We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Waterfront

Travellers' Choice award winner
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
The Waterfront
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

229 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Waterfront
See the most recent reviews
Showing 223: English reviews
Medicine Hat, Canada
Reviewed 23 June 2016

This is a great hotel with large comfortable rooms, and an ocean view. It is close to walkways and parks. Add to that the wonderful staff, and it makes for a great stay. We were here for a week, and the staff soon knew what we liked to order, what times we come around etc. They went out of their...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnnieM0874
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Hello AnnieM It was our pleasure to be your hosts. Its pleasing to get comments like this from our valued guests. We agree with you, its the staff that make the hotel what it is. Someone once told me : "A hotel without great staff is just an empty building". all the best and thank you for choosing to stay...

Cromwell, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 June 2016 via mobile

Loved this place. Superb location and comfortable rooms. Not as quiet as I like but if you are a good sleeper then no problem. The attached restaurant is excellent as well. The views from the beach out front are great. Tremendous walkway in front of the hotel and you can walk to most town places from its central location. As...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Voodles
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Voodles, Thank you so much for your comments. Its excellent you had such a great time while staying with us, and to know you felt so welcome and at home here. all the best,

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 17 June 2016

My husband and i stayed only one night here, but we were very comfortable in our modern spacious room. Lovely clean bathroom, large king sized bed and a small balcony. We didnt eat at the restaurant but we did enjoy great service at the bar for happy hour.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jetosash
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Hello Jetosash, Thank you so much for sharing your experience with fellow travelers. We are delighted you had a great time at the hotel and found our cleanliness and service to be first class. We appreciate your business and wish you all the best, Regards The Waterfront Team

Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Reviewed 15 June 2016

A very enjoyable dinner with very attentive staff.Very pleasant decor and a good selection on the menu although it wasn't extensive. Unfortunately it was a rainy night so we didn't get the view which would be awesome during daylight. Would definetly recommend this restaurant

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _marganne5203
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for dining in our Hotels restaurant and for the very positive feedback. The team will take great satisfaction in knowing you had a nice experience. The views can be amazing if the weather is nice.

Reviewed 12 June 2016

Web site promised lovely views. The only sea view we had was a glimpse down the busy side street our room was located on. No double glazing so loud street noise compounded by noisy party 3 rooms away from ours. Bed was comfortable and room clean although we seemed to have been put in a disabled room!! A spa bath...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Hello Stephen Thank you for your review. I am sorry you felt noise to be an issue during your stay. You should have called our manger and we could have dealt with the loud room down the hall. We would have put a stop to this right away. You were in our entry level room and these rooms do not...

Omokoroa NZ
Reviewed 6 June 2016

We just called in on the off chance of a room and were lucky to be offered a discount rate of $160. Our room was on the 1st floor where their restaurant Salt is. Lovely room with tasteful decor and quiet. Wonderful king size bed. We did have a ocean view when standing on the small deck. But the reality...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kangab
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you Kangab for your review. Its great to hear you had a great time while staying with us. We appreciate your custom and we hope to see you again one day soon. best wishes, The Waterfront Hotel Team.

Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 May 2016

Great location by the waterfront and close to the gallery, cafes and restaurants. We didn't pay extra for the ocean view room but we still had a view of the water from our room on the third floor. The room was spacious and comfortable. Sound proofing was good. All the staff we encountered were extremely helpful and lovely.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travellingkiwi_11
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you Travellingkiwi_11 We appreciate you choosing the Waterfront Hotel for your stay and we are delighted you had a great time. We wish you all the best and hopefully we will have the chance to host you again one day.

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile

My wife and I spent one night in this motel. It's nicely situated near the museum, coastal walkway, and restaurants. We were allowed to check in a few hours early and check out one hour later. We had breakfast in the Salt restaurant the following morning and it was superb. My only negative comment was the supposed "ocean view" of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M R
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you M R, We are very pleased you had a great time at our Hotel recently. It means a lot to get feedback like this from our guests. We do not promote deluxe rooms as having ocean views im sorry. To have a ocean view the Penthouse rooms are the way to go. Our superior rooms also have appointed...

New Plymouth, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 May 2016 via mobile

Top location, nice, modern rooms and comfy bed. It was nice to get soft pillows for a change. A great place to stay in New Plymouth. I can't recommend the restaurant though, we had a very cheap and nasty breakfast with atrocious service. The rest of the hotel is great though.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ladyj26
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Hello Ladyj26 Firstly I would like to thank you for staying with us recently. Its nice to hear you enjoyed the hotel comforts and location. I am truly sorry you did not feel the same about the restaurant during breakfast. I assure you we will be looking into the events on the morning in question. Kind regards The Waterfront Hotel...

Reviewed 23 April 2016 via mobile

I liked it. Very helpful and friendly staff. I liked how my room and the bar was on the same level haha. Clean and modern rooms and bathroom. Central to everything and we could walk everywhere in min. Train is literally across one road which woke me up a few times. The side street was a bit noisy with traffic,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rahul J
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you Rahul J. Its nice to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and business greatly. We believe we have a fantastic location, and yes there is some city noise , but thats to be expected in any city. All the best!

69 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (55)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.2 km away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
296 reviews
1.4 km away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
199 reviews
0.7 km away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
5.5 km away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#5 of 30 in New Plymouth
279 reviews
0.3 km away
Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Simply watch the waves roll in... from New Plymouth's newest and ONLY Hotel on the Waterfront and yet only 1 minute to the CBD! Next door to the famous Puke Ariki Museum, Library and Information Centre! Complimentary FREE 1 hr wireless internet access daily. All rooms have super king size beds, or queen and single configuration if requested. Sea or City views from your step out balcony, most feature a step out Balcony and single spa bath, with all rooms including 12 channel sky TV, wireless & broadband internet & coffee/tea facilities. The Waterfront Hotel is a non-smoking hotel however you are most welcome to use the Balcony. Salt Restaurant and Bar on level one overlooks the sea! What more would you want!? Salt on the Waterfront offers an excellent range of seafood and contemporary cuisine with great views from every table. FORGET THE REST! TRY THE BEST! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Waterfront

Address: 1 Egmont Street, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Price Range: €99 - €149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Waterfront 4.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront New Plymouth
The Waterfront New Plymouth, New Zealand - Taranaki
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in New Plymouth
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Plymouth
#7 Family Hotel in New Plymouth
#8 Business Hotel in New Plymouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Waterfront staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Waterfront staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a room well away from the restaurant”
phital, 18 May 2017 | Read review
“Specify your requirements on booking.”
71SheilaM, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Waterfront would be best but even on the side street was still pleasant.”
198robc, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the north side have perhaps a better perspective of the coastal view.”
bbcw, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The second floor was very nice and quiet”
TennesseeEZTraveler, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$115* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$114
TravelocityUS$114
Agoda.comUS$114
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates