We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Utopian Motel Taupo

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Utopian Motel Taupo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

80 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 71: English reviews
Start your review of Utopian Motel Taupo
 Click to rate
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Booked here because of the impressive price and photos, turns out the place is disgusting. The owner does not clean the beds, showers, toilets or anything. Came into a smelly room with stains everywhere and dents and scratches on the wall. I look up and see bugs all over the roof and beetles on the floor. There was no toilet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Motelreviewer95
Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked this hotel in August 2016 for a busy weekend in Taupo in February 2017. On the day we arrived (having received confirmation by email the day prior) we were advised that our booking had been cancelled!!! There were no other beds available in all of Taupo because of the Summer Concert (why we had booked so many months...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank toni b
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here last year during their transformation from back packers to motel and gave them what I thought was a favourable honest review during the process ( see jan 2016) This year booked again and did it in july 2016. For a double with ensuite When we arrived our booking had gone ! I showed the printed Email confirming our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wal W
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here when in Taupo for summertime concert. Easy walk to the venue and the domain is the only thing this place has going for it. Bed had bad roll together, walls are paper thin and will never willingly do shared ensuite again. It feels like back packer quality but is marketed as a motel. And what happened to Sky...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NZ1969
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Filthy place, no tea towels to dry dishes, no dishwasher liquid to be seen. Broken and dirty blinds, cobwebs in all the windows. Windows that don't shut....No top sheet in the bed and stains on the duvet (yuck!) I didn't read the reviews till after....believe what they say!! Replies to reviews from owner seen arrogant and they don't care for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kerry H
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Tarpoline on the receptions roof, our room looked nothing like the photos, holes in walls, very tiny, thin walls and was dirty. Wouldn't let my worst enemy stay here, recommend going somewhere else and paying more!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Madi H
Reviewed 10 January 2017

We emailed two weeks before our stay to say we would arrive at 9pm on the day of our stay they emailed back to say it would cost $60 - by this time it was too late to cancel. The room was reasonably clean but the bathroom was pretty horrific - hole in the door dirty toilet, floor and shower....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amybA8487RA
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

First thing you will see upon walking into reception is a poster telling you to check yourself for gonorrhea and syphilis , after going into our room we realized why. Do not stay here if you want a clean quiet place to stay. Also had the unnerving feeling of being watched & the room didn't feel safe or secure which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 743deans
Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile

Worst place ive ever stayed. The room was disgustingly filthy. Broken window which wouldnt lock, curtains were so badly stained i thought they were intentionally tie died and they stunk. Random ensuite bathroom which could be accessed from the room next door but both rooms had a switch above the door so you could unlock it. Generally the room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cornishbird1
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 25 November 2016

such a bad accommodation. should have thought of repairing first before allowing customers to come in. not worth the cost of stay for such condition. not clean and smells bad. really, seriously, not supposed to be opened to the public.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank afiqahsuaidah
UtopianMotelTaupo, Manager at Utopian Motel Taupo, responded to this review

Hello Nur Afiqah Noor Zaidi, you have booked for 21st November 2016 and paid $ 63 for two adult , it was Budget Twin with two separate single bedroom. Note - there was one plumbing issue at reception area and your room was on upper floor. This is circumstances and it could be happened in any Hotel/Motel. we remember about...

66 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
3.0 km away
Lakeland Resort Taupo
Lakeland Resort Taupo
#34 of 71 in Taupo
204 reviews
0.2 km away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#20 of 71 in Taupo
152 reviews
1.2 km away
Wellesley on the Lake Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Camellia Court Motel
Camellia Court Motel
#57 of 71 in Taupo
134 reviews
0.6 km away
Mountain View Motel
Mountain View Motel
#51 of 71 in Taupo
34 reviews
0.5 km away
Dunrovin Motel
Dunrovin Motel
#43 of 71 in Taupo
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Utopian Motel Taupo

Address: 76 Kaimanawa Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand (Formerly Astro Accommodation Taupo - Motel & Backpackers)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Price Range: €41 - €175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Utopian Motel Taupo 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Utopian Motel Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Utopian Motel Taupo staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Utopian Motel Taupo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“They have a selection of different room make ups BUT as written, I booked 6mth in advance and it means nothing.”
 of 5 bubbles WalW, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“don't stay here a campground would be better”
 of 5 bubbles amybA8487RA, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles chizzy98, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Pay that little bit extra and stay somewhere more hygienic”
 of 5 bubbles 876cassiew, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“no noise, excellent view”
 of 5 bubbles dksingh656, 4 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5