We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Clearwater Motor Lodge

Show Prices
#9 of 71 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Clearwater Motor Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

155 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Clearwater Motor Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 147: English reviews
ipswich
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2016

Absolute lake frontage with views across the lake to the mountains. Many waterfowl in the shallows and direct access to walking/cycling path. Warm and attentive hospitality. Clean and modern. 100 metres walk to trendy Cove café for breakfast. Would be our top choice for return visit.

Helpful?
Thank ozmateIpswich
linashao, Owner at Clearwater Motor Lodge, responded to this review

HI, thanks for your time to write a review. we are pleased you enjoyed our accommodation and facility. looking forward to see you next time. More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2016

This was the perfect spot for us 2 couples. Right on the waterfront and the bonus was the natural thermal water that trickled into the lake right in front of the property. Perfect after having completed the Tongariro Crossing. Lina was the perfect hostess and her service was very efficient especially as we had to scan urgent material. The room... More 

Helpful?
Thank MarieCharles2013
linashao, Owner at Clearwater Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hi, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and my services. thanks for helping us by writing a review. we are looking forward to see you next time. More 

Leigh, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2016

The corner rooms 3 and 5 on the top floor offer a stunning view out over the lake to Mount Ruapehu and Co. We had just walked the Tongariro Crossing and could only stay one night, sadly. The showers were super powerful and steaming hot. We would have loved to stay longer. Next time. The new owners are delightful and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Zamuzza
linashao, Owner at Clearwater Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hi: we are appreciated your time to write a review about our motor lodge. It was very nice to meet you and your friends. we are looking forward to see you again in near future. More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2016

We stayed in a 2nd level, waterfront unit. Fabulous! The bikers and walkers didn't bother us - just part of the wildlife - ducks, shags, swans 😊 Modern and new. The new managers were fantastic and really helpful. We will always stay at the Clearwater when in Taupo now - hopefully the same unit.

Helpful?
Thank GayleneNZ1
linashao, Owner at Clearwater Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for choosing our motel, and for taking the time to write a review! we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your accommodation, as well as our unique location. we aim to provide a truly unique experience and looking forward to welcoming you back to Clearwater in the future. More 

Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2016

Clearwater is a lovely motel, the rooms are large and very clean. We had a hot tub/spa in the room which was massive (unfortunately not used as we were only in Taupo for the one night). The motel is on the lake front and walkable into town (albeit quite a long walk not sure if you would do it in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Simon S
linashao, Owner at Clearwater Motor Lodge, responded to this review

we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. thanks for your review and looking forward to see you in the near future. More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2016 via mobile

We were recommended this motel by friends and we weren't disappointed. We had a lovely family suite on the top floor with views to the west overlooking the Lake. The most amazing thing about this place is its location to hot water beach on the lake. My 5 year old and i enjoyed a dip in the hot thermal creek... More 

Helpful?
Thank malandsheryl
linashao, Owner at Clearwater Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for you review. we are pleased that you enjoyed our unique lake edge location and facility. It was great to meet our of you and looking forward to see you next time. More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2016 via mobile

We had a beautiful room, right on the waterfront. Lovely, clean and modern facilities, spa bath was brilliant. Only downside was the nosey walkers along the waterfront walkway but it's only a very small downside. Can't wait to visit again! Wonderful staff, very friendly and helpful.

Helpful?
Thank gemmymp
Priscilla P, Owner at Clearwater Motor Lodge, responded to this review

we are pleased that you enjoyed our services and facilities. we enjoyed having you to stay & hope to see you again in the near future. thanks for your review. More 

Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2016

We liked: Fabulous view of Lake Taupo. Comfy beds. Friendly owners. We didn't like: -Everyone on the (busy) walking path between the room and the lake can see into the room. It would help if there were some day curtains. -The shower head is mounted very low on the wall, so if you're more than 170cm, you need to kneel... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank The_Swiss_Danes
Priscilla P, Manager at Clearwater Motor Lodge, responded to this review

thanks for your recommendation on our location and services. and sorry for the poor internet connection, as our building is concert and the modem is mounted on the wall by the garden side. the room on the other side of the garden may sometimes receives poor signal, but we are upgrading to fibre. More 

Pokeno, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2016 via mobile

Right on the edge of the lake, walking distance to restaurant for dinner and cafe for breakfast. Nice warm and private plunge pool, great to hop in and have a soak at the end of the day. In room large spa bath, plenty of fresh towels, supersonic shower! Very clean, lovely friendly owners, very quiet unit ( ground floor on... More 

Helpful?
Thank MousesInn
lewisco, Owner at Clearwater Motor Lodge, responded to this review

We are pleased you enjoyed our facilities & lake edge position plus the close location for dining options. Look forward to seeing you again sometime. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2016

This was a great place to stay. The owners were very helpful and friendly and Tim was always ready to answer any queries we had. We stayed in a ground floor unit which had a grassed area in the front with table and chairs which was a great spot to have a drink and watch the world go by. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Helen W
lewisco, Owner at Clearwater Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Great to meet you guys & very pleased you enjoyed you stay. We will look into your comments re sheer curtains plus be assured that we are more than happy to help with luggage at any time. More 

89 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.1 km away
The Reef Resort
The Reef Resort
#2 of 71 in Taupo
445 reviews
1.1 km away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.1 km away
Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 71 in Taupo
1,761 reviews
1.0 km away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#4 of 71 in Taupo
135 reviews
1.0 km away
Baycrest Lodge
Baycrest Lodge
#10 of 71 in Taupo
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
LAKE EDGE TRANQUILITY Clearwater Motor Lodge offers quality accommodation situated right at the waters edge of lake Taupo. All 10 self-contained units provide king beds, in-room spa, kitchen facilities, TV/DVD, balcony or courtyard. 6 Of our Studios with unlimited lake & mountain views.Family units with same facilities, 2 single beds in separate bedroom. On-site Thermal plunge pool & BBQ. Quiet location Free on-site parking. Perfect for romantic couples ... more   less 

Additional Information about Clearwater Motor Lodge

Address: 229 Lake Terrace, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Price Range: €119 - €135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clearwater Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Clearwater Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clearwater Hotel Taupo
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Taupo
#5 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#15 Family Hotel in Taupo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Clearwater Motor Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for view over lake”
 of 5 bubbles Rbreta, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Magnificent views from the front units on both floors”
 of 5 bubbles wundabar, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Relaxing Lake Front with Bubble Spa, and watching T.V. All good”
 of 5 bubbles colleenw265, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Opt for a Lake View Room, it was a beautiful view.”
 of 5 bubbles P5859RKsoniac, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Go for the lake view option.”
 of 5 bubbles 840mels, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay