We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Four Canoes Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Four Canoes Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

117 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Four Canoes Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 99: English reviews
Malaysia
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

The toilet in the room is so dirty. I would rather pay a little bit more to go to other hotels/motels. I strongly do not recommend going to this place if you are a clean freak. You will be surprised!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amirah Syahmi S
KaranJhand, Assistant Manager at Four Canoes Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Amirah, Thank you for your feedback – I am sorry that you had to face such inconvenience. I assure you that we have cleaned all the Toilets, only reason we could not get to them earlier is because we could not find the right chemical to get rid of those marks. We finally got tip off that bleach and...

Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

It is a Lovely motel for the group. Cheap price for share a family room, It just cost Aus$142 for 5pp . good service ,reception very nice, give us a coupon for te-puia . good wifi, we can even use for watching movie. Free hot drink for 24 hour. Only one bad thing is the sulfur smell too strong in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yick T
KaranJhand, Assistant Manager at Four Canoes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback, great to hear that you had an enjoyable and comfortable stay with Four Canoes Hotel. We would be grateful to get another chance to welcome you again and prove our high standard of hospitality. Kind Regards, Karan Jhand

Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

Great place to stay when you're going out in the huuuuuuge town of Rotorua.. Haha. Easy walk and don't feel like your intruding other rooms when coming back as its so big. Our Hot water wouldn't work so my shower was pretty cold hahaha but was too hungover to care. Thanks!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jadeey K
KaranJhand, Assistant Manager at Four Canoes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Four Canoes hotel team really appreciate your review on our property. The hot water issue you pointed that has been fixed now. We look forward to welcome you again in near future. Kind Regards, Karan Jhand

Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

It depends how you view this ho(s)tel, as it is marketed online both as a hotel and a hostel. We booked it as a hotel, but I'd say it straddles the interface between the two. Our double room was very spacious and warm, though the bathroom needed a good revamp, as the shower and bath were a bit grim. Staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jack L
KaranJhand, Assistant Manager at Four Canoes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding our customer service and Wi-FI. In regards to the bathroom cleaning, I have shared your feedback with our housekeeping supervisor to make sure that it won't occur again. Currently we are in the transition period from...

North Shore City, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 July 2016

My wife and I had need of some budget overnight accommodation due to an early morning funeral. We found the 4 Canoes on Booking .Com and decided to book. We arrived late afternoon and were pleasantly surprised at the overall look of the place.Check in was completed efficiently and we found our room which was basic but was all we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OldKiwiFlyer
KaranJhand, Assistant Manager at Four Canoes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback, great to hear that you had an enjoyable and comfortable stay with Four Canoes Hotel. We would be grateful to get another chance to welcome you again and prove our high standard of hospitality. Kind Regards, Karan Singh

Hastings, New Zealand
Reviewed 20 July 2016

Great place to stay for families - the family rooms have a shower, toilet etc. The kitchen is very big. It is very basic but affordable price. The service was great and complimentary tea and coffee was available.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah_Star19
KaranJhand, Assistant Manager at Four Canoes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sarah, Four canoes hotel team appreciate your review on our property. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We wish you well and look forward to welcome you again on your next trip to Rotorua. Kind Regards, Karan Jhand

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 July 2016

We stayed here for one night after we were unable to extend our stay at Crash Palace in Rotorua. Sadly this place is in need of a lot more attention. It is huge hostel but this seems to be its downfall. Our initial room had not been cleaned with tissues all over the floor and all bed sheets in a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louise D
KaranJhand, Assistant Manager at Four Canoes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. Firstly I would like to extend my sincere apologies about inconvenience you have encountered. I have shared your feedback with our housekeeping supervisor to make sure that it won't happen again in future and hope you will give us a second chance to satisfy you with our attentive service. Kind Regards, Karan Singh

Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

Very basic but clean and warm. great location. Complimentary tea and coffee. Very reasonable priced. No tv in the rooms. It has a pool table in the canteen area where breakfast is served. Friendly and helpful staff. There is a hot tub but I never used it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sonya C
KaranJhand, Assistant Manager at Four Canoes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely feedback and praising our service. Its great to hear that you had a memorable stay with us. We would be grateful to get another chance to welcome you again and to prove our high standard of hospitality. Kind Regards, Karan Singh

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 28 June 2016

This is not a four star hotel, it is what is, a hostel!. The rooms are cold with very little heating but the beds are ok with fresh sheets. Their is no extra blankets provided if it is cold. The bathroom is very basic with very weak shower flow. On the plus side it does have a nice hot pool.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 44scrappy
KaranJhand, Assistant Manager at Four Canoes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback on our property. Your review means a lot to us and gives us the chance to improve and grow. In regards to cold room, it would have been issue with one heater but usually our room really warm as we are using thermal heating and we do provide extra blanket on request. We...

Hastings, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 June 2016

Cheap but communal fridge was not safe - guests regularly took others milk, yoghurt etc. Felt bad but had to ask for Light bulbs needed replacing, no toilet paper and lots of cobwebs. Hot Pools were cold and wifi was intermittent (password sometimes lasted ten minutes, sometimes more...) TV room - locked at 9pm? not sure why. Good selection of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SLASHTong
KaranJhand, Assistant Manager at Four Canoes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback and firstly I do sincerely apologize for the all the inconveniences you have experienced whilst staying with us. In terms of the Fridge, it is a communal Fridge where by all in house guests have access to store their belongings in. With other guests helping themselves with other people’s belongings is unacceptable but...

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
2.5 km away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#48 of 93 in Rotorua
207 reviews
1.6 km away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#28 of 93 in Rotorua
1,037 reviews
0.8 km away
Crash Palace
Crash Palace
#3 of 56 in Rotorua
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
YHA Rotorua
YHA Rotorua
#5 of 56 in Rotorua
336 reviews
0.9 km away
Rock Solid Backpackers
Rock Solid Backpackers
#2 of 56 in Rotorua
306 reviews
1.1 km away
Astray Motel
Astray Motel
#12 of 56 in Rotorua
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A self catering style Hotel and Backpackers that caters for families, couples, individuals, corporates, backpackers, conferences and weekend get aways to Rotorua. Offering free access to an outdoor swimming pool, a heated thermal mineral pool Unlimited Free WiFi in all rooms. Located on Fenton Street in the heart of Rotorua. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Four Canoes Hotel

Address: 273 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: €53 - €102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Canoes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Four Canoes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Canoes Hotel
Four Canoes Rotorua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Four Canoes Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Four Canoes Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid the disappointment”
 of 5 bubbles 314gede, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“A variation of rooms from doubles and family rooms to bunk rooms with 4 and more beds.”
 of 5 bubbles OldKiwiFlyer, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Most rooms a bit dated”
 of 5 bubbles SLASHTong, 26 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Make sure to ask about doscounts to the Maori Cultural Experiences!”
 of 5 bubbles NatOOSh_12, 19 Apr 2015 | Read review
“i liked having a ground floor room as it was close to my car which was easy for me as a manager, and my team were in rooms next me as well. Real easy for me to look after them.”
 of 5 bubbles JaxG23, 8 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay