We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Courtney Motel

View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Great Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Courtney Motel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

73 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 72: English reviews
Start your review of Courtney Motel
 Click to rate
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Very comfortable. It might not be the Ritz but definitely value for money. There were a couple of small faults such as a flickering light and out-of-tune Sky TV channel but these were promptly fixed when brought to the reception's attention. Thank you for a pleasant stay.

Thank BenThornton113
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

We booked this motel quite late and got a good rate. The unit was spacious but a little dated with some modern and some old fashioned features. It was clean and we were able to park our car right outside in the designated parking place for our unit but our parking place was a bit difficult to access unless you...

Thank Sus1952
Worcester England
Reviewed 21 February 2017

We had a two bedroom room (26). Excellent facilities, very clean, good bedding and beds. Friendly welcome at reception, complimentary morning paper. Only complaint is the 2% charge on Visa payment. Only motel in NZ where we've encountered this in many years of touring here.

Thank prenteg
traveller19701, Owner at Courtney Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at Courtney Motel. The Courtney Team are pleased we were able to make your stay in Taupo an enjoyable one. To enable us to continue to offer the best value accommodation in Taupo, the decision was taken to pass some of the cost imposed by credit card providers on to...

Reviewed 15 January 2017

i had a studio unit spotlessly clean good wifi, good sky tv , lots of little extras such as fresh real milk and plunger coffee, good clean bathroom fresh good quality towels and sheer cotton sheets made this a great stay, location good , only let down was the pool which looks good in pics but is tiny and only...

Thank Michael C
traveller19701, Owner at Courtney Motel, responded to this review

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay at Courtney Motel. The team at Courtney aim to provide the little things that help to achieve our aim of providing the best value budget accommodation in Taupo. We hope to welcome you back sometime.

Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

Close to the centre of Taupo and we got 25% off by using the Expedia app. Booked at 3 pm and turned up a 4 and there was no problems. Rooms are nice but the shower felt like a tap. It was the only negative.

Thank 422iana
traveller19701, Owner at Courtney Motel, responded to this review

The Courtney team aim to stretch your holiday budget by aiming to provide the best value budget accommodation in Taupo. Oh, and we've adjusted that shower . Look forward to seeing you again.

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 5 December 2016

Nicely positioned well equipped Motel just off the road running along the lake front – short distance to lots of takeaways and restaurants if you are not self-catering –spacious, clean and comfortable room -value at $100 per night - pleasant welcome from the lady at reception – stayed an extra night as there is a lot that can be seen...

Thank GDay1044
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 15 November 2016

Room was very tidy and bright with great bathroom. Our room had a outside door from the bathroom for fresh air and a large spa bath. tea and coffee facilities.Late check in a bonus with fabulous communication. Room extremely well priced. thank you!

Thank kk1Christchurch
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

We booked with the Courtney Motel because they had a late check in. This was perfect as we had just bought a car and was driving it home to Christchurch. We decided on a Motel because I would be able to park outside the room. Unfortunately when we arrived at midnight, our park was taken. A little disappointed, but I...

Thank Ashleigh F
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Our two bedroom unit cost $250 per night. For that we got a terrible smelling unit, stains all over the carpet (the largest hadn't even had an attempt to clean it), leaking shower, other peoples' hair through it, and generally filthy. Have paid less for a top notch rooms in Wellington. Complained to the person at front desk, no help/discount/extra...

2Thank A TripAdvisor Member
traveller19701, Owner at Courtney Motel, responded to this review

It's disappointing to here that the service and room standard were not up to standard. The Courtney team take our guest feedback seriously. The items you have raised will he looked into. We would always encourage any item of dissatisfaction to be raised with a team member so that we can take immediate action to assist in making be your...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night on our way through to Napier and found it to be a neat and tidy 1 bedroom apartment. Bed was super comfy, and kitchenette was sufficient. Upon arriving we were a little confused with the check in being next door but soon figured it out, the lovely receptionist even came over to show us where...

Thank Connie and Cher... M

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (13)
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Room/Suite (1)
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (20)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Room/Suite (6)
Dining (1)
Other (12)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.8 km away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#18 of 69 in Taupo
161 reviews
0.1 km away
Acapulco Motor Inn
Acapulco Motor Inn
#21 of 69 in Taupo
259 reviews
0.2 km away
Wellesley on the Lake Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Tui Oaks Motor Inn
Tui Oaks Motor Inn
#36 of 69 in Taupo
93 reviews
0.7 km away
Absolute Lake View Motel
0.2 km away
Twin Peaks Lakeside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Courtney Motel is conveniently located just 100 metres from a safe swimming beach and a short stroll along the lakefront to the town centre. Offering a selection of value oriented refurbished 3 star studio,1,2 and 3 bedroom motel units , all with modern furnishings, oversize beds, free on site carparking, Sky TV, Broadband Internet access and Full Kitchen facilities (studios with Kitchenettes). Motel services include, Guest Laundry facilities, Spa and Heated Pool, quiet garden setting with BBQ’s and Breakfast options. So whether you want to stay a night ,a week, or a month from 1 person to a group, Courtney Motel can offer you some of the best value accommodation in Taupo. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Courtney Motel

Address: 15 Tui Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Price Range: €61 - €121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtney Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Courtney Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Taupo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Courtney Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“studios have french sliding doors and a little outdoor table and chairs”
, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Stayed in a doube motel room on the right hand side of the complex, sun shone into the room and the two outside chairs in front.”
elizabethp720, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“room 27 or 28 were lovely”
Lindararo58, 2 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Satisfactory for the budget conscious”
ruthnralph, 4 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Any room except 23.”
ShashaTsai, 14 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
US$88* /night
View Deal
View all 11 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates