We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rydges Rotorua

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rydges Rotorua
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,165 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,136: English reviews
Start your review of Rydges Rotorua
 Click to rate
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Paid for 5 stars but really more like 3...and even thats being generous!! Couldn't sleep because I could hear every single noise coming from the surrounding rooms. Obviously the walls are paper thin. Couldn't really understand the lady at the front desk because her English was poor. Iv never stayed anywhere that wants to charge 1 dollar to my credit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chantel B
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stopped off for a romantic night on honeymoon to find mosquitos all over the bedroom ceiling, that can normally be sorted with a bit of spray... after 3 phone calls and a visit to reception 3 hours later someone sprayed them and left the dead insects all over bed and pillows. That's not a good start, so decided to go...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tania M
Brooklyn, Iowa
Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms were unique due to the Jacuzzi on the balcony. The bar was relaxing & offered a good selections of drinks. The dining room was very nice and clean. The breakfast was extensive with many options and good help from the dining room staff. The Rydges was a nice place to rest after a full day of visiting the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ron A
Management response:

Dear Ron, Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to share your feedback We are truly delighted to know that you have enjoyed our overall services and facilities during your recent trip. We appreciate your support and sincerely look forward to welcoming you back in the nearest future. Kind Regards Front Office Manager Christine...

Cheshire England
Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived at this hotel towards the end of a New Zealand tour. We were really looking forward to the first hotel we stayed at that had a swimming pool.We were very disappointed as the pool was not available. The room we had was large but had a big mark in the middle of the carpet. There was a small...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheshire174
Management response:

Dear Cheshire174 Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. We have taken noted of your comments and are concerned about our carpet, shower curtains and service issues of our bar you have raised. Kindly rest assured those have been brought to the attention of...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here over Auckland Anniversary weekend. Paid 5 star dollars but certainly not 5 star, if your lucky a 3 star and for me that's being kind. The room is big, but it ends here. Reception was rude, we were ushered back out main entrance and to park around the back, to me this feels like a servants entrance,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shadow0608
Management response:

Dear Shadow0608 Thank you for taking your time to share your comment with us on. We regret that our services were not meet your expectations. Your mentioned unpleasant issues already brought to the attention of our General Manager and he will discuss your feedback with the team members and monitor future guest interactions as well. Again, thank you for giving...

Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Disappointed at the quality of the accommodation considering the price you pay for a room. Stained carpet, old fixtures and fittings, no air conditioning. Rooms are spacious and comfy beds are the only positive. Definitely not a good representation of the Rydges brand

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TPF2010
Management response:

Dear PaulafG5940TB, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. Your feedback regarding our room features has been well-noted and we will certainly keep them in mind for the future. Thank you very much for your valuable comments. We sincerely hope to have...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We traveled in a group of 4 and stayed in two rooms on the first floor. At about 8pm I took a shower and immediately realised the water was pulsing warm and cold. My father next door told me he didn't have any hot water at all. Went to to notify reception and they told us there was an issue...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank William W
Management response:

Dear William W, Thank you for your review of our property. I am disappointed about these issues you have raised above. I already addressed service issues internally in our front office team for necessary improvements. Regarding unexpected hot water outage, We do sincere apologise for inconvenience caused. Once again, your comments are highly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The guy at bar with the bar manager name tag called raj, was a bit an highly unprofessional with his tone, I din feel welcomed at all. I work in this industry itself but never had such an experience in rotorua.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicktravel007
Management response:

Dear nICKTRAVEL007 Thank you for taking your time to share your comment with us on. We regret that our service in our bar didn't meet your expectations. I have passed on your comments regarding your mentioned unpleasant issue to our Food and Beverage Manager. He will discuss your feedback with the team and monitor future guest interactions as well. Also,...

Frank Josef, Greymouth, Nelson
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived very late to the location i Rotorua, the choice of the hotel was due to missing opportunities. This hotel desperately need an upgrade! Location is fine the rooms are huge, but the over all impression of the hotel is that is old and mot maintained the the degreed needed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank René H
Management response:

Dear Rene H Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I feel really disappointed to read that our room facilities couldn't meet your expectation. We have taken noted of your comments for necessary improvements. Once again, your comments are highly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Christine Chen...

Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2017

We spent 2 nights here whilst we checked out the area, the hotel is next to the racetrack and I would recommend to anyone staying here to ask for a room over looking the race course as the rooms on the other side of the hotel get the sulphate smells from the geysers that are plentiful in the area. Having...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeff R
Management response:

Dear Jeff Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments.We are glad to know that you have enjoyed our overall services. We appreciate your support and sincerely look forward to welcoming you back in the nearest future Thank you very much for your valuable comments. We sincerely hope to have a chance to serve you again....

221 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (205)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
2:50
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (96)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.9 km away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
1.1 km away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
1.3 km away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#20 of 93 in Rotorua
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.1 km away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#13 of 93 in Rotorua
376 reviews
2.8 km away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#47 of 93 in Rotorua
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Atrium Restaurant
Atrium Restaurant
Cuisines: New Zealand, European, Contemporary
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rydges Rotorua is located in a park like setting on the edge of the city's Racecourse. The hotel boasts panoramic views towards Lake Rotorua and Mokoia Island. Along with the most spacious guest rooms in the city, offering FREE WIFI, the hotel also has extensive catering facilities, including the Atrium Restaurant and Bar, Mezz Bar, 24 hour room service and over 560sqm of function. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the city centre, Convention Centre and many of the city's main attractions are a short drive away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rydges Rotorua

Address: 272 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: €100 - €248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Rydges Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Rydges Hotel Rotorua
Rotorua Rydges Hotel
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#30 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#31 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rydges Rotorua staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Rydges Rotorua staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make sure there's hot water before you settle in your room.”
 of 5 bubbles N1932QKwilliamw, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Book a room on the race course side of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles JeffR605, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“overlooking racetrack i'm assuming best option”
 of 5 bubbles stuart2002, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Choose someplace else, you are not going to find it here!”
 of 5 bubbles AklFamily, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Avoid the ground floor rooms especially rooms near the back entrance. It gets quite noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles gabsd2014, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5