We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Four Canoes Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Four Canoes Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

138 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 115: English reviews
Start your review of Four Canoes Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

We stayed here during recent trip to NZ and whilst the staff were very welcoming & friendly, the hotel itself needs some attention. Having said that the hotel is budget friendly and we would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ruby G
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Family room .As you walk, no space to walk through the doorway. Very cramped. No TV They had to break Door down, scan didn't work. Told us that they just moved in, but have photo proof Feb still same.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maisey70751
Putaruru, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in a twin room with 2 double beds on the 2nd floor. The room was clean and as pictured in photos. No TV, but that was fine for a one night stay. The staff were friendly. Free, fast WIFI! Heaps of parking. Close to shops etc. Budget friendly, would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bailey W
KaranJhand, Assistant Manager at Four Canoes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bailey, Four Canoes team really appreciate your review on our property. we are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Once again thank you and we look forward to welcome you again in near future. Kind Regards, Karan Jhand

Espoo
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This budget motel has a handy location between Rotorua center and Te Puia thermal village. The room was big and had comfortable beds. Wi-fi was fast. There was no air-conditioning, but anyway the air indoor was fresh in March. Staff were nice, but did not manage to change my room to the upper floor as promised. There were also outdoor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erton
KaranJhand, Assistant Manager at Four Canoes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Erton, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are glad to know that you found the property location handy & comfortable. We wish you will and look forward to accommodating you again in the future. Kind Regards, Karan Jhand

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The location of this hotel is very near to the town centre. Nearby there's the infamous Oppies Fish & chips, night market which is held every Thursdays and short distance to the Eat Street. The room is spacious and more than sufficient number of beds for a family of four. Overall, a good and value for money stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jenniferyeoh
KaranJhand, Assistant Manager at Four Canoes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jenniferyeoh, Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate that you find our hotel convenient and enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward to see you again. Kind Regards, Karan

redcar
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we stayed for one night, booked a family room for 4 adults, to keep costs down , and took a continental style breakfast , good value for the price, car parking, and near the city centre, and easy to find

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fatwallet007
KaranJhand, Assistant Manager at Four Canoes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to review our property. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We wish you well and look forward to welcome you again in near future. Kind Regards, Karan

Redcliffe, Australia
Reviewed 24 February 2017 via mobile

Please explain, No TV, No Fridge, No room service, No air con, No towel rails in the bathroom with no lighting. Low shower rose and mould in the shower. Toilet space limited. Woke to screaming children- no sound proofing Limited car parking. Found deal for three nights on-line would have had to pay $111.00 to cancel Seriously NOT a good...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank T M
KaranJhand, Assistant Manager at Four Canoes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear T M, Thank you for taking time to review our property. Firstly I would like to extend my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you have faced. we would like to inform you that you stayed in one of our Family room which comes with 1 queen & 3 single beds, So there is no space for a TV, Fridge...

Ko Samui, Thailand
Reviewed 16 February 2017

I have been to Rotorua at least 5 times. I loved this place. Cheap. Simple. Friendly. And they have a thermal pool. just wonderful... The rooms are basic, as is the hotel but we were surprised at how much we enjoyed ourselves and relaxed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter J
KaranJhand, Assistant Manager at Four Canoes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Peter, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcome you again in future. Kind Regards, Karan Jhand

New Zealand
Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile

Would never recommend this place. When I arrived my bed seemed clean but after 30mins of being there it was CRAWLING with bedbugs. Simply unacceptable. I now have to spend time and money making sure I don't bring any home.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank awanderingmole
KaranJhand, Assistant Manager at Four Canoes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback, we understand that you came across bed bugs during your stay. Sorry that you had to face inconvenience. As you mentioned in your feedback that you will have you spend Time and Money to make sure you don’t carry any of those home – similar to that we have 48 rooms and other...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 February 2017

We booked two rooms with the bathtub, but when we checked in, the receptionist lady gave us rooms with shower room. When we complained to the receptionist about the rooms, she asked us to wait for the lady who took our booking and stated that all of the room with the bathtubs were occupied. We refused to stay in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dinar_Lubis
KaranJhand, Assistant Manager at Four Canoes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dinar_Lubis, Thank you for appreciating the work from our staff. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with Four Canoes. We wish you well and look forward to welcome you again in future. Kind Regards, Karan Jhand

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.6 km away
Brylin Motel
Brylin Motel
#47 of 93 in Rotorua
103 reviews
0.4 km away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#14 of 93 in Rotorua
378 reviews
2.5 km away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#48 of 93 in Rotorua
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Jet Park Hotel Rotorua
Jet Park Hotel Rotorua
#33 of 93 in Rotorua
294 reviews
1.6 km away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#31 of 93 in Rotorua
1,097 reviews
0.3 km away
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Recently refurbished the Four Canoes Hotel is now a 3 Star Qualmark rated Motel in central Rotorua. Rooms offer free unlimited WIFI, Free Tea/Coffee in the rooms, all rooms are ensuite with Shower and toilet. Two outdoor heated pools, and 1 Thermal Mineral Water Pool free to or guests to enjoy. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Four Canoes Hotel

Address: 273 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: €52 - €79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Canoes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Canoes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Canoes Hotel
Four Canoes Rotorua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Four Canoes Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Four Canoes Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid the disappointment”
314gede, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“A variation of rooms from doubles and family rooms to bunk rooms with 4 and more beds.”
OldKiwiFlyer, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Most rooms a bit dated”
SLASHTong, 26 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Make sure to ask about doscounts to the Maori Cultural Experiences!”
NatOOSh_12, 19 Apr 2015 | Read review
“i liked having a ground floor room as it was close to my car which was easy for me as a manager, and my team were in rooms next me as well. Real easy for me to look after them.”
JaxG23, 8 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5