
#34 of 71 in Taupo
253 reviews
0.1 km away
Comfort Inn Cascades
Comfort Inn Cascades
#11 of 71 in Taupo
367 reviews
0.0 km away
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Lakeland Resort is situated on the beautiful shores of Lake Taupo, New Zealand's largest lake and world renowned for its trout fishing and scenery.Set amidst 2.8 acres of landscaped grounds, complete with 64 well equipped studio units, with 42 plasma flat screen TV, tennis court, outdoor seasonal swimming pool, 2 private indoor spa pools, guest laundry facilities, ample off-street parking, 2 conference rooms and the Lakeland Bar and Brasserie.Lakeland Resort offers relaxing and comfortable accommodation, superb conference and function facilities with The Lakeland Bar & Brasserie serving divine cuisine. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lakeland Resort Taupo

Address: 282 Lake Terrace | P.O. Box 1179,, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Price Range: €69 - €111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakeland Resort Taupo 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lakeland Resort Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeland Resort Taupo Hotel Taupo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lakeland Resort Taupo staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Wellington, New Zealand
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Lakeland Resort Taupo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Was fully booked and noisy...”
 of 5 bubbles HaljoHal, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get a room on the top floor away from stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles Manni154, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from any tour group rooms, and an upstais is the preferred”
 of 5 bubbles SteveG988, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“all rooms are good to be honest from what I could see. Maybe you want to get a downstairs room if you prefer not to use stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles 168tyrellg, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Upper level units would have a better view but I think you need to walk up stairs to get there.”
 of 5 bubbles RayandSue68, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5