We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ibis Rotorua

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ibis Rotorua
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,067 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 948: English reviews
Start your review of Ibis Rotorua
 Click to rate
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Well situated near the shopping/eating area, this hotel has the usual tea/coffee making facilities, fridge,air con or heating, dry cleaning or guest laundry and ironing board/ iron. You can log into free WiFi every 24hours and there's food available 24/7. Room 276 had two double beds with quite firm mattresses. The bathroom was small, with just a shower cubicle and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fiftytripper
Edward J, General Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear fiftytripper, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It is pleasing to read that your stay was, on majority, a comfortable and pleasing one. However, I do apologies for letting you down with the breakfast service. Rest assured that your comments have been documented and will certainly be looked into. Again, thank you for sharing your...

Waiheke Island, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed here many times and find it better than the average Ibis. Friendly staff, clean rooms, hot powerful shower and a great location close to the town and lake. Previously enjoyed happy hour in the small lounge area beside the dining room but this time both happy hour and the lounge area had gone, oh well I suppose nothing stays...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank waiheke
Edward J, General Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear waiheke, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the feedback about the happy hour, we will most certainly review this. We hope to see you back again soon!

New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I'm an Accor cardholder and I usually avoid the Ibis range as, for some reason, I have it in my head that they're not as good as the other ranges in the brand but the Ibis Rotorua proved me wrong. Check-in was a breeze, we had a very clean room overlooking the Lake and there was a complimentary bottle of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
Edward J, General Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Carol W, Thank you for your wonderful review. I am so happy to see that you enjoyed your visit to our hotel and that we've exceeded your expectations! I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Ordered room service meal (nachos and butter chicken) - it took an hour and a half to arrive - and that was after I made two phone calls chasing it up. Need I say anymore! Totally unacceptable and simply ridiculous

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GregPeters2014
Edward J, General Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear GregPeters2014, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I was disappointed to read about your experience with room service. Please accept my sincere apologies. Rest assured corrective action will be taken and I will personally look into this and I will share it with my team so that we can constantly improve. Please get in touch...

Palmerston North, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have never written a review on here but thought I had to this time. We stayed here last night for one night while exploring Rotorua. On arrival my partner went to check in. He came back out and told me the lady that completed our check in was very rude and grumpy, offered no information or general friendliness, so...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cjohnson355
Edward J, General Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Cjohnson355, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It is great to see that you had such a wonderful experience in the restaurant at the Novotel! However, I was disappointed to read your comments regarding the staff, and I will address this with the team directly - we pride ourselves on excellent customer service, and I...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Handy location to lakefront, Eat Street, weekend market etc. If you do not mind walking or are not traveling with young children, most city centre based attractions are within walking distance. Good value for money with room neat and tidy, bed and pillows comfy, free wifi. Parking available on hotel premises or off street.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jannz25
Edward J, General Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear jannz25, Thank you for your kind review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to our hotel, especially our great location. We hope to see you back again soon!

Aurangabad, India
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

in line with the good ibis tradition , the hotel is excellent and food is also very good. the best part is the staff, they ensure that you are at home especially great when u are travelling with families

 Report
Helpful?
Thank atuldeolankar
Edward J, General Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear atuldeolankar, Thank you for your feedback and positive rating. I was really pleased to see that you received such excellent service from our staff, I will make sure to let them know! We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed for 1 night at this Hotel with my 2 grandsons , The Lady at the reception desk was so hopefull, the room was very good very clean beds were nice, and we had a swim at the Novel next door which was good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PaigeiePie
Edward J, General Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear PaigeiePie, Thank you for your amazing 5 star review. It was a pleasure to welcome you to our hotel. We hope to see you back again soon.

Wollongong
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is my first time in an Ibis and it was a good experience. Value for money, reasonable breakfast price, great lake views, easy parking. Everything you need, nothing you don't. Wi-fi was rubbish and movie channel didn't work. No biggie for me but it would be a hassle for some. Prepay for breakfast seems to be weird science, I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Squizzynet
Edward J, General Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Squizzynet, Thank you for your feedback and positive rating. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We look forward to hosting you...

Israel
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Ibis used to be my favorite hotel network in the past, but unfortunately it seems that the whole lot has lost its way and is deteriorating. Let's start with the few good things about Ibis Rotorua : The Receptionist was very friendly and polite There was a free parking space under the building The room had a big window with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank UAvron
Edward J, General Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear UAvron, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn...

121 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (104)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
1:26
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.1 km away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
3.3 km away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#19 of 93 in Rotorua
748 reviews
1.1 km away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.7 km away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
641 reviews
1.0 km away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Ibis Rotorua is located on the picturesque shores of lake Rotorua, just five minutes walk from the central business district, convention centre, cafes and restaurants and some of Rotorua's most popular tourist attractions. The fully air-conditioned hotel offers 145 rooms providing exceptional comfort and value. Room configurations can be one king or two doubles. A number of triple rooms with three single beds are also available. Bedrooms feature in-room safes, internet with broadband connectivity, showers, flat screen TV's and refrigerators. 24hr reception, an internet kiosk and guest laundry facilities. The I-Restaurant and Bar welcomes guests for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Conference rooms and other facilities at the neighboring Novotel Rotorua Lakeside are also available to guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ibis Rotorua

Address: Lake End Rangiuru Street | PO Box 348, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: €91 - €187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Rotorua 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Ibis Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#32 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ibis Rotorua staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Bengaluru, India
London, United Kingdom
7 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Ibis Rotorua staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“479 was good”
 of 5 bubbles PaigeiePie, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Views over the lake if requested cost more but worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles GlendaC406, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Take their sister hotel next door for a few more dollars and a lot more quality.”
 of 5 bubbles Janpye, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a lake view room, it seemed to be quite and you have a lovely view when you wake up.”
 of 5 bubbles ZionGirl, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Lake view room will be a good choice.”
 of 5 bubbles 392sampathn, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5