We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Finlay Jack's Backpackers

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Finlay Jack\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

177 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Finlay Jack's Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 160: English reviews
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 June 2016

Stayed for 6 nights. Paid for a room for 4 people that was ensuite. On arriving clear the bathroom was shared between 2 rooms so one shower for 8 people! One night no working heaters in room and was freezing cold! Second night the staff all went out and played music and shouted in the communal grounds until 0330. After...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jamesy1984
Reviewed 17 May 2016 via mobile

Great hostel with great staff! No bother for anything and extended my stay by a further three nights. Taupo is a really good place aswell. Netflix for the poorer weather was a great help also. Facilities are awesomeness aswell. Would definitely stay here again on my visit to Taupo

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
Finlayjacks, Front Office Manager at Finlay Jack's Backpackers, responded to this review

So happy you had a good stay with us, we would love to have you stay here again if you're ever back in Taupo. Thanks for the review! Kim @ Finlay Jacks

Kiel, Germany
Reviewed 3 May 2016

Stayed in a female dorm. Had a ood ensuite bathroom. Kitchen is not that clean and a bit too small. If it's warm, there lots of space to sit outside, but if it's colder, the hostel is lacking cozy common rooms to get in contact with other backpackers. Location is good, close to pak'n'save.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nora W
Finlayjacks, Front Office Manager at Finlay Jack's Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am sorry you thought the hostel was lacking atmosphere, we do try to be a very sociable place. We are currently undergoing renovations to the property so we will have bigger places to socialise in the colder weather. Hopefully see you again soon. Thanks Kim @ Finlay Jacks.

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 1 May 2016

Highlights of this hostel include the free wifi, ample parking, and the fact that the bathrooms are shared between one or two rooms. It is in a good location - the city and lake are in walking distance. The staff are knowledgeable and helpful to suggest activities based on visitor interests.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnitaM89
Finlayjacks, Front Office Manager at Finlay Jack's Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks for the awesome review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay here! Come back again soon. Thanks, Kim @ Finlay Jacks

Reviewed 22 April 2016 via mobile

This place understands travellers. Perfect setup for meeting new people, great events, movie nights, Netflix, Xbox, comfy beds and super staff. So much better than the large chain hostels in town. A must if you're staying in taupo.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jon P
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 April 2016 via mobile

The best hostel I've stayed in on my travels so far! Comfy beds with cute duvet covers, tv room with bean bags to chill out , nice people and good atmosphere. Garden and balcony was good to chill out at and good music played. Good kitchen area and the staff were really helpful with what to do in Taupo. And...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bt2830
Hawaii
Reviewed 7 April 2016

After traveling through NZ for the past two months, it was a joy to find a hostel with real single beds in the room - instead of the standard bunk beds. The hostel still offers a mixture of both types of rooms though, so you will specifically have to request one of these beds in advance if you want one....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lisatravelstheglobe
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile

The best hostel I have been to in all my travels. I had been on the move for a long time and this was the first hostel I had been to where I decided to stay multiple nights. The staff is very helpful and the atmosphere there is very laid back. You can tell there is a lot of love...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 19 March 2016 via mobile

I stayed at the yha in taupo and had a blast. Oli the receptionist recommended sail fearless which I had a blast on. Also the huka falls and the hot spring. I was in a 5 bed dorm with cool paintings on the wall. The place was kept clean. Overall nice hostel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jesse S
Lorient, France
Reviewed 17 March 2016

The room was allright and the bed was comfortable, but the kitchen is small for so many people, the common spaces are dark and dirty, there is only two bathrooms (including the toilets) for the people who don't have an ensuite room and eight lockers for everyone but no storage room for luggage. The worst was to share the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank soaz c
Finlayjacks, Owner at Finlay Jack's Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review we appreciate your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our single beds. Our kitchen can be pretty packed at peek cooking times and as for communal bathrooms we only have two because the room you were in is our only room without an ensuite bathroom. We are actually upgrading our facilities this year with...

55 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.7 km away
Gables Lakefront Motel
3.0 km away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 71 in Taupo
1,772 reviews
0.5 km away
Haka Lodge
Haka Lodge
#3 of 34 in Taupo
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Tiki Lodge
Tiki Lodge
#7 of 34 in Taupo
172 reviews
0.2 km away
Rainbow Lodge
Rainbow Lodge
#9 of 34 in Taupo
215 reviews
0.5 km away
Taupo Urban Retreat
Taupo Urban Retreat
#16 of 34 in Taupo
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Taupo's best option for comfort, convenience and great times with international friends. Here you'll find a bunk-free experience with single beds made up ready for your arrival and delightful en-suite bathrooms. We've renovated one of Taupo's most central hostels with the modern backpacker in mind. Two minutes from the supermarkets and central bus station, we have a comfy DVD lounge, huge garden, massive balcony complete with BBQ and stunning views of Mt. Ngauruhoe (Mt. Doom) and beyond. Whether you're an adrenaline junky keen to launch yourself from a plane at 15,000 feet, looking to set sail on the Great Lake or seeking peace and tranquillity along with some of New Zealand's most beautiful walks, our staff are here to make sure your visit lives up to expectations...aim high, people! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Finlay Jack's Backpackers

Address: 20 Taniwha Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Price Range: €16 - €68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Finlay Jack's Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Finlay Jack's Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Finlay Jack's Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“First floor rooms for an awesome view”
 of 5 bubbles 294maximj, 9 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Rooms with view, up top is good.”
 of 5 bubbles Baileyelise26, 15 Jan 2016 | Read review
“clean and value for money”
 of 5 bubbles chas470, 25 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Do make sure to carry everything with you as this is not a safe hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Jw9251210, 25 Sep 2015 | Read review
“A room away from the kitchen area is best because people sit outside and chat till quite late.”
 of 5 bubbles wendys382, 2 Feb 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay