We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Utopian Motel Taupo

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Utopian Motel Taupo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

70 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 62: English reviews
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

such a bad accommodation. should have thought of repairing first before allowing customers to come in. not worth the cost of stay for such condition. not clean and smells bad. really, seriously, not supposed to be opened to the public.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank afiqahsuaidah
UtopianMotelTaupo, Manager at Utopian Motel Taupo, responded to this review

Hello Nur Afiqah Noor Zaidi, you have booked for 21st November 2016 and paid $ 63 for two adult , it was Budget Twin with two separate single bedroom. Note - there was one plumbing issue at reception area and your room was on upper floor. This is circumstances and it could be happened in any Hotel/Motel. we remember about...

Hastings, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

we arrived and the guy at the front was rude and not welcoming at all. He showed us to our room and checked our duvet for stains and took it off the bed, disappears and came back with the same one, no top sheet on the bed, it said on the website that we would have any time acsess to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rbills321
UtopianMotelTaupo, Manager at Utopian Motel Taupo, responded to this review

hi dear , we have budget motel and cheapest accommodation available in Taupo . it was not stain but it was off stain of detergent , so we have changed blanket and it was same color blanket , its doesn't mean it was same. our bouquet was finished and it was available for VIP customer , but budget customer this...

Palmerston, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked online - and when arrived there he said the room we booked was not available and proceeded to show us some more expensive rooms even after we showed him our booking confirmation he started to argue and we left, he is very arrogant

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hawkesb03
UtopianMotelTaupo, Manager at Utopian Motel Taupo, responded to this review

hi we said your booking was incomplete and it was not completely processed by booking.com due to you have not completed booking process at booking.com . you showed us email and it was showing that you need to enter pin for booking confirmation which you did not processed after confirmation. even email which you were showing us, you were trying...

Reviewed 1 November 2016

The hotel is smelly and unclean. we used our own sheets on the bed and didn't even use the shower. Nothing was clean, not the shower, the utensils. Our room was the two bedroom apartment which was next to reception - noise easily came through the walls and at one point the door from reception was opened - dude you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jasonbQ9599NO
UtopianMotelTaupo, Manager at Utopian Motel Taupo, responded to this review

thanks for feedback , we have budget motel for budget customer

Reviewed 28 October 2016

Me and my father had being driven back to Auckland from wellington when our new car was overheating. We were not sure that we where going to be able to make it for our stay at Utopian Motel Taupo, check-in date 2016-10-23, and check-out date 2016-10-24 as our car was not working so we called the hotel at 6:49pm on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben C
UtopianMotelTaupo, Manager at Utopian Motel Taupo, responded to this review

hi we are not responsible for your maintenance , you had used free parking , secondly the stain you were showing it was not dent it was scratch which seems you did in reverse . you should care of your car management is not responsible for any kind of damage .

Al Kharj
Reviewed 26 October 2016

This place used to be great, cheap, clean and great location. Now not as cheap, not clean, noisy, smelly and not safe. light fittings are not covered in the bathroom and have come away from the ceilings, joint bathrooms doors don't lock. I highly recommend you don't go here. The room was also very warm, even with the window open...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chizzy98
UtopianMotelTaupo, Manager at Utopian Motel Taupo, responded to this review

hi you have got room in $54 for 2 people

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

1. Very smelly from the reception to the hallway to our room. We opened the window to get rid of the smells then hundreds of mosquitos get in the bathroom, i did not let my children to have a shower as heaps of mosquitos in the bathroom ceiling. 2. you can see spider webs around the light. 3. Utensils is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
UtopianMotelTaupo, Manager at Utopian Motel Taupo, responded to this review

hi we have budget motel and we cannot provide you in $54 for 2 adults like 5 star facility.

Harlow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

should have stuck to the reviews, but normally go look myself paid for a few nights, big mistake left after the first night. this is a very low budget place for passing backpackers who can rough it. good luck.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 8,222,015
UtopianMotelTaupo, Manager at Utopian Motel Taupo, responded to this review

thanks for review , have a good journey for next time in 5 star hotel. but we have budget motel for budget people $54 for 2 adults

Palmerston North, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 October 2016

2 adults 1 teen in a very small room but was economical and had everything we needed. Check in guy was very helpful, we got a carpark outside our room on a wet night which was great. It is what it is not the ritz but we would stay again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank justdaft
palmerston north
Reviewed 29 September 2016

Not enough room to type everything. Disgusting, smelly, dirty. Lights not working; cobwebs; no carpet. Double bed for a 15/16 year old (brother and sister) - not what was advertised. Slept on top of bed not in it with towel over pillow. Actually not much sleeping at all. Beware images of rooms do not reflect what you get. Manager not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 50angela50
UtopianMotelTaupo, Manager at Utopian Motel Taupo, responded to this review

hi all reviewed by you is fake . second you should book room according to your standers but you were looking for cheaper accommodation and your expectation is like 5 star hotel. did you think , what you have paid ? and what you are expecting but you forget what you have paid for and what you will get

65 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
3.2 km away
Lakeland Resort Taupo
Lakeland Resort Taupo
#30 of 71 in Taupo
194 reviews
1.4 km away
Wellesley on the Lake Taupo
1.3 km away
Camellia Court Motel
Camellia Court Motel
#58 of 71 in Taupo
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Mountain View Motel
Mountain View Motel
#48 of 71 in Taupo
34 reviews
1.0 km away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#28 of 71 in Taupo
124 reviews
2.0 km away
Huka Falls Resort
Huka Falls Resort
#50 of 71 in Taupo
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Utopian Motel Taupo

Address: 76 Kaimanawa Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand (Formerly Astro Accommodation Taupo - Motel & Backpackers)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Price Range: €36 - €153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Utopian Motel Taupo 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Utopian Motel Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Utopian Motel Taupo staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Utopian Motel Taupo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles chizzy98, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Pay that little bit extra and stay somewhere more hygienic”
 of 5 bubbles 876cassiew, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“no noise, excellent view”
 of 5 bubbles dksingh656, 4 Aug 2016 | Read review
“apparently some rooms have air con, if not,have fans been put in rooms, especially during this hot summer.”
 of 5 bubbles WalW, 12 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Book somewhere else”
  • Grime getting into the shower. Couldn't properly capture the scum-ring in the actual shower.
 of 5 bubbles LMRK1985, 8 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay